We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were booked to stay at the Fireside Motel next door. When we arrived for our three night stay, the desk clerk discovered they had made a mistake. Our reservation had been made for 2013, instead of 2012. Without hesitation, she said she would put us in an ocean-front room next door at their sister motel, the Overleaf Lodge.

The room was very large with a king bed, kitchenette, sofa, easy chair and ottoman and a first for us, a jacuzzi tub with an ocean view.

This was no ordinary continental breakfast. It was more like a hotel brunch buffet with fresh fruit, scones, several kinds of cold cereal, Bob's five grain hot cereal, and two breakfast entrees, such as a baked apple French toast and a spinach souffle.

I selected the Reviving Face and Sole facial and foot treatment at the Spa. Gail was excellent. We didn't use the spa jacuzzis because we had one in our room. We didn't use the fitness room either. It's kind of small with a very small television.

Our room was very comfortabl and clean. They provide receptacles for recycling. There's even a phone next to the toilet. We didn't have any reason to use it.

The television was not a flat screen and was small. There was a DVD player that worked.

The view to the ocean was mesmerizing. We did walk the 804 trail that runs right in front of the Lodge. It is a safe and easy walk to the ocean. Waterproof boots or shoes are advised.

The Fireside Motel has a nice gift gallery in their lobby. Some of the best art in Oregon are represented in four galleries just slightly north of the Overleaf on the left side of the highway going into Yachats. The smallest gallery was closed until Jan. 26. The one next door had an excellent selection of jewelry and other art at fair prices. The gallery next door features Bob Keller's photographs. He was there at the time and we had a nice talk about his work. The gallery on the other side had higher end and larger pieces that were absolutely beautiful. Don't miss these galleries.

The only things that could be improved in the room would be better lighting near the sofa to read by and firmer pillows.

I would highly recommend this place for a destination vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhensrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
I’m certainly glad we were able to accommodate you at the Overleaf and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Restless Waters rooms, which is definitely an excellent way to be introduced to our Lodge. We appreciate your attention to the smaller details and the fact that we have tried to go above and beyond for our guests. Currently we are in the process of upgrading the televisions in our rooms; hopefully by your next trip this will be completed. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and also your facial; I will be sure to let Gail know! Throughout the Overleaf Lodge we feature artwork by local Oregon artists and the galleries just a short walk from the Lodge should not be missed. Thank you for taking the time to review the Overleaf Lodge and Spa and we look forward to your next visit!
Thank you!
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
drew@overleaflodge.com
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    207
    35
    14
    4
See reviews for
268
796
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My guy and I had massages scheduled at Overleaf. ( We are local) Neither of us had ever been there. Once we were introduced into the spa and had the pleasure of using all the amenities while waiting for our massage appointments, we were hooked. We ended up booking a room for the night and continuing to enjoy the steam room, hot tub, soaking tub, sauna, and a beautiful oceanfront room. It's well worth the money to stay there! They also have a wonderful complimentary breakfast. During the off season time, they have a coupon deal on their website that offers a discount on your room if you bring in a canned food donation for each night you stay, that goes to the local food pantry for people in need. Nice!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Overleaf Lodge and Spa. I am so glad that you were introduced to our spa, and even more so that you enjoyed it so much! Many people may not be aware that you do not have to be a guest of the Overleaf Lodge to enjoy our spa. Anyone that books at least a one hour treatment in our spa will have access to our steam room, sauna, hot tub, and soaking tub overlooking the Pacific. Or if you call or email me by January 31, at either of the contacts below, I will mail you a ‘free day use of the spa’ pass. Make sure to like us on facebook as well for more specials, and our current canned food special is also running through March 15. We hope to see you again soon!
Thank you!
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
drew@overleaflodge.com
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We are from Roseburg, OR. The town of Yachats is amazing even in the winter time. The Overleaf Lodge is the most beautiful place we've ever stayed at. We stayed 3 nights, 4 days there and while we were there my boyfriend and I got the couples massage and it was so amazing. We also got facials as well and that was so glorious. Were very happy to say that The Overleaf Lodge is incredible and I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with a jacuzzi hot tub in it and a fireplace. There so awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you Chelsea B for the amazing review. We absolutely love to hear when people have such a great time at the Overleaf Lodge. The town of Yachats and the Overleaf Lodge sit on a rocky coastline, with lots of tide pools, that allows for some magnificent winter storm watching. I’m pleased you were able to enjoy our spa during your stay, and a couples massage is always a great choice for a romantic trip. We appreciate the recommendation, and look forward to you coming and staying with us again!
Drew Roslund, Owner’s representative
drew@overleaflodge.com
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed over New Year's holiday weekend for the fourth consecutive year. It has a great location, nicely appointed rooms, good breakfast and a great spa. View from every room allows guests to enjoy the ocean regardless of weather or time of year. The spa was very enjoyable for its sauna, steam room and hot tub as well as excellent massage therapy. The spa staff was pleasant and helpful. Overall stay was great as usual. We'll continue to make Overleaf Lodge our place to stay on the OR coast!

Room Tip: Variety of room types--check website for one that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
We greatly appreciate your wonderful review and for making the Overleaf your place to stay on the Oregon Coast. Indeed every room here at the Overleaf is oceanfront with what we feel is the best and closest to the ocean views on the Oregon Coast. I'm pleased that you were able to take full advantage of our spa. It certainly is relaxing to unwind in our soaking tub overlooking the pounding waves of the Pacific. We look forward to seeing you here at the Overleaf again, hopefully before the next New Year!
Thank you!
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
drew@overleaflodge.com
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

My husband and I went to the Overleaf New Years Eve Day. We had spa treatments both that evening and New Years Day. All services were wonderful. Our room was delightful - beautiful view of the ocean hitting the rocks, plenty of room, nice and clean. We had dinner at a locan restaurant - Ona's. It too is fabulous. We will most certainly be back to the Overleaf!!!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean. We were on the 3rd floor and loved it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
What a fantastic way to bring in the New Year with a trip to the Overleaf Lodge and Spa. I'm glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at our Lodge and took advantage of our Spa. I am also pleased that you enjoyed Ona Restaurant, but if you return next New Years, take advantage of our free all-you-can-eat buffet that we serve our guests in the Lodge’s lobby on New Years Eve! Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we hope you can come see us again soon. Make sure you ‘like’ us on Facebook to take advantage of upcoming specials.
Thank you!
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
drew@overleaflodge.com
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.5 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
4.1 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
35.5 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
37.3 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 km away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Property: Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Ln, Yachats, OR 97498-9473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price range (per night): $167 - $307
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing