We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ocean Bay Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
2 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yachats, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
B9866NQje...
Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful View, poor house”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well, the view from the front deck is fantastic. Unfortunately, the quality of the product goes down as you enter the house. The exterior screen door is very loose in its track and almost came off upon opening. The furniture looks and feels like it came from the goodwill. In the kitchen you'll find outdated appliances. The clothes dryer is very ineffective and takes way longer to dry the sheets than reasonable. Renters are required to wash and dry the sheets, this is a problem when the dryer does not work very well. The bedding was very poor quality, and seemed cheap. The bathroom was clean and decent size, but the shower hot water only lasted about 5 minutes before running cold. Not a very good experience for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from deck
Liked least: Poor bedding and furniture, very outdated.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
First let me thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were sure sorry to learn that you did not have enough hot water while staying at Ocean Bay. Had we known there was a problem we would have sent someone out right away. Turns out we did have a lower element out that needed replacing, so that problem has been fixed. Our phone numbers are given out before each stay as well as they are posted in the home. We ask that you let us know if you need anything during your stay so that we can address any unforeseen issues that come up. We were sorry that we did not hear from you. You are correct about the screen door - it is in need of replacing. Living in the salt air of the beach tends to be hard on things like screen doors. I have ordered a new one. The washer/dryer is a vintage apartment size stackable one that works very well if not overloaded which many people try to do. Our coffee pot and microwave were purchased new within the past year. The Stove and Refer are both in good working order and just as shown in the photos. The beds were purchased three seasons ago - brand new, firm queen size mattresses.
We aim to provide a comfortable and welcoming place for people to enjoy while visiting Yachats. It's important to know that Ocean Bay Cottage is part of an original row of vacation cabins, and was built many decades ago. Even as we upgrade the property over time, we will continue to try to preserve some of it’s charm and give it a different feel from a hotel suite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing