We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, outdated, gross ”
Review of Terry-A-While

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waldport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terry-A-While
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Waldport
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

The owner was shockingly rude about wanting to have a service dog stay in the back of our pickup in a canopy.. We stayed in unit 4 and 6 with a large group of people.. I personally was in unit 6 were it was very out dated with dirty carpet and the upstairs bedroom with 2 beds smelled like poop.. And the mattresses reaked of urine we paid for Friday and Saturday night.. Was so unimpressed we left Saturday without staying that night will not return ever again..

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry-A-While, Owner at Terry-A-While, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2015

Hello to all of the viewers who will read this review from JC. We are the owners and operators of the Terry A While Motel. We were truly saddened to hear JCs stay was so unpleasant. There was no mention from any of their guest.
As we all know, service animals are welcomed according to the Americans Disability Act. We have never had a guest ask if they could bring a service animal and leave it in a kennel in the back of a truck with a canopy for the weekend.
As stated above, we are owner operators. When we clean our units, they are all sanitized; linens are removed, washed, and returned to the beds. We take pride in how clean our units are.
Regarding your description of units 4 and 6: yes, they are older units with nice furniture, carpet just over a year old, and cleaned twice a year. We do offer new units also: your family choose to book the older ones. As for the three queen beds upstairs in the two bedrooms, I'm really not sure what to say about it having a bad smell. No else has ever complained.
We do hope that the next time you come to beautiful Oregon Coast, your stay is more memorable.
Thank you.
Terry A While Motel Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2015

We have stayed in the same unit several times. A great downstairs with kitchen,dining
area bathroom and sitting area with a wonderful full ocean view. A deck and an easy
walk to the beach-just a few steps away. The bedroom is upstairs and also has a great
ocean view. There is an upstairs deck as well. We feel very at home and love the owners. I believe each unit has it's own special character and decor. We love watching
the many birds which "flock" there. The cost is very respectable. The sign is hard to
see from the highway so it's important to get it's location.

Room Tip: take a look at the web-site. All rooms are shown and info about what is in each unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

If all units are like mine, this is a really nice place (but keep reading). I was in an upstairs unit (#11) which basically is a 1 bedroom condo. Everything seemed new and modern. Full kitchen (no dishwasher or garbage disposal), big living room with sofa, nice chair, DR table and chairs. You are right on the beach, so perfect view through wall of windows and out on balcony. See photos.

Issues: I had virtually no cell coverage; tiny flat screen, too small for such a big room; wifi in and out, too often out. No phones.

Only place I've ever been with a kitchen that expects you to do the dishes and clean up!

Room Tip: Best views in top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay with great views, wonderful beach, scrumptiously clean and comfortable with a no pets, no smoking policy this is the place for you. I have driven by this little spot between Yachats and Waldport many times, but never thought of staying until a friend recommended it. Wow, we had such a relaxing stay.The older units (where we stayed) are nothing fancy but very clean and homey. Nice touches like real plants and lots of magazines to read made for a great stay. Good wifi, adequately appointed kitchen, and you don't hear your neighbors unless they are walking by your door. There was traffic noise but that didn't interfere with our stay. We had a room with the bedroom upstairs and facing the beach. This made for a very quiet place to sleep with a fabulous view of the ocean. Stairs were a little tricky with aging knees but doable when we took our time. Jan was kind enough to show us the newer units and "wow", they are beautiful. For the best price be prepared to commit to a 3 day stay in summer and 2 day in winter with a no cancellation policy. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

An ideal place to relax, ocean hear and walk beach. Facility and rooms are clean plus comfortable. I liked the retro hardwood wall plus refrigerator and microwave. Nice deck with seating. Will stay here again. Pricing fair and worth price. Fine sink, stool and shower. Coffee maker and coffee a bonus.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
1.5 km away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
31.8 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
6 km away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
6.5 km away
Alsi Resort
Alsi Resort
#4 of 4 in Waldport
168 reviews
6 km away
The Waldport Inn
The Waldport Inn
#1 of 4 in Waldport
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terry-A-While? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terry-A-While

Address: 7160 SW Pacific Coast Hwy, Waldport, OR 97394-9135
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Waldport
Price Range: $65 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing