We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
225
239
84
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
239
84
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower waffles main building breakfast room is baldwin saloon heart of downtown street noise covered parking within walking distance place to stay hard boiled eggs bed was comfortable staff was very friendly the river shower head front desk staff stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

The staff were great and very accommodating! Use of the conference room at no charge and continental breakfast wasn't bad. Coffee/tea in the lobby and cookies! Also dog friendly! Wish I could have brought my dog on my work trip.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the south side.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RMcNaughtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

When we're in The Dalles we always stay here. Welcoming friendly staff, clean rooms, spacious bathrooms and dog friendly.
Centrally located, walkable to many destinations.
Our family appreciates the pool and complimentary delicious and fulfilling breakfast too!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

This is an old beautiful historic hotel. The rooms are nice and clean and updated. The continental breakfast is served on the second floor in what appears to have been a restaurant the hotel had in it’s past which is nice because it has booths and is roomy and more than adequate for people who just want some space to read the paper, work on their computer and take their time at breakfast. There is no desk in the room, but there is a small table. There are no USB ports or outlets on the lamps or bedside tables so you have to look for them on the floor or in the bathroom. The TV is pretty small, estimated to be about 20”. (There is no Bible in the bedside table, in the event that is important to you.) Although it is a weekday today, my husband and I are the only ones eating at 8 am. The only suggestions I offer the hotel are; 1. Keeping up with maintenance. Our room had a dripping faucet with a rapid drip. The refrigerator had a broken knob sitting on the grate below and there was a blind rod (the rod used to pull the blinds) detached and sitting on the window ledge. 2. More signage; at breakfast I was looking for oatmeal and when I couldn’t find it, settled for something else, then when I went to get coffee found it with the beverages next to the hot cocoa, tea, coffee and juice clear across the room from the other breakfast options. I get it, they are grouping it with “items that need hot water” but I think it would make more sense to put it with the cold cereal options and put a small sign to indicate where the hot water is, since finding the hot water was a bit of a challenge as well. The carafes had coffee, but only 1 is labeled “decaf”, and therefore the others require sampling them to figure out which one has water before determining none of them have water and you have to use the coffee maker to get your water. A small sign, again, would make a huge difference specifying what is in each carafe and where the water is located. Finally, I would recommend rectifying the signs in the hallway regarding the stairs. On the end of the 3rd floor, there is a sign stating “Stairs To All Levels”, but on the back staircase door says “Emergency Exit Only”. So which is it? One of these signs needs to be removed. Is it or is it not an emergency only exit? If so, replace the “Stairs to All Levels” sign with an Emergency Exit sign—turn the green Exit sign to red so there is no misunderstanding!!!!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank C00kiebreath10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Staff were not polite at all.
There is a sign in the elevator stating to push ‘open door’ button when it is at your floor. And yet there are no floor numbers in the elevator so you had to listen/feel for when the elevator did stop and hope you were at the floor you wanted. But sometimes you didn’t have to push the button at all, the elevator worked as it should have.
Kudos to installing dispensers in the shower but the shampoo, conditioner and body wash STUNK bad. Thankfully I always bring my own.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarahthomas2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable but you should know that it is right off the main road thru town and can be noisy with the outside entrances to the rooms. Also they do allow pets but don't offer much for an outside pet area. Your best option is the grassy area across the road at the post office. They did offer a nice breakfast with all the standard items

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GayJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews