We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Bethel Heights Vineyard
Ranked #18 of 66 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Welcome to the gorgeous Eola Hills of the Willamette Valley! This is the place we call home—we live and work here, and it’s where our grapes thrive. We believe our vineyard tells a story and is a living history of just one of many pioneering families who have chosen to raise wine grapes in Oregon. We started small as two families: in-laws, brothers, sisters, cousins, and we are proud that Bethel Heights has stayed in the Casteel-Dudley-Webb family since our beginning in 1977. We have now welcomed grandchildren, spouses, and non-family employees to Bethel Heights. Some of us have changed roles. And some of us are stepping up in the business, taking over where our family began. Through it all, we have strived to allow our wines to show their sense of place, speak to the history of our vineyard, and tell the story of our family.
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

With outdoor seating. Knowledgeable staff, wine interesting but not to my palate. There seemed to be a Lot of regulars there so maybe it’s just me....

Thank apinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pinot noir"
in 8 reviews
"bottle of wine"
in 3 reviews
"tasting room"
in 8 reviews
"great wine"
in 4 reviews
"floor to ceiling windows"
in 2 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 2 reviews
"pie"
in 2 reviews
"noirs"
in 5 reviews
"wines"
in 21 reviews
"winery"
in 12 reviews
"grapes"
in 3 reviews
"wineries"
in 3 reviews
"server"
in 2 reviews
"visitors"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018

We try to visit Bethel Heights each time we travel to Willamette. This winery not only has outstanding wines, but has an inviting L-shaped deck off the tasting room with some gorgeous views of the valley. The tasting room has large windows and glass doors to the deck, so that the views can be seen from inside. Their Pinot Noirs are some of my favorites from Willamette, but this time’s visit was on a warm, sunny day, so we ordered a bottle of the Pinot Gris to enjoy on the deck. It was delicious, along with the fabulous landscape, with the Cascades off in the distance beyond the scenic vineyards. When visiting Salem or touring around Willamette Valley, this winery is a must to visit!

Thank emme150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelHeights, Shipping Coordinator/Tasting Room Assoc. at Bethel Heights Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We do our best to offer the best experience possible and the view is usually the first thing people take in coming in our front door. Thank you for making us an ongoing stop when you visit and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Came here on the fourth of July when the special activity included wine tasting and a piece of pie made locally. this was fun enough, but there was a bluegrass band and great wine. We tasted wine at four wineries in the area, but this was the best for the high-end Pinot Noirs that we were looking for. Because of the crowd, the wines being tasted were not the highest end ones, but the server accommodated us by selling us a bottle of what we wanted to try, and later recorking it to go home for dinner. We did this for two different kinds and then bought more based on their quality. Don't miss this one if you like good Pinot Noir.

Thank chazkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelHeights, Shipping Coordinator/Tasting Room Assoc. at Bethel Heights Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about Bethel Heights. We are very happy you enjoyed your experience for our Pinot & Pie event as well as the wines your were able to try and take with you. We hope we can host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Four of us were traveling as couples visiting wineries in the Willamette Valley area. We rented a house on a working winery. The owner was in the midst of harvesting, so we got a chance to interact with him. His vineyard sells his grapes to other vintners. We asked him what wineries he liked to visit. He gave us a short list of four wineries and Bethel was on the list. He does not sell his grapes to this winery, but he enjoys visiting them.

Now that we've been to Bethel, we get why he recommended it. It's a major endorsement to me when one vintner recommends another. It's has a small laid-back feel to it. The slate gray building with burgundy roof and vines growing along the trellis are attractive. The tasting room is simple but elegant. Two of the walls are floor to ceiling windows and doors that let you look out on the vineyard. Out back is another vine covered trellis that provides shade to the patio seating. I love the look and feel of the place.

The make-it-or-break-it experience is the server. I am looking for an invested server that knows the wines, is excited to have visitors and willingly shares their knowledge. Our server did that. We enjoyed her humor and story sharing. It makes all the difference in the experience. The wine flights were reasonably priced and enjoyable. We sat almost until closing just enjoying the wine, atmosphere and experience.

Great vineyard and tasting room.

Thank CraftBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelHeights, Shipping Coordinator at Bethel Heights Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am glad you enjoyed your experience with the tasting room staff and the atmosphere. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Drove out from Corvallis to see the wine country. This was recommended to us so we stopped bought a bottle of wine sat outside on the patio. Enjoyed the beautiful views and wine.

1  Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelHeights, Shipping Coordinator at Bethel Heights Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for making the drive to visit us! I am glad you enjoyed your experience here and hope you will stop by again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bethel Heights Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Bethel Heights Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing