We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and location”
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good service and location”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The room was very nice and in keeping with a 4 star rating. Housekeeping was very good. Location was very good. Service was excellent. Linens and towels were very average. The physical plant of the common areas were sub average for a Westin although modern and very clean. Only irritation was the $12.95 charge for internet service. Providing Wifi costs next to nothing and competing hotels nearby with similar rooms give it away. I went around the block and bought a hot chocolate to log in for free. Not the money but I refuse to be gouged.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    313
    72
    32
    20
See reviews for
154
347
50
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was my second stay (or perphaps many) at the Portland Westin. It's a fine hotel; comfortable beds, adequate facilities (the Westin Workout room left me wanting. but it's a hotel gym), not too loud, and the Daily Grill has been a worthwhile place to end the day with an IPA watching sports. My biggest complaint is the $12.95 for wi-fi. I'm traveling for work and need a reliable wi-fi connection. The Westin's wi-fi is not reliable and at $12.95 for 24 hours, it's not worth the trouble or expense. I lost a lot of time waiting (and getting frustrating) instead of serving clients. I asked about free wi-fi (which I had the last time I stayed there), but was told it's reserved for "corner rooms." I assume the Westin is betting people need it and will pay for it, but it seems like you should get more for your money (especially when it's free at so many other hotels).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

Nice Westin. Good location. Tested the bar downstairs and drinks were good! Jim was sufficient, but nothing to write home about.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwithBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Clean, nice room; huge bathroom with shower and tub; comfiest bed I've ever been in; wonderful service, but $12.95 for Internet and $35 to park... little steep!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is not the first Westin we've stayed at, but the only one that has such a boutique-y feel. The staff are really GREAT here. The doormen and bellhops are all friendly and courteous, even towards my two young boys. That is always where you can see customer service shine....if people are kind to your kids, you know you are going to have great service! Everyone was helpful and the location can't be beat. It's literally just steps away from an awesome food cart pod of over 40 vendors! We came for a little getaway to celebrate our son's 10th birthday. To our surprise, after we returned after our initial exploration of the city, we found that the staff had left 10 little cupcakes! I had made no special requests at all! I had only just mentioned that we were coming for our son's birthday. Nothing better than seeing your kids smile!

Also, one of the reviewers mentioned that the cost of water, etc., was very high. It is normally expected in the higher end hotels, but it is free here for Starwood members and membership doesn't cost anything. Just a tip to always join the loyalty clubs because it doesn't hurt when it's free!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,373 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#23 of 142 in Portland
2,046 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): $311 - $625
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing