We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, under construction; Go somewhere else!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport
Ranked #107 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Arrived after dark on a Friday night. The lobby was closed due to construction. Drove around the parking lot twice looking for the lobby. Finally found it, marked by a small sign in the dark corner of a window. That was typical of the service that we got. The price was low but so was the quality. The rooms were clean but very dingy and very small. The breakfast was passable, but it was in a converted guest room so it was crowded with tables on top of each other.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry the construction put such a hinder on your stay. We are pleased to announce our construction is completed and the hotel had been completely remodeled we hope you will come stay with us in the future and enjoy our new lobby and guest common area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the tail end of a whirlwind tour of northwest Oregon, We needed to end our trip at a hotel near the airport that was affordable and had free parking.

This place suited the purpose.

Location was convenient off freeway, and although an older property that has been subdivided into two different motel, it was clean and reasonably safe. The breakfast room with the complimentary breakfast room was a nice touch. Also, there is internet terminal in the lobby with printer available in the lobby for no extra cost.

Room was basic, but clean, with comfortable bedding. Old fashioned motor hotel style design, meaning all rooms face the parking lot, and room doors lead directly outside. No interior corridors. Back in the day, almost all motels were built like that though.

My only gripe was the second night. Even though we left the room at a reasonable hour to go sightseeing, housekeeping never came to clean and make up the room. Meaning that when we returned that night to sleep, we found a dirty room with unmade beds, unvacuumed floor, uncleaned sink and bathroom, and wet, moldy, bath towels sitting in the tub, stinking up the room!

We went to the office to complain, but of course, they said it too late to do anything. They finally dug up fresh towels and toiletries for us , which we carried back to room.

We made up our beds and tried to get to sleep. However the room stunk so bad that we couldn't breathe, let alone sleep. It was the moldy towels in the bathroom. Think big, wet, dirty dog laying in middle of your bedroom. That's the smell!

Couldn't take it anymore, so I finally gathered up all the dirty towels and threw them out the front door onto the parking lot (remember, no corridors?),

After that, the stink went away and we could finally sleep.

Next morning during checkout, I spoke to manager about our problems, and about how this sort of the thing violates the basic tenet of innkeeping - that you provide a clean, properly made-up room for your guest. At minimum, that's what I expect and it wasn't done.

She gave me a token adjustment off the room rate, and we left it at that. We had to leave to catch a flight, and I really did not have time to argue over it anymore,

Not a terrible solution to this problem, but probably could have been better.

Overall, not a mad motel. If this housekeeping meltdown hadn't happened, I probably would have no complaints about this place!

Side note, unrelated, but funny:
The morning after our 1st night, there was a bunch of commotion in the front of the hotel,
Turns out, one of the guests while leaving his room early that morning, drove his car though the front wall and into his room. He knocked out the window and most of the brick wall! And of course, destroyed the entire interior of his room. What was he thinking? Was he drunk, stoned, half-asleep, didn't know how to drive? Geez!

Anyway, not the motel's fault, and they did a good job immediately securing the area and starting the renovation work.

Maybe they were filming a remake of "Trains, Planes, and Automobiles"?
Does anyone get that reference? They trashed a motel with a car in that one, too.

Not a reflection on the Motel, just the guest!

Room Tip: Don't drive through your room! It's a motor hotel, not a drive-in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve-210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry for the lack of maid service during your stay and will utilize this review as a training tool for our housekeeping staff to ensure we do not have the same issues in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Better than expected given the $49 night rate (before taxes). King size bed was very comfortable. Our 2nd floor room was quiet enough given the busy streets. Super convenient to MAX redline and one stop from Cascade Station for food and shopping. No microwave or fridge which was inconvenient given our two night stay but not surprising given the cheap rate. This place is very no frills but clean. A bit of a hike across the parking lot to the ice machine and breakfast room. The yogurt and fruit are ok but the waffles and packaged condiments were gross even to my 6 year old and I had no interest in trying the sausage gravy in the crockpot. No decent coffee shops or restaurants within walking distance unless you ride the MAX somewhere. I would stay here if I was traveling on a budget and didn't plan on being at the hotel much.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleAmericano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed our location in regards to the Max Station and hope you will utilize our hotel for a short stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The pillow top bed was nice to sleep on. I wouldn't recommend this place for an extended stay, no refrigerator or microwave. The breakfast was so so. If you need a place close to the airport and need a shuttle, this place will work for you. I inquired about parking while away on a trip, $20 for the first 7 days and after that, it is $6 per day (I think)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whaleofatail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are so pleased you enjoyed our new pillow top beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed in a slum motor inn the night before, so disgusted, it was just down the road and payed exact same amount for this hotel. Man I wish I check tripadvisor or travelocity, this hotel wasn't on my old GPS so didn't check the rates by phone when I was driving around. Excellent choice for a close to PDX stay, has gym and ice room by the office, under construction on part of new expansion. Maybe that's why it was $50 a night? My room didn't have fridge or microwave. Vent didn't do much in bathroom and AC didn't do much so little stuffy but clean and such a relief not to stay next to crack heads at other Motor inn! I will definitely be staying here again! Both staff members at desk were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accationalcoasttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are limited service hotel with limited ammenties however we make sure we have very clean and comfortable rooms and are glad you were able to enjoy them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.4 km away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#91 of 144 in Portland
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
1.5 km away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#98 of 144 in Portland
38 reviews
11 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport

Address: 9747 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4226 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $61 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn at Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing