We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location, Clean Hotel, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Ranked #35 of 138 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean Hotel, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Portland Executive Tower in December 2011 while in town to visit friends. For someone who used to live in downtown Portland, I chose this hotel because of it's location. The hotel is conveniently set between 5th and 6th Ave, which is right on the MAX line. Not to mention it is part of Fareless Square so the rides are free. You are right across from Pioneer Place to shop til you drop without paying sales tax. Starbucks in one block away in either direction for your morning coffee. There are also plenty of amazing restaurants within walking distance or a quick ride on the MAX.

The hotel itself was very clean and the staff was friendly. I would say it could use a remodel to make it more pretty like other Hilton hotels are these days. But it certainly isn't bad or wouldn't stop me from staying there again. I've heard negative things about the non-executive side of the hotel from friends and co-workers, so avoid that if possible.

Overall you will not be disappointed stay here and you certainly cannot beat the price.

Room Tip: Stay in the Executive Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank technogal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    966
    414
    157
    68
See reviews for
339
529
98
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I spent 3 nights here while attending a conference. I stayed in the Tower building, which is across the street from the main hotel, and is generally reputed to have more updated rooms. The room was perfectly fine, the bed was quite comfortable, and the bathroom/shower were good. Nothing special, but no complaints either. I used the Health Club in the main building, and it was a cut or two above the normal hotel gym. The pool (18 yards) was long enough to swim laps without banging your head every couple of strokes). What I most appreciated was the location of the hotel. It's one block to Pioneer Square, which has a lot of happenings, and is also a great place to pick up trains for any of the MAX light rail lines (including easy access to the airport for just $2.40). I also took a couple of pleasant runs along the Esplanade on either side of the Willamette River, starting just a couple of minutes from the hotel. It's a few blocks in the other direction to a district with a bunch of museums. This hotel did not blow me away, but I loved being right in the heart of Portland for a couple of days.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This review is for the main building on Sixth Ave. not for the Executive Tower.

I stayed here just one night on business. The lobby, public areas, fitness center and rooms have all been updated. The hallways however give the feel of visiting a grandmother who hasn't redecorated since the late 60's. Also the doors are flush with the hallway, so any noise in the hallway comes right through. I always travel with ear plugs and would recommend that if you are sensitive to noise. I didn't hear much noise from adjoining rooms, but the hotel was not full.

I had a king size room and while everything was updated, as others have said, it was cramped. Reminded me of hotels in London where everything is packed in. I'm a big guy and it was hard to comfortably use the toilet as it is wedged between the sink and the wall. The room itself felt cramped, with little space between the bed and TV bureau. It was fine for one night but not for much longer for me.

The room was well appointed, comfortable bed and nice flat screen TV. The bathroom amenities are really nice as are the towels. There is a beautiful pool and a well equipped fitness center that was a pleasure to use.

Service was quite good - I was accommodated for a late checkout at 1pm and the person at the fitness center was great.

Couldn't ask for a much better location, close to theaters, shops, restaurants and only 2 blocks from the light rail train to/from the airport (Red Line, Pioneer Courthouse stop). Overall a good place to stay, I would try for the Executive Tower if you can afford it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel was very nice. It is close to everything and the bed was very nice. The only problem that I had was with shampoo and conditioner. For some reason, they thought that one of those little bottles would last a whole week. A call down to the desk got me restocked but I had to do this every couple of days. My room was on the corner of the building and what an awesome view of over 180 degrees. There was no tub in my room but that might be really good for couples. I don't know how you would go about requesting that feature (or not).

Room Tip: Corner rooms have awesome views but all those windows can make it a bit cool in the winter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C00KIEmonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here on our drive back from Canada to California. Wonderful location near Pioneer Square; this area is chock full of restaurants, brewpubs, and sights. Nice breakfast too. The only fault would be that the rooms could be a little bigger but they have been nicely remodeled. Would stay here again next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#16 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#24 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Portland & Executive Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Property: Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Address: 921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#35 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#37 Business Hotel in Portland
#39 Family Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): $210 - $436
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Portland & Executive Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 782
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Portland & Executive Tower hotel in Portland, consists of two separate buildings and combined they offer 782 guest rooms as well as: The Main building, remodeled in 2014 offers:* HopCity Tavern & Market - our new restaurant concept featuring a modern American gastro-pub cuisine and a grab and go market featuring Stumptown coffee and grab and go snacks and sandwiches * UPS business center - staffed Mon-Fri and a 24-hour computer/internet access connectivity center * Wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms for a fee * Free Wifi in the lobby * Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenience. The Executive Tower, remodeled in 2015 showcases: * Concierge desk * Complimentary 24-hour fitness room with an indoor waveless lap pool * Computer/internet kiosk available in lobby * Wired and wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms for a fee * Free Wifi in the lobby * Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Portland & Executive Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portland And Executive Tower
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland Executive Hotel
Portland Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing