We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

LaQuintas are usually where I end up staying just because I know they accept pets. I'm glad I decided to branch out on my weekend getaway to Portland. The front desk was really great and the room was very clean.Good bed and charming little kitchen. I thought the pet hospitality was wonderful-dog cookies, dog bed, dog magazine. Wow! Oh and free wine(for me not the dog). Well not really free since you do have to pay an extra $20 to use their parking garage, I guess at least I didn't have to deal with the hassle or worry of leaving it on the street. I really enjoyed my 1 night stay I wish it was longer. You may want to consider ear plugs however, the walls are thin and no good if your neighbor is loud.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    458
    99
    35
    25
See reviews for
256
529
129
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place is located right in the Pearl District so it puts your right in the action. The room was clean and comfortable but truly the decor is very dated. It is what keeps Portland WEIRD!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGinParadise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was my second stay in the historic hotel. The rooms are nice, beds comfortable, everything clean. The front staff is exceptionally cordial and helpful. They gave me great restaurant recommendations, took care of my outgoing mail, and arranged for my transport. The latte/chai tea/hot cocoa machine in the lobby is available around the clock, and produces some pretty good drinks. I enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast. Fairly standard fare: yogurt, danishes, bagels 'n cream cheese, toast 'n jam, cold cereal, milk, orange juice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our third visit to the hotel. We come for a four day stay once a year and do some shopping in Portland.
We like the Mark Spencer because they have larger rooms available that are set up like small apartments. They have a seperate living-room, kitchen and bedroom. A breakfast is included as well as appies and wine in the afternoon.
The staff have always been so helpful with any or our questions and concerns, and we recognize one or two of them each year we're there.
I've recommended the Mark Spencer to all of our friends and there is nowhere else that we'd consider staying.
We'll be back next year, thank you guys!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I spent the night at the Mark Spencer Hotel in Portland last Friday night and it was an enjoyable stay. When I'd booked the room a few weeks earlier I'd requested a quiet room on the highest floor possible and upon check-in the front desk staff, without having to be prompted, gave us a room on the top floor at the end of the hallway which was...perfect!

The room itself was comfortable and retro-hip with a full kitchen that had a push-button stove-top that looked to be straight out of 1962. The bed was comfortable, the heat/AC quiet and efficient, and there were extra pillows and a blanket in the full-size closet. The shower had a shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser which reduces the environmental impact nicely.

With an efficient and pleasant staff and clean quiet accomodations under its roof and all of Portland at its doorstep, I'd recommend the Mark Spencer hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eighty8da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): $226 - $446
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing