We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to explore portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #12 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Rooms are spacious and like the whole building decorated in bright colors. The streetcar station is just outside the door and tickets are freely available at the front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel1FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

As this and many other reviewers have noted, the streetcar tickets are free (and so is the parking). So when you head out for the day, leave your car in the parking lot and jump on some of the country’s best public transportation! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 832 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very colorful lobby and rooms. Very quirky though. Bathroom is way too small for two people. Stand alone, air conditioner unit was annoying and worked just o.k. Closet is miniscule. Just a bar in an alcove on one of the walls. Worst part of entire experience is the thin doors, paper-thin walls and thin ceilings. Stayed on first floor and heard ever step of upstairs guests and noise of people passing by early in the a.m. and late into the evening. Kitchen was a nice touch, though! Front desk was great EXCEPT for one disrespectful woman who was NOT very helpful. One fun fact, in the front sitting room where they serve continental breakfast, they have glass filled vessels loaded with salt water taffy. Yum!

Room Tip: Even if you are traveling alone, ask for the double queen room as it is so much bigger the the singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Ok, so for you the taffy, colors, kitchen, and most of the staff = good. Bathroom and closet size, AC, noise, and a single staff member = not so good. While we hope to please every one of our guests in all these areas, it seems we missed the mark a bit for you. Rest assured that we take all feedback to heart and are continuing to do everything we can to turn “not so good” into "good" (or "really super awesomely good") for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here two nights, and had a lovely time. Inn staff is helpful and friendly, room is decorated with wonderful colors and has an unique vibe. Great access to pearl and downtown on light rail, tickets are free at front desk. Our suite was well stocked with everything requires to cook a simple pasta dinner one night when we decided to stay in. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docdic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Sometimes staying in is the best move to make even with all of the amazing restaurants nearby; you get to relax and feel at home in the hotel (and save some money too!). Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

When looking for a place to stay in Portland, many of the more centrally located, downtown hotels looked rather dull and boring. So, I was pleased to come across the Inn at Northrup Station on Tripadvisor. Normally, I wouldn't be interested staying in residential neighborhood a little removed from the center of the city. But the many positive descriptions on Tripadvisor of this funky hotel made it seem like an interesting place to stay. Importantly, the fact that the streetcar to the main downtown areas stopped more or less at the door to the hotel was a huge plus for my partner and me because we are both strong supporters of public transit. We certainly were not disappointed with the hotel or its location. The hotel has a friendly staff, huge, well-appointed rooms, and a very nice continental breakfast. Also, the location turned out to be a real plus. After spending our days touring many areas in and around downtown Portland, it was nice to arrive back at the hotel at the end of the day and to enjoy all the restaurants, cafes, and shops on or near 23rd Avenue. Very relaxing, and some very good food. On our next visit to Portland, it will be an easy choice as to where to stay; we will definitely book a room at the Inn at Northrup Station.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muntz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Any time we see a review that says we’ll be someone’s first choice when returning to Portland, we smile some very big smiles. Then we have hot cocoa and dance around to our "Awesome 80’s" Pandora station! Ok, so maybe not that last part, but the smiles are definitely happening. Thanks for the review and we’ll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Our family (mom, dad, 7yo daughter) stayed at the Inn at Northrup Station over spring break, primarily based on recommendations from TripAdvisor. Once again, the recommendation did not disappoint.

The location was great, just a couple of blocks off of upbeat, funky 23rd Avenue. We ate at great restaurants either on or near 23rd three times during our stay, and all were great experiences (Papa Haydn, Besaws, Cafe Nell). The free streetcar tickets meant that anytime we wanted to head downtown, it was a short, free ride from the stop just outside the hotel. Yes, you can hear the streetcar rumbling past, especially from the street side rooms, but we decided that this was part of the urban atmosphere of the place, and didn't bother us at all.

Front desk stall were universally friendly and helpful, and the complimentary morning continental breakfasts more than sufficient to fill us up in the morning before we explored the city. The free parking was another bonus, as we did end up using our car on a couple of days (to explore Washington Park, and to go to OMSI).

Overall, this was a great experience; our only complaint (from our daughter) was the lack of a pool, but that was actually a bonus for us, as we didn't have to argue with her about whether to go and explore the town or stay at the hotel by the pool. :)

Room Tip: Avoid street side rooms if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

A pool and spring break do go hand-in-hand, but isn’t your daughter a little young to be in college? ;) But in all seriousness, thank you so much for the kind review. We do strive to be universally friendly and helpful, as you said, and we’re glad you got to experience the hotel, the neighborhood, and plenty of other great Portland places. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,638 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $180 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing