We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value minded.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Carrara
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Value minded.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have stayed several times at this hotel, as it convenient when arriving on late flights and the room costs very little. Nothing special, older 70's style apartment hotel, furnished minimally perfect for someone not wanting a hotel vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebitpeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    254
    359
    224
    267
See reviews for
396
311
236
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bcchik
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was an awesome deal (about $45 per night), but don't pay more. It's somewhere to sleep and shower. There are no luxuries. The toilet paper and towels are both very rough. The room was small. The view was into someone's back yard. The area has nothing around it. You must drive to get anywhere, although there are a few seedy little pubs/ restaurants within half a mile. The only reason to stay here is to save money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I recently needed to travel across the country to New Jersey because of the illnes of a family member, and with were I am living in the south western part of Oregon, it was better to fly out of Portland than North Bend. What made me choose this hotel was the fact that it was close to the airport, and that they offer off-airport parking at the hotel with a free shuttle to and from the airport. It is an older hotel but it has been maintaned and taken care of. It was perfect for me to drive for three hours to, and on the return trip fly back to Portland and stay the night before driving home. There are good places to go to eat nearby, and the continental breakfest is good, and it was just what I needed for my travel plans. I would stay again if the need arises to fly somewhere, or for a trip to Portland to check things out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedracer05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

False advertising on this one. I booked this on line because it offered 24 hr airport shuttle to it's site. I am a female senior and I called their front desk two days prior to arrival to just doiuble check for this service and was assured they had it. Upon late night arrival, I called for the shuttle and was told it stopped at 1 am and there was no one to come for me. Yes, I could have taken a cab there, but doesn't that defeat the purpose, so there I was the rest of the night in the airport alone. This hotel had my pre paid room fee and my efforts to get a refund were met with indifference. I will never spend a dime ever in any of their properties when I travel. This is an outrage and a bad example to set with us seniors. I will be spreading the word.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherlin,OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel offers park and fly if you are going to the airport and want to save on airport parking. We did not take advantage of this at this time. We did get a good 1 night rate. We had an early flight in the am and only needed a place to sleep. I got a 48 hr special on priceline and took advantage of this. The room had icebox, microwave, hairdryer, coffee pot, and iron, all of which we like but didnt need this trip.Room was clean and bed alittle hard for my taste. They also offer a continental breakfast which is also a plus, we didnt try so cant comment. I recommend this hotel if you are not looking for any frills. if you can get a discount, but would not recommend paying full price which I believe was 70.00, we paid 43.00. It served its purpose for our needs this trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cablemanSutherlin_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 km away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
1.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#96 of 141 in Portland
305 reviews
2.2 km away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#98 of 141 in Portland
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#92 of 141 in Portland
38 reviews
4.0 km away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
4.0 km away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#65 of 141 in Portland
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Portland Airport

Property: Howard Johnson Portland Airport
Address: 8247 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price range (per night): $102 - $216
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Portland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need a place to sleep, eat and feel like home? Howard Johnson Portland Airport is the place for you. With recently renovated rooms, free Hot Deluxe Breakfast Including Waffles, Oatmeal, Juices and other great items, adjacent award-winning Indian Food Restaurant "Namaste", free shuttle service to and from the PDX Airport. Located within a Walking distance of "The Grotto". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Quality Inn Portland Airport
Portland Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing