We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nicely refurbished older hotel in downtown”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nicely refurbished older hotel in downtown”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was a great place to stay for our family when we attended a wedding in Portland. The location perfect for exploring the Pearl District, which is full of interesting stores and amazing restaurants. Portland is a foodie town and it did not disappoint us. We stayed in a King Suite and the beds were very comfortable. The desk clerk told us about the Byways Cafe, which is a Diners, Drive-ins and Dives reviewed place.it was a terrific breakfast and it was very nice that the clerk steered us there.

Room Tip: the king suite was suitable for our family of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,909
    631
    140
    54
    23
See reviews for
377
1,302
210
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our first visit to the Hotel Delux and WE WILL BE BACK. The Hotel is lovely, the staff most excellent and frequently went beyond the norm to see that our wishes were met. The bed, pillows and bedding made our sleep delightful and our dreams sweet. We were not able to have dinner in the restaurant, but did enjoy a terrific breakfast there. We were VERY happy that we made a point of enjoying a cocktail in the beautiful bar. The bartenders were so welcoming, informative and simply top drawer, that we came back after dinner to enjoy a nightcap. All in all, bravo!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel Deluxe is like a trip back in time. The theme is old hollywood and their are pictures of classic movie stars throughout the hotel. It is older building so the rooms are small by modern standards but they offer everything you need in a hotel room. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. I actually took the sheets off to see what it was.

The Driftwood Lounge is also a must visit. It is pretty small and intimate but we enjoyed it as it was also a trip back in time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank double25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We enjoyed our four night stay at Hotel Delux. We were really put off at first by the size of the room. There was about a foot around the bed to move around but the bed was very comfortable and we slept great. The shower was too small for more than one or a soak in the tub (even for one person). The other negative were the extra costs. Parking was more than we were expecting at $22 a day to park in their lot. It was raining every day so we didn't look into street parking but did find that most of the streets had meter parking. I would expect wireless connection to be free but that also cost $9 a day or $25 for a few days. The restuarant Gracies had delicious food but also was pricey. We enjoyed the convenience and quality of food so much that we had breakfast there daily. The bar was really cool but we didn't find any free seats as it is an intimate space. The service was friendly and prompt with any request. We walked to an amazing restuarant in the pearl district called Andina which I highly recommend for a special night. Overall, a very nice hotel but was a bit turned off by the high costs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puravida2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We've stayed here 3 times for weekend trips from Seattle and we've always had a great times. The place is romantic and charming, and service has always been fantastic and personal. It's a short walk to downtown and the Pearl district, but still feels tucked away.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have great sofas for staying in to watch a movie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): $258 - $518
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TravelClick, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing