We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Portland North
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Not the most convenient location, I had a hard time navigating to the cul-de-sac near I-5. The front desk is not at ground level. Service was indifferent at first, but they were willing to let me check out late. Not particularly romantic. The room was uncomfortable with only one nightstand for two beds and poor climate control. It was also noisy with a room facing I-5. The Yellow Line is about a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from I-5 may be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bb_organic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your stay was not as you envisioned it to be. We do hope to have another chance in having you visit our hotel again, in hopes of showing you a better stay if your travels bring you back to Portland.
Sincerely,
Brytnie Hoxworth
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Portland North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The room was so nice. The furniture is awesome. The desk is modern and useful. The location is near the airport and Jantzen Beach areas. The bed was comfortable as expected from a Marriott. Close by is Salty's famous restaurant on the river's edge.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Edward Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are so happy that you found our new updates to be up to your standards. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you visit Portland, Oregon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Rooms were amazing!! Very fresh and clean. The remodel and updating has made our stay even better this time. Service beyond excellent! Liz and Katie at the front desk were absolutely wonderful!!! Look forward to coming back soon

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Constance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are so happy that you found our new updates to be up to your standards. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you visit.
Sincerely,
Brytnie Hoxworth
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Stayed here 2 weekend nights with my daughter. The hotel is showing its age. Garage under hotel is open to any traffic and some parking spaces were being used by construction equipment and supplies. Hotel has 2 elevators and 1 of them was being used for construction transport.

The front desk staff was training new employees during my check-in, but they were friendly and check-in time was quick.

We stayed in a room with 2 beds for $123/night. Very disappointing. Strong stale/musky odor every time we entered the room. We opened the window to try to get some fresh air into the room - and found that the window screen was bent/damaged - likely from someone trying to smoke out the window while in the hotel room. There was a note in the room that they were remodeling the bathrooms. We had a room with very old bathroom and the tile floor in the shower/toilet area was pretty gross with missing pieces of tile.
Courtyard no longer includes free breakfast. Came down to get coffee and breakfast on Saturday morning at 7am and was told that the staff was not available and was advised to walk across the street to the Residence Inn for free coffee. They finally opened for breakfast around 745am. But very slow inefficient service. Only 2 staff working for entire restaurant area. So when they take an order they have to stop and make lattes or espresso/coffee and can't help any other guests. I watched one Dad and daughter wait 30 minutes for their coffee and food after they ordered it.
1 person takes orders and makes drinks. The other person prepares the food. It is just too slow for the restaurant and customers expectations.

The hotel is next to the river and has outdoor area for sitting if the weather permits. There is an indoor pool and hot tub. Large area in lobby for sitting, tv, business center, eating. WiFi was free and worked just find - speed was good.

There is a Subway and Pizza Mia restaurant 1 block away. Or if you take the next I-5 freeway exit there are multiple restaurant choices - BJ's, Pannera, Hooters, Dennys, McDonalds and many more fast food choices.

I usually stay at Marriott hotels 99% of time for work/family travel and I just thought that this was below the normal standards for Marriott in terms of the quality of the room, the room smell, slow restaurant service, price, and construction. There is Residence Inn and Fairfield Inn right across the street and I would probably stay at one of these instead next time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view - I believe this would be Even numbered rooms
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank destes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that the check in process went smooth with our new front desk associate and trainer. We are disturbed to hear about the restaurant service. We have reviewed with Restaurant management team and use this as a learning model for them. Please visit us again on your next trip in to Portland, Oregon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Room had a great view, very clean & only had 1 problem with the coffee pot on my last day. Good service & very polite. This was my first time at this location as I usually stay closer to the airport but, very enjoyable thanks to my son.

Room Tip: Get a river view.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear about our beautiful room and the great view of the Columbia River. Please visit us again on your next trip in to the Portland, Oregon area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Portland North
Residence Inn Portland North
#77 of 144 in Portland
190 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North
1.1 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#97 of 144 in Portland
46 reviews
0.9 km away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
0.7 km away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland North

Address: 1231 N Anchor Way, Portland, OR 97217-7579
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $158 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland North 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour has an ambiance of casual elegance and sophistication both inside and out with beautifully appointed rooms and meeting space. Our innovative cuisine selections will tempt you along with an array of personal and attentive services. Our 7,500 sq. foot seasonally landscaped patio overlooking the Columbia River channel has magnificent views of Mount St. Helens, Mount Adams, and Mount Hood. Complete with gazebo, fountain, and peaceful scenic views, the Riverside Verandah is an ideal venue for summer & fall wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, cocktail parties, and celebrations! We provide you with the highest level of comfort and service you expect from the Marriott name. Rely on us to provide an elegant haven for both relaxation and productivity, with stylish decor and spacious elegance. Standard in-room amenities include: COMPLIMENTARY High-speed Internet access, large working desk, two line phone, voicemail, in-room coffee, 32" flat screen TV's with premium cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Portland North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland North Harbour Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
Portland Marriott
Portland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing