We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
214
179
55
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
179
55
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free popcorn third floor continental breakfast great view nye beach ocean view paved path beach access room was clean oregon coast nice balcony short walk the north end indoor pool double queen room mini fridge within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We were visiting Newport on our Pacific Northwest road trip. We are so happy we chose to stay here. It was a rainy evening and we were very tired. The folks at the desk were very accommodating and we were able to upgrade to a higher floor ($10 more but totally worth it). The room was large and clean. The view - even on this misty night - was relaxing. Comfy bed, quiet area. My husband enjoyed running on the beach the next morning. The breakfast was minimal but coffee, juice and a coffee cake was really all we needed. I would love to visit Newport again and I would definitely stay here.

Room tip: Pick a room on the second or third floor - and further down from the office for the best view.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandybeaches23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Nice location across the street from the beach. The rooms were very clean. The people at the front desk were nice. They have a breakfast that was adequate. Centrally located - Close to the beach and harbor.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We visited this past weekend on a whim and loved staying here overnight. The service was excellent, the oceanfront room was great. Location is outstanding, near Nye Beach establishments and a relatively short walk to the old bayfront district. It may look a bit dated, but it is a great place. Will go back soon.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TallTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

When I go to the beach, I want a view, a good view. The Whaler has it with a nice balcony.
We were on the top, third, floor. there is an elevator - yea! Room is spacious, clean, nothing lacking. We spent four nights. There's nothing special to say, but for the price it's an excellent choice. Only thing that stops it from being a 5 is that the bed was soft. I went home with a minor backache which took two days to go away.

Room tip: I'd go for 3rd floor.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisgood720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I'll just give some of the low lights: no water for a shower or bath - fridge flooded the floor - sink would not drain - thermostat was either off or on, no temperature control - window handle broken off and would not lock, just to mention a few things, The location is great with wonderful views but total lack of comfort in the room. May have been just that room but that was our experience. Staff handled the situation and did the right thing at checkout.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews