We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great center!”

Hatfield Marine Science Center
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of informative exhibits at the Hatfield Marine Science Center gives visitors a glimpse of hot topics in contemporary marine science research.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second trip to Newport and first trip the the Hatfield Marine Science Center. It’s free with a suggested $5 donation...well worth the donation price! Wonderful static and hands-on displays; lots of critters; volunteers are great. There were two octopuses, one larger 12 lb. guy and a smaller on that we saw feed on a small green crab. We’ll definitely come back on our next visit to the coast.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"octopus"
in 129 reviews
"suggested donation"
in 29 reviews
"oregon state university"
in 19 reviews
"all ages"
in 54 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 22 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 19 reviews
"fish"
in 58 reviews
"accept donations"
in 7 reviews
"sea life"
in 36 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 17 reviews
"free admission"
in 8 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 23 reviews
"touch tank"
in 17 reviews
"sea cucumbers"
in 9 reviews
"learn something"
in 7 reviews
"whole family"
in 18 reviews
"great for kids"
in 13 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is a really fun place. Very educational, with touch tanks and very lovely volunteers to explain things. The octopus is pretty cool. Kids would really like this place.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The nearby aquarium is $25 per adult. Since we visited larger aquariums before , we skipped it this time. We brought our two young children to the science center instead and we all liked it. It is very interactive with a smaller scale display of marine life but large enough to engage the children. They also have hands on activities. This is a great place to visit with young children.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank kati2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This octopus exhibit is awesome. I’ve never seen such an active and entertaining octopus! They get octopi donations from local fishermen and rotate them thru the exhibit. Other fascinating things, too, and you can’t beat the price!

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank readinJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Very nice exhibits, free, and worth stopping by. Staff is friendly and filled with local info. Great time with kids!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank bdonahoe1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hatfield Marine Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Hatfield Marine Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing