We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost reservation...very disappointing”
Review of Agate Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agate Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lost reservation...very disappointing”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My boyfriend had stayed at this motel before and had really fond memories, so when it came to planning our labor day weekend we decided to go there. I talked with Maggie a month before labor day weekend and reserved unit 8. On the day we were scheduled to arrive I called to confirm and she claimed that I had not made the reservation. I was informed that there was nothing they could do, and that there was no way I had made a reservation. They were now full. Maggie was very defensive and verging on rude when I confronted her about this. I understand that mistakes happen, but some empathy and understanding of our disappointment was all I was asking for. Luckily we ended up finding a room at the Whaler in Newport - extremely pleasant staff and amazing ocean views and cheaper too. Strongly recommend it. Too bad for the Agate Beach Motel, but it was their loss not ours!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lettuce81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agatebeachmotel, General Manager at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
In response to this Review ,We were unaware of any reservation for these folks and would have accomadated them were we not full on a holiday weekend. I did however call another hotel in the area for them and found an available room and gave them a call to let them know I had found aroom on the same beach with most of the same amenties that we have ,the kitchenette and the decks and the private bedroom. They chose yet another Hotel and we were happy they could come to the coast for the weekend.
It is very rare that any reservations are lost ,and we would with out adoubt rather book a room than have to turn some one away.
This is a great place for building memories and we hope they come back sometime ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    57
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
154
148
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We returned again to the Agate Beach Motel with our two dogs. We have been visiting once or twice times a year for more than ten years. It's like having your own summer place (good in fall and winter too). Units have little front decks, and real kitchens with full size frig and stove and all the cooking equipment needed. Access to the beach is down a winding cedar stairway with deck chairs on each landing. The beach is walkable for miles (and popular with surfers) and you even get a tide table so you can time your walks for beachcombing. A couple units are set aside pet free for those sans companion animals or with allergies.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, oregon, USA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We booked a weekend at Agate Beach Motel at the last minute, just wanting to get away for a couple of days in the hopes of seeing whales. No luck on the whales, but we had a great weekend thanks to ABM. The room we stayed in was spotless, newly updated, and had everything we needed and then some. We stayed in #7 which had a full kitchen, big bathroom, small yet comfortable bedroom with queen bed, and a small sitting area that looked out over the grounds and the waves. We were able to bring our dogs which was a huge plus for us, and they even provide a small area to hose off our dogs and feet after our excursions on the beach. We loved it here and will look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanderson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Rooms are quite retro, the 40w bulbs providing lite was inadequate, bought new bulbs so we could read. Bathroom was quite an ordeal to perform normal hygiene as there was a sloping sink without any counter space, thus all teeth, shaving, hair accessories fell off etc. Cancellation refund rules are imposed upon you after deposit is collected, virtually no refund for any reason will be made by management. Be prepared for many rules and regulations. A very unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Traveler667011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, PA
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed at the ABM for a few days during a recent visit to Newport. I've not stayed in Newport before, but extended family stayed here and liked it, so off we went.
This 10 unit motel (5 units in each of two sections) is on the north side, about 2 miles from the center of town. Far enough away to avoid the busiest section but close enough to everything Newport has to offer. The entrance is close to (ocean side), but not directly on the 101, so easy access without excessive road noise. And this is a BUSY highway.
Although it looks like this place has been around since the 60s or even earlier, the owners have done a great job keeping it current. Seems like plenty of changes are always being made and many improvements are evident.
It's situated very interestingly high above a cove and a popular wide, sandy surfer beach. New looking wooden steps and decks make the climb up & down to the beach very easy (compared to rickety set ups we have encountered at other places with high elevation).
The motel is pet friendly, which was actually fine. The rooms were spotless (although ours had a very strong odor of cleaner when we opened the door that went away after a bit) and one would never know it's a pet friendly room if the amenities for animals weren't in evidence. Several dogs were in residence at the time, none were a problem.
The kitchen was fully stocked with everything that you would want for cooking meals in the room. New appliances include fridge, range, microwave, coffeemaker and toaster.
There is no A/C and only one window opens (no screen), so if it's especially hot, it could be uncomfortable BUT, it's unlikely that there would be any day that is that hot on the coast. Never really broke 70 in mid August. Only issue was it was a bit stuffy during the day, but fine at night. Living room has a big, clean picture window with wicker rocker to ocean gaze. Decor was basic but nice. Beachy but not shabby.
We stayed in unit 7 which was recently renovated with new everything, so not sure if all the other units are the same. Old school tv/dvd, but my DIL overheard a phone call order for 10 flat screen TVs during a visit to the office. Good! A very nice selection of current dvds with some classics thrown in are available for rent in the office. Very impressed by that. Manager is a movie fan. A buck or so for the rental.
The beds were comfortable enough. I gave the bedroom to the kids as one of them was 8 months pregnant and I slept on the sofa bed. We slept and I'm a terrible sleeper so it must have been fine. Super, big, new bath with shower/tub combo. Good shower head and pressure. Shampoo/conditioner/shower gel unit on wall.
One problem I would note is that the walls are kinda thin, so you hear the guests next to you. It's hard to be silent and I understand a certain amount of communal noise, but we happened to be staying next to a group of good looking young surfers who slammed cabinets and thumped around a lot. They weren't unruly at all, but weren't quiet either.
Lighting was a little dim. Could use another lamp or tow to brighten things up a bit.
Each unit is allotted 2 parking spaces at an angle to the rooms. I had a bit of a struggle with a guest who wanted me to move my car so she could could park directly in front of her unit instead of 1 spot or 2 away. Good grief! Not the motel's fault - manager took my side, but was careful not to offend the other party.
There are porches and adirondack chairs in front of each unit with shared steps. And a real key on a metal fob, not a plastic key card. Loved that.
Room rate was on the high side but it was high season. However, Starfish Point close by offered a 2 bedroom, 3 story condo for $30 less a night! Hmmmmmm.
Overall, very comfortable, pleasant motel. If you don't like dogs and/or surfers, look elsewhere, but I don't think there's much to dislike here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank visualgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
4.5 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
3.6 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
846 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
4.9 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Beach Motel

Property: Agate Beach Motel
Address: 175 NW Gilbert Way, Newport, OR 97365-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price range (per night): $193 - $244
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agate Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing