We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to beach and be spoiled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to beach and be spoiled”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Every room has the trifecta: a beachfront deck, a cozy fireplace, and a showstopping view. The bedding is high end, the rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. At 5 pm they serve smoked salmon chowder in the winter -great after a long walk on the beach just below the inn. There's fresh baked cookies at 8 pm and a full breakfast in the morning, making this a great value and helps us maximize our time at such a beautiful place. Guest services are top notch, and they seem as glad to see us as we feel to be there.

Room Tip: They all have oceanview decks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thanks for the great review! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Especially loved the "trifecta" comment. I will pass your comments on to the staff so that they know their services are appreciated. Hope to see you again very soon.

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    292
    89
    44
    21
See reviews for
223
509
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel has great location and historically has been friendly. My last visit was quite stressful as I checked in and heard the staff arguing loudly -- they were really heated! When I returned in the morning I overhead another argument between two staffers. Gosh you know people come here to relax, so if you have a disagreement between staff for goodness sake take it somewhere private. All other times I've visited this hotel -- and I have stayed here many, many times -- have been wonderful. For now, I will keep coming back and giving them another chance. Everyone has a bad day and let's hope that these were isolated incidents. It is my hope that management would keep customers happy by keeping stressed out staff from going at each other in public. I'm keeping my fingers crossed -- I would like to have a relaxing visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 913Kiki28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
We always appreciate hearing what we are doing right, and in this case what we are doing wrong so that we can address the situation and correct our downfalls. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. Would you be so kind as to give me a call at (541) 265-9400 so we can get the particulars? It looks like it was last September that this occurred, according to the information submitted, so we would like to get to the bottom of the matter as soon as possible. Really appreciate your loyalty to us by being a repeat guest. Clearly this is not something that we would ever tolerate, had we known, and we most certainly apologize for the incidents.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Lela Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with amazing staff and wonderful amenities. First things first, the location cannot be beat with easy beach access on a path just north of the hotel or 1/4th of a mile North at Nye Beach. The rooms are spacious with upgraded amenities such as granite counter tops and 42 inch LCD Flat Screen Tv's. The fresh baked cookies and salmon chowder in the evening are a welcomed snack and the expanded breakfast buffet is above average. They were finishing up a renovation on the indoor pool and fitness center which I am sure will excel the property even higher. We have stayed at the Elizabeth Street Inn numerous times over the past 3 years including the night of our wedding and the guest services staff are always wonderful.

Room Tip: For great seafood try the south beach seafood market south of the bay across the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It is always nice to hear from our repeat guests and to know that the service and upgraded amenities we provide are appreciated. The pool is open again, from our recent renovation, and looks great. Hope you get an opportunity to enjoy it on your next visit.

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Lots of good things to say. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great view, spacious rooms, comfy beds and bedding, covered parking. Evenings they serve fresh warm cookies and salmon chowder. Cozy fireplace in each room is nice, and the pilot light is always on and keeps the room at 70 degrees. A big drawback for us is the complete lack of air conditioning in any guest rooms. There is a ceiling fan, but that just moves the air - doesn't cool the room. If you like to sleep in a cool room then hope that the overnight temps and an open balcony door will do the trick.
The hot breakfast is just ok and similar to other usual hotel offerings.
Fitness equipment room is very small, and adjacent to pool/hot tub, with 3 pieces of equipment, but overlooks the ocean. Treadmill, cycle and eliptical.
It is about a 1 block walk to get to the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gophergulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Your comments are much appreciated. I will certainly pass your remarks on to the staff, I feel we have one of the best crews on the coast and comments like yours reconfirm those feelings.

Unfortunately, none of the hotels here on the oceanfront have airconditioners. There are very few days that get that warm and typically if the door is open, and the fan is turned on it cools the room down relatively fast.

Hope to see you again soon.

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This review is for a King North room, that has a view of the lighthouse. The room is amazing, especially if you like lighthouses. A north facing window doubles your view of the ocean and you can watch the lighthouse from the desk next to the window or on the balcony.

Check-in was quick and professional. Room was beautiful and clean, with good towels, comfortable bed, nice toiletries and robes. The fireplace makes it cozy and puts out a lot of heat.

Be aware that breakfast is on the 3rd floor, so if you stay in a room near 320 it can be noisy from 6:30am - 10am, try to avoid rooms near there. We were in 334 at the end of the hall and it wasn't noticeable. We did however, clearly hear the people above us walking around, so if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs.

You are right on the ocean in a nice room with a private balcony, so it is really great. My only wish is that they'd built with concrete floors for better sound insulation.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevators for less foot traffic noise, avoid rooms around 320.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
The King North View rooms are probably our most popular room types, and it is often difficult to get reservations for them as they book up for weeks in advance. It is an amazing view and especially on those rainy or windy days, it is nice to be able to sit in your room and still be able to see the lighthouse.

We very seldom have noise issues, so I was surprised to hear you heard the guests above you. Please keep in mind that if there should be any excessive noises to call us right away and we will address it.

Thank you for the review.

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.8 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.9 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
789 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.3 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.5 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): $198 - $340
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing