We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
University House of Newberg
Ranked #6 of 7 Newberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I loved the University House because it was like staying as a guest in someone's house, without actually having to bother the host. Leigh Wellikoff, the owner, was extremely gracious. She runs the place as though you were guests in a house, setting out everything you need, and giving you run of the place. She makes great breakfasts, and is willing to go the extra mile to help, even going out to pick up Chinese food one evening for me so that I could watch a hockey playoff game.
The house itself is beautifully adorned, but not fussy. It is comfortable, with an office that can be used for work, or a living room for reading or watching television, if you get sick of watching it in your own room.
I was there on business, but would quickly go back and make it a base for a day of visiting the Willamette Valley Wineries.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngstandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2009

What a great experience for our "girls" birthday weekend getaway. Leigh was so accomodating from the reservation process all the way through our departure. We felt like we were relatives in her B and B. Such charm, warmth, and hospitality in this home of her families antique furniture including all the way to the dishes, light fixtures and pictures. We enjoyed the goodies left in the frig, the homemade cinnamon rolls and relaxing in the outdoor hot tub after our "vigorous" wine tasting afternoons. It was the perfect location and great community to walk around in. Leigh offered wonderful advice on where to eat and what wineries not to miss. This is a great place for giving you privacy with your own bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and exclusive use of the whole house. It has been so tastefully decorated and we loved her willingness to share this glimpse of the Pennsylvanian life she grew up with. Whether coming back with my girlfriends, husband or family, I look forward to another stay at the University House.
Thanks!
Kathy from Mount Vernon, WA.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiplake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

As Newberg, OR is in the heartbeat of Oregon Wine Country, a small group of us decided to visit for the wine trails. Finding the B&B on the web was score number 1. When talking with the innkeeper, she ws very informative and so helpful. We took all her advise for which wineries to visit and were not disappointed at all. Staying at the B&B was the icing on the cake. The house was adorable. The setting was peaceful. The innkeeper herself was wonderful. The warm hot tub, the antiques, the most awesome cinnamon rolls. I swear I died and went to heaven. The weekend was definitely relaxing and I can't thank Leigh enough for being a great B&B host and travel guide! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChicagoDonnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Stayed for one night at this lovely property. Warm and inviting. Good beds, dreamy fireplace, lots of room to spread out. Breakfast was delicious homemade cinnamon rolls with fruit and premium coffees. Owner Leigh is a gracious hostess, very friendly, and can give loads of recommendations for restaurants, etc. in the area.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My daughter happened on to Leigh Wellikoff's bed and breakfast in September of 2007, and couldn't stop talking about how cute the house was and how each room was furnnished with beautiful antiques. So, when she heard that a group of us wanted to visit Oregon's wine country this past summer, she suggested that I try and stay in Newberg at the University House.
From the time we arrived, until we left five days later, we were treated just like family. The house (including the kitchen and refrigerator) was completely stocked with anything we might have needed.
Not only did Leigh put together some great tasting breakfasts each morning, she arranged for us to visit wineries that are not on the normal tourist route, she suggested local restaurants that she thought we would like, and after we departed, she graciously boxed up some of our personal belongings that we had left behind and shipped them back to us in Texas.
This will definitely be the place we will stay the next time we visit the Willammett Valley.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Bedford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
1.1 km away
Best Western Newberg Inn
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country
19.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
330 reviews
5.3 km away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
1.6 km away
Newberg Travelodge Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University House of Newberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University House of Newberg

Address: 401 N Meridian St, Newberg, OR 97132-2624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range: $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to discover a unique lodging experience in the heart of Yamhill Valley's wine country. Family antiques blend with modern amenities to bring you into our world of comfortable elegance. We offer intimate charm, warmth and character. Located in Oregon's scenic Willamette Valley, this classic 1906 home offers a peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of downtown Newberg. Rest and relax in the private hot tub, then explore the nearby wineries, antique shops and incredible dining available close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing