We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop by and give it a taste.”
Review of Nehalem Bay Winery

Nehalem Bay Winery
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Nehalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our beautiful, historic winery is nestled in a lush, green valley on Highway 53 one mile off Highway 101 on the Northern Oregon Coast. Visitors can sit at picnic tables looking out across the dairy farms to the Coast Range and Onion Peak. Nearby boutiques, antique shops, fine dining and forested state parks in the Nehalem Bay Area round out you! Come out and have some fun with us! Pet friendly
Anna, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop by and give it a taste.”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I chose Nehalem Bay Winery for my wedding site. It made for beautiful memories. The location was remote, the staff was amazing, the food was delicious, and the wine was a hit. Thank you for making my day so special. My friends are still talking about the wine.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank bixleraiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    26
    15
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love this place. The Staff is EXCELLENT and the wines are to die for!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Every time we come to the Nehalem Bay winery on the Oregon coast I am pleasantly surprised on how nice and helpful their staff is. And the bonus of buying four great bottles of wine and getting a fifth free is awesome. They have such a variety. And their Honey mead is to die for. The only one I have found in recent years to recommend. (My sister in law got my last bottle), so it looks like I'm taking the hour and a half drive from Portland and stock up my wine cellar again. :D

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Foxonroxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great selection of wines, really friendly host!”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My daughter and I visited the winery after hiking Cannon Beach. I was covered in mud and reluctant to stop at a winery I'd never heard of, but am so glad we did! The host/owner, Ray Shackelford, was welcoming and congenial - we had a great visit and exchanged a few stories, all the while tasting some traditional wines and some very yummy not-so-traditional wines. I tend to like sweeter wines such as Riesling and Gewürztraminer and was pleasantly surprised with the light but intricate taste of both. There was also a good selection of fruit wines and the most delicious of all - the Mead. A perfect sweet nectar - I can't wait to try it with some great cheeses. My daughter chose the Pinot, Gewürztraminer and the Niagara as her favorites. We will certainly go back again when in that area! I also want to put a plug in for Ray's charity: http://www.anywayfoundation.org/home

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank nctoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lewis, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Place!”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stopped at the winery in the late afternoon and spent only a minute or so looking at the pictures and items for sale before we were asked if we would like to taste some of the wine. Melissa was great at managing the customers finishing up and inviting new ones to sample the wines. They were quite busy with all of the customers and still kept us entertained. I think customers would enjoy themselves more if they went in with a relax attitude instead of the typical me me me situation. I wish we could have spent more time speaking with Ray. He definitely has lived a full life! On a side note, the bathroom has the most interesting shower stall I have ever seen.

Helpful?
2 Thank rocket13m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Everyone is so friendly here. Their Niagra wine is like eating grapes right off the vine. The atmosphere and setting is laid back and very relaxing. Try to show up during their music event....the food is great!

Helpful?
2 Thank marco8of8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nehalem Bay Winery also viewed

 
Rockaway Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Nehalem Bay Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing