We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took us back to New Orleans!”
Review of Gem Creole Saloon

Gem Creole Saloon
Reserve with OpenTable
Gem Creole Saloon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 105 Restaurants in McMinnville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Description: The Gem Creole Saloon is located in the same historic building that hosted the Gem Saloon in the 1800's- Featuring such New Orleans - inspired classics as fresh oysters, gumbo, crawfish étouffée, poor boy sandwiches, broasted chicken and hot buttermilk biscuits. The Gem is a laid-back place to gather and savor these popular southern dishes. With a full bar, the Gem's patrons can sip handmade southern cocktails, a hugh selection of boubons, whiskey flights, craft beers and a large selection of regional wines. The sounds of blues, zydeco and New Orleans jazz and viewing Sporting Events are provided for guests to enjoy while visiting the Gem.
Restaurant details
Description: The Gem Creole Saloon is located in the same historic building that hosted the Gem Saloon in the 1800's- Featuring such New Orleans - inspired classics as fresh oysters, gumbo, crawfish étouffée, poor boy sandwiches, broasted chicken and hot buttermilk biscuits. The Gem is a laid-back place to gather and savor these popular southern dishes. With a full bar, the Gem's patrons can sip handmade southern cocktails, a hugh selection of boubons, whiskey flights, craft beers and a large selection of regional wines. The sounds of blues, zydeco and New Orleans jazz and viewing Sporting Events are provided for guests to enjoy while visiting the Gem.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Had reservations and was worth it - excellent shrimp gumbo, a little thicker than what you get a in New Orleans but very good. Fried pickles with honey mustard so crunchy good and the fried chicken was outstanding! Didn't save room for a beignet!!

Thank Deena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen238, Owner at Gem Creole Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. Hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We went with a group of friends, without a reservation. The wait staff was very helpful in getting all ten of us seated together. The food was delicious, and properly served. Two thumbs up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pinokeeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen238, Owner at Gem Creole Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. So happy you enjoyed your visit and food. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We were on our way to the Coast, travelling with friends from, of all places, New Orleans, and dropped in for lunch. This place was a delight -- and even met with high approval from our guests, who are VERY fussy about their Creole food. I had the Sausage Po- Boy (surprised the sausage was so large, quite good but could a been a mite spicier) and my wife had the Bourbon Burger. All truly fine, as was our server, Luis, and the Blues playing on the sound system. Not cheap but absolutely worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeHypnotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen238, Owner at Gem Creole Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Each time we come here we are very pleased. Today we enjoyed pan fried oysters, Caesar salad, and pan fried cornbread. We also had some very good wine. The service here is very good, and the restaurant is always clean.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wayflos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen238, Owner at Gem Creole Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

All I can say is GO! The atmosphere is very sultry and inviting. Has a modern and a nostalgic feel with simple but elegant decor. Service was excellent and staff was very knowledgeable about their specialties: whiskey and bourbon and of course the food. Choosing an entree was not easy as the menu has so many enticing choices. We had the gumbo with shrimp and black and blue chicken. One word: delectable. The flavors were perfect. The beignets were good. Has 2 TV's but not in an annoying way. We felt like we were in New Orleans. This will be a regular destination for us. Thank you Gem!

1  Thank miami71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen238, Owner at Gem Creole Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write you wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gem Creole Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Gem Creole Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing