We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
20
50
23
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
50
23
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational monumentsmall fridgetv receptionwell maintained and cleanparking lotc unitwould stay here againcoffee makeran older propertyquiet locationeastern oregonbit datedwalking distancea nice place to staycomfortable bedlarge roomfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Dated facility but sound, clean and quiet. Bed 5*, clean 4.5*, quiet 5*, hot water 5*, amenities 5* wifi 2* This is a very good stay depending on your needs. bed was awesome. Host was very friendly, even called us back when we were having trouble connecting to wifi (weakest part of our stay). Being an older facility was sort of nice because the fan in the bathroom removed all the steam from a VERY HOT shower, nice water pick massage shower head, clean and bright. We like a fan on at night and setting the A/C unit on fan, it runs uninterrupted unlike the modern 'efficient" units in other motels, heat is baseboard but works fast and efficient. Small refer, microwave, iron, hairdryer, coffeepot, recliners, all nice and not found in every motel we have visited. Lots of motels in John Day, but I would stay here again in a heartbeat!! 1 block from main street and just across the parking lot from the outpost restaurant-some of the best food in town. Very conveniently located. If you like standard amenities in your motel room that work well, this is your place. If you are a Hampton Inn or better kind of person, you will need to explore airbnb to find something at a much higher price. $59 night was awesome, city/county transient tax was minimal. Great stay at a great price. Only con is the WIFI.

Room Tip: Upper floors are always much quieter
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Dreamer's Lodge is an older property that is very well maintained and clean. Pride in ownership shows. We had four people in our room and had plenty of room to move around, even with all of our luggage. Beds are comfortable. Located about half a block off of Main St. No breakfast, but cleanliness overcomes that lack.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oldsgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

After having stayed in John Day before. We chose Dreamer's Lodge this time.
Excellent choice the room was a bit dated but sooooo clean & the beds were the most comfortable we have found in any Motel, Hotel and/or Resort!
Quiet location off the main drag which is a huge + after driving 8 hours needed to rest.
Will stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

There are 6 or 7 motels in John Day, only three of which we found on TripAdvisor. Most seem to be run down and/or aging with the exception of the Best Western. We just needed a place to lay our heads for the night, and the room was clean and the price was right at $50 less than the BW. The proprietor was friendly and helpful, but be prepared for a room that appears to have not changed in the last half century, other than a wood-look laminate in the bed area. The only real disappointment for us was the drastic temperature change of the shower from scalding hot to cold whenever the room next to us used their shower or sink. The highlight is a great family restaurant, The Outpost, that can be accessed from across the parking lot, and a charming century-old church at the corner that is very picturesque.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joyfu1lTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

After a long day of driving, it was good to pull into John Day and check into the Dreamer's Lodge. This is your basic, small town, 60's type place, but the manager was very friendly and helped us find the best steak we have ever eaten at the nearby Grubsteak Mining restaurant. The room was very clean and well stocked. It was nice that you could even grab a free magazine or two in the lobby to read if there was nothing on the tv that night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenJ2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews