We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite place in Hood River!”

Solstice Wood Fire Cafe & Bar
Ranked #1 of 147 Restaurants in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Wood fired & Gorge-inspired! Featuring an imported Italian wood fire oven, the cafe specializes in rustic and inventive pizzas made from scratch with local ingredients. We also serve seasonal chef's entrees, & fresh pasta. We serve culinary-inspired cocktails, rotating local microbrews, ciders and house wine on tap. Heated patio seating and kid's play area too! Across from the Hood River Waterfront Park!
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This is our favorite place for supper in Hood River. Not much to add to all the glowing reviews already posted. They're correct!
Everything is good, you will want to order ALL of the menu!
Drinks are also well done, creative and tasty concoctions on special each night that I was there.
My only complaint is that the staff aren't terribly observant and often won't seat you as fast as they could. I see tables sit unattended while people linger outside waiting. And the wait can be VERY long if you have a large party. They don't take reservations and don't seem to be able to manage traffic flow to get a large party in without a great deal of chaos.
Other than this, they are my first choice when dining in Hood River, as they always have something new, and it's super easy to please everyone in our group.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tofu-n-Froggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 411 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2015

Highly recommend getting a variety of small pizza's and plates to share because you are going to want to sample EVERYTHING! Our choices: Siragusa Pear Salad, a seasonal special Peach, Hazelnut & Green Olive Salad, Margherita Pizza, Cremini Pizza, and a giant bowl of gourmet Mac & Cheese! The casual yet upscale ambiance combined with the friendly and attentive service made for a very special evening of reuniting with friends over great food and cocktails. Also try the local wines and brews. We enjoyed margaritas, but ran out and bought a growler to take home a carafe of the Domaine Pouillon Black Dot ‘13 (Columbia Gorge) Syrah & Zinfandel. Excellent all around! Enjoy!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OhioBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Solstice is, in my opinion, the trifecta of casual dining...good food, good beer, good atmosphere! Located right across the street from the park where people from all over come to wind surf, you'll find all kinds of people hanging out from those tired and excited wind surfers and their friends and family to locals to tourists in town to take in all that lovely Hood River has to offer. The pizza is hand tossed and grilled at the exposed wood fired oven. Lots of local beer is served on tap and I'm sure there are other alcoholic beverage choices available as well. Solstice is not a huge restaurant so I would imagine you might have to wait during peak times, but we had no wait for our 6:00ish Saturday dinner time. Great views out the big windows and a small outside eating area, plus a few tables on the sidewalk out front (by the corn hole game that kids of all ages were drawn to the entire time we were there). So, now to the food. Lots of pizza choices, including many gluten free and vegetarian options. We ordered a small margarita and my husband built his own small pepperoni and Italian sausage. The crust is thin and tasty and the pizza was great! The service was friendly and attentive and we'd most definitely recommend this place. It's a great combination of tourist/local hangout and well worth a visit.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Great food. So so service. Our order was given to another table so we go some nuts. Granted they were good but we waited about an hour for our food. No other comp. Go but don't go with a timeline.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank hertel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We were delighted to find this new restaurant on a recent visit to Hood River. We sat on the deck and shared a huge salad, a mushroom pizza, and a couple beers. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. I look forward to my next meal there.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solstice Wood Fire Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Solstice Wood Fire Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing