We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Arlington)
USD 64
USD 56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
79
14
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
14
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestswilson ranchpaper platespioneer roomserved family stylewilson familyquiet at nightride horsesnight stayexcellent fishingblue basinstayed one nightkarahorsebackfossilshostsrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

What a lovely place to stay. We were in the Buckaroo room which had it's own door which could be left open at night. Breakfast, cooked by Brian, was a gathering of all guests at a large table for simple but very good food. We stayed here so we could go to the rodeo in Fossil which was great fun. It is a small town full of genuine, lovely people. The colours in the painted hills were superb after a rainy morning. The ranch was so quiet and peaceful and the walk on the track before sunrise was great for seeing the deer. Kara is great fun and has an answer for everything. Thanks you for a great stay and I wish we lived nearer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SheilaH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRRBB, General Manager at Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

It was an absolute joy to have you and Phil at the ranch for the Wheeler County Fair and Rodeo weekend. We are thankful you were able to experience the Total Solar Eclipse in Central Oregon with beautiful clear blue skies! We hope to see you again one day and wish the best for your 119th Sheep Dog Trial in September. Have a fabulous summer! Kara & the Wilson Ranches Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Very enjoyable time at the Wilson Family Ranch. Friendly and hospitable hosts and nice accommodations. Home and rooms are not fancy but are typical of a cozy ranch home. Everything was super clean and all of our needs were met. Breakfast in the morning was good and felt like an international experience with guest speaking several languages, as there were some from both Germany and France. Horseback riding was awesome, territorial views were amazing, horses were great and well taken care of. If you are looking for fancy smancy...this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for an authentic and fun experience, living the simple life...this is a great option. Excellent fishing and swimming are 20-30 minutes away. Will definitely be back!!!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank LRQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Being from New Zealand, we really enjoyed the opportunity to experience in a small way an uniquely American way of life. Lovely, hospitable people. Forget about happening in Washington, this is the real USA.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Gannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a working ranch in Fossil OR, which is a town so small that if you blink, you might miss it. Fossil is not a destination town so go there knowing it’s quiet and you need to come up with your own activity. On the ranch they offer horseback riding, nearby you can dig for fossils or visit the fossil monuments. Painted Hills is not too far away and is absolutely gorgeous. As motorcyclists, we love the nice curvy roads and beautiful scenery, so we’re there to ride!

Check in is self-serve. Just inside the front door is a small desk and a check in card denoting what room yours is and where it is located. It also includes a phone number for you to call and leave a message that you have arrived.

Rates are based on room size. Last year we were only staying one night and we wanted to save a few bucks so we stayed in a room that was on the small side. It had limited space for belongings and was more cramped with all our motorcycle gear. This year we stayed two nights in a larger room that was much more comfortable and had more space for us to spread out. For us the comfort was worth paying a bit more.

Last year Phil and Nancy were our breakfast hosts, and this year it was Kara and Brian. They are all humorous (entertaining!) warm folks and we really enjoyed interacting with them. The family style breakfast was at a huge long table that Phil made himself. The three times we’ve had breakfast it was good and plentiful, but nothing out of the ordinary. I’ve been told about their famous biscuits and gravy but haven’t had the good fortune to try those yet. (Guess I’ll have to go back again!) We really liked the interaction and conversations with the other guests.

Effies kitchen is a separate outside building with an oven, sink, microwave and refrigerator freezer that is well stocked with pots & pans, cooking utensils, as well as paper plates, plastic cups & cutlery for guest use. Outside are a couple of picnic tables along with two grills, one charcoal and one gas. This last trip we took advantage of these amenities and grilled dinner both nights and just enjoyed the beauty of the fields around us.

We really enjoy this place and look forward to next year’s visit. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

My wife & I play golf out @ a small little course outside fossil we have been playing the couples tournament for the last 4 years & every time we stay at Wilson's so this is long overdue but headed there next weekend :) the morning breakfast @ the table with Nancy & all the other guests is always a great time. Nancy is one of the sweetest people in the world if your a early riser you will find her in the kitchen making the wonderful breakfast & willing to chat. My wife & I love going there we look forward to this weekend all year long for the golf & visiting with the folks at Wilson's

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Arik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews