We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
No Sea Lions

There were no sea lions when I visited, but to their credit, they told me in advance. They offered... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
travelwriter52
,
Conyers, GA
Fun stop on our Oregon Coast trip

We had a great time visiting the sea lions and watching them at the caves. It's definitely worth at... read more

Reviewed 8 November 2018
debbiemX1405UB
Read all 1,445 reviews
  
Reviews (1,445)
Filter reviews
1,445 results
Traveller rating
458
477
332
123
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
477
332
123
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop elevator ride fudge viewing area their natural habitat observation deck sea lion cave the cliff oregon coast bring binoculars fun stop nice stop unique experience heceta head lighthouse parking lot light house smell
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 1,445 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had never heard of the Sea Lion Cave, even though we had been to the Oregon Coast several times, so when we were traveling to this area of the coast, and learned of the caves and seal lions, we had to stop. So very happy we stopped here! You take an elevator down to the cave, and there is a viewing area of the largest sea cave in the US. What I liked was the viewing area was not chain link- it was horizontal wires that provided excellent views of the cave. There are about 300 sea lions, according to the receptionist, all playing in the sea, riding the waves as they enter the cave, and laying on the "beach" area of the cave. The sound of all these sea lions barking is magical:-). The cave extends to the back with a good view of the Haceta lighthouse. Back up, there is another viewing area of sea lions on a beach. There is a video of the history, and information on the relationship they have with environmental groups. The cost was good (senior discounts:-). We worth the 2 or so hours we spent here.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank FresnoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Lion Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Sea Lion Caves!

We are delighted to hear from happy customers and so happy that you discovered us! We couldn’t have written a better review ourselves! Thank you for sharing this!

Sea Lion Caves. We’re nothing short of wild!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

So I'm torn here. The place is a total "tourist trap", but I'm so glad we stopped and did it. The overpriced ticket gets you a ride in an elevator into the cave where you can gaze upon the sea lions napping or doing their thing. You're not too close to them and everyone crowds in a small space to catch a view. You can also wander around the grounds and take more pictures of the stunning beauty of the Oregon coast. Then head back into the gift shop to buy more stuff. The staff were very nice and it was a fun place to visit, but I do think the tickets are way overpriced.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank krisgils33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

As you travel the coastline of OR you can stop and see the Sea Lion Caves about 10 miles from Florence, OR. Once you purchase your ticket, you walk several stairs and then a long ramp above the coastline, take an elevator down to the cave level (this is NOT handicapped accessible). We saw about 200 sea lions inside the cave with the rhythmic tides washing more in and out. The viewing point is inside the cave, but several feet above the animals. It was fascinating.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 846darlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We saw over 200 sea lions and enjoyed this afternoon activity. It is a great way to see sea lions in a natural habitat.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

You have to pay to see anything. That said, the elevator trip to the cave us quick. Good exhibits in the cave. Make sure you ask how many sea lions are present before paying. Been there twice and it varied between 20 and 250. 20 wasn't worth the price.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Lion Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Sea Lion Caves.

Sea Lion Caves is an all-natural wildlife preserve and marine sanctuary. None of the animals at Sea Lion Caves are held in captivity. Unlike a zoo, the animals are free to come and go as they please. This is where they choose to live. Each visitor gets the rare opportunity to see behind the scenes and experience how these marine animals live and play and interact together. There are occasions that we may have fewer sea lions in the cave. We always inform our visitors before they purchase a ticket if we have no sea lions in the cave. We also offer those visitors a discounted price as well as a free return voucher that is good for one year if we have no sea lions in the cave.

We think that seeing America’s largest naturally formed sea cave is worth the price of admission. The Cave was formed about 25 million years ago. It is the height of a 12 story building and stretches the length of a football field. It is a natural amphitheater and is a very special place.

Sea Lion Caves. We’re nothing short of wild!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews