We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for family time”
other traveller has booked this property
A front yard view of the decommissioned Lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A front yard view of the decommissioned Lighthouse
We're the white house in the center of the picture!
Check the next picture. House from the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
A front yard view of the decommissioned Lighthouse
We're the white house in the center of the picture!
Check the next picture.
House from the beach
View of Cape Arago Lighthouse with bridge to it. Bridge was removed in 2013.
Land side of house
Ocean side of house
Enjoy great conversation during meal prep.
Dining area and kitchen
A great place for sipping a cup of coffee or tea. Dining table
Cozy with a view
Living room a great place for games, tv or visiting
Just enjoy the views from the Living room
Bedroom 1
A very firm mattress in this peaceful room. Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Sunset with Cape Arago Lighthouse
View from the front yard, pull up a chair and relax!
Gazebo at Shore Acres State Park
Frozen Fountain at Shore Acres 12-8-10
Charleston Marina, just a short drive and a world away.
Sea Lions at Charleston Marina
Shore Acres Christmas Light display
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Coos Bay, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johndaday
Sisters, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy with a superb ocean view.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

If you plan to arrive after dark be aware that Lighthouse Way is a NARROW one lane access off the main road with minimal turn around space and no street lighting. There are two entrances, one at the north end and one paved entrance about 100+ yards further south. If you come in the paved entrance and follow the lane south it is a dead end! The house is about midway between these entrances. If you happen to be towing a boat or trailer expect to do a lot of backing and maneuvering. Parking for a boat is challenging ! Better to rent a slip at the marina. The house is warm with a sea shore cabin feel and superb lighthouse and ocean view. There isn' t an up front cleaning fee but note that you are expected to wash sheets and clean before you leave. Arrangements for early departures are a consideration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ocean view.
Liked least: No turn around or parking for a boat.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
Thank you for your excellent description of our entry road. Because we rarely take oversized vehicles or trailers to the house we forget that this may be something that impacts people. I have added to the description the limitations of the entry road.
Also we try to be very upfront about the lack of housekeeping. Not providing housekeeping helps us to keep our rates affordable. (Some people choose to take thier own linens which expedites check out).
Sincerely,
Spencer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Glad you had a wonderful time at our home.

Spencer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah W
Montague, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful vacation home”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have been to Coos Bay 3 times before and have always stayed in vacation rentals because vacation rentals really are the way to go. The Lighthouse way house is in Charleston, which is a great location because you're in between the places of Bandon, West Coast Game Park, Misty Meadows and Coos Bay. Also, Charleston is a great place to do your clamming, crabbing, souvenir shopping and eating. There are some great places to eat at the marina there and most of the people are pretty friendly. One thing that stands out most about this particular rental is that it has the private beach, which was pretty awesome, and we did use it a lot for bonfires, sea shell searching and relaxing, we also liked the telescope and view of the lighthouse. If you stay here don't forget to visit the coquille lighthouse, it is only about 15-20 minutes away and is a great place to see. We had 2 toddlers, and a 10 year old with us because we came with friends, and it was a pretty child friendly house. The only problems we ran into was with the caretaker of the property, she lives there and shares the laundry room with you and the second day we were there she moved our friends clothes from the washer to the dryer, which is always a little 'weird' when people you don't know touch your clothes. She also asked us later if we were okay with her having some people down to the beach for a bonfire and that they would pass through quickly, which we didn't mind but thought maybe would have been better for her to wait until people paying for the week weren't there, and it would have been find except for her friends did not pass quickly and were standing around the front of the house taking pictures and blocking the bbq which our friends wanted to use and were looking in the house as they passed. So that was a bit awkward, but the owner assured us that she had never done this before and would talk to her. She is a very nice young lady, we did get a chance to settle things with her later and everything turned out great!! All in all, we had a wonderful vacation and a wonderful time with our friends. Be sure to eat at the Mill Casino on a Friday or Saturday night for the seafood buffet. And take advantage of all the house has to offer...thank you for a wonderful stay :) Note: This is a 1 1/2 bathroom, the shower/bath is downstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private beach
Liked least: 1 1/2 bathrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in July 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing