We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
26
3
0
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
3
0
7
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015

This lovely old house has beautiful rooms that are comfortable and clean. The grounds are mostly well kept; they have weddings around the pond surrounded by mature willows and other trees. The landscaping by the pool area and parking area, however, have been let go. The breakfast was wonderful: nectarine crepes, watermelon and blueberry fruit salad, and a slice of lemon pound cake with a fresh strawberry, all in a lovely eating area. The decor is interesting, and there are good restaurants closeby in Jacksonville. Very quiet. No potpourri or incense, which is a big plus as many artificial scents can set me sneezing.

Room Tip: We had the Marigold room, and it was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianesquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

It was a very pleasant stay for us - great food, friendly , and a lovely property to enjoy. Because it is a small hotel, it was uncrowded, and you could enjoy the amenities in peace and comfort. The pool was relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mrmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

The facility was brimming with potential and possibly resting on their previous success. I am an extremely big fan of B&B's and know what to expect. My Fiancée and I had a hard time finding the entrance and from there it just slipped into mediocrity. Poorly marked entrance and multiple off shoot drives not marked at all, we had to guess where the entrance was and the parking was taken up by staff vehicles.

No social hour as is the norm at big B&B's like this one, no wine or hors d' oeuvres in the evening.

Staff was in street clothes, shorts and tee-shirt, eager, nice, but poorly trained, not their fault, just college kids making a buck.

Breakfast was disappointing at best. You have to get your own coffee, ask for water and juice. We had cold quiche and a microwaved sausage patty. Not exactly the gourmet delight.

The ambiance was there, just no pizazz. Plumbing was dated and tired as was the bed, lumpy and dented from past visitors. No bedside table on one side of the bed and squeaking door hinges. Leaking shower fixtures had stained the wall of the shower green. Come to think of it the pool was green from algae in the corners too.

I would pass on this one fellow B&B Lovers.

Room Tip: Look for a better value, there were B&B's closer to town and with an overall better appeal than this tired old girl.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

This is a wonderful, historic estate style B & B near Medford. The main building is nicely updated with interesting period decor, good beds, and cooling (AC), which you will need in the summer! The living and dining areas are spotless and historically interesting. A small swim pool also helps you cool down and relax. The hosts are very friendly and the two breakfast meals we had were excellent. The property is in an area of small farms, out of town, but not too far. Because there were three of us, we stayed in the cottage, which is a separate building. It was enjoyable but had a couple of quirks. The master with a king bed is on the main floor. The second bedroom is upstairs with two very small beds. And the only bathroom is also upstairs. This was not a huge issue but we would probably stay in the main building next time. We enjoyed our stay and it was very quiet at night which was a nice switch from the usual big box hotel experience. Note that they do have weddings at the Willows, so you might want to consider this in your schedule.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Clark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We stayed here one night and barely got there in time to check in. The old mansion has been pretty well remodeled yet kept its antique charm. Our hostess was friendly and a great cook and we were sorry not to spend more time on the property. Rooms were equipped with cable and wifi so modern conveniences were not missing. The only negative was that quite a bit of renovation was going on but that did not interfere with our visit.

Stayed: May 2015
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews