We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice but dated...needs some updatesdrawer”

Review of Black Butte 005

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Black Butte Ranch, Central Oregon, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mckenziet...
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better House Than Last Year. . .”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We--my family--like BBR for the amenities, the swimming pools, kayaking lake, bike trails, beautiful surroundings, and extras like horseshoes and archery, but have found the homes, in general, run down and in need of care. This house, BB005, was a big improvement over the mess of a house we stayed in last time (and about the same $). However, the kitchen has problems. Bad drawers, a garbage disposal that simply doesn't work and stinks, and the fridge is leaking badly--cold air pouring out of it. But at least it was clean.
I was surprised that when I checked out, I barely got a nod. No "how was your stay?" No "what suggestions do you have for us?" We met a few friendly people who work there, but mostly we felt tolerated. That said: GREAT new locker rooms and improvements to the lodge swimming pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The BBR amenities--great swimming, kayaking, bike riding
Liked least: The kitchen in the home. Needs an update
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to reach out to us. It is important that all of our guests enjoy their stay. I'm glad you liked this house better than the one before. I do apologize that there were some issues with the kitchen in this unit, without feedback such as this we are unable to make the necessary changes to any of the units we rent out. We do try to make sure that any requests are taken care of during your stay. On behalf of the staff here at Black Butte Ranch, we do apologize for the inconvenience and would love to have you stay with us again. We hope you reach out to us with any further questions or concerns.

Take care,
Black Butte Ranch Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Black Butte is a wonderful getaway for families. It is wonderfully quiet and serene, close to Sisters and fun activities are available for the kids. The rental home was a good layout but really needs some TLC. Upstairs bathroom - cold water did not work. Kitchen drain smelled like garbage each time water was run. Garbage disposal did not work. Kitchen drawers fell out (no stops on them). Fridge is very old and noisy. Upstairs bed is in need of replacement (soft). Washer/dryer unit was not mounted on wall and resulted in the whole unit moving alot - VERY noisy too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet serenity
Liked least: Outdated appliances that were quite loud
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for commenting and sharing your recent experience with us at Black Butte Ranch. We are glad your family enjoyed all the activities and the layout of the Ranch. Thank you for also giving your feedback so we can pass the information along and make any necessary changes. We hope to have you visit us again the next time you are in Central Oregon.
Best Regards,
Black Butte Ranch Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRB222
1 review
“Nice but dated...needs some updatesdrawer”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This is a nice enough place, nestled deep in the Ranch. Looks like it was built in the 80s. The kitchen is small but workable. However they need to spend some money updating and refinishing the cabinets and drawers. The utensil drawers squeaks loudly.Also, I would replace the large wooden box in the living room with some comfortable hassocks.

If you're going to stay at the Ranch I would recommend renting thru Black Butte Ranch proper. Their staff staff is very helpful.. brought us an extra key at 8:00 p.m.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
We appreciate your kind words about our staff and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Black Butte Ranch. We will pass along your suggestions so we can make the necessary changes to this unit. We look forward to having you back soon!
Best Regards,
Black Butte Ranch Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OR
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oregon
Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing