We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated riverside hotel, lots of ammenities but cold pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
197 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Updated riverside hotel, lots of ammenities but cold pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We were looking to explore the area and realize it is off season for about everything. We still had lovely sunny weather in the high 40's and took a tour of a lava tube with a local guide. The hotel has an older look but significant updating is noted in the room furnishings (queen beds with footboards, high quality bedding albeit on the firm side, granite-look counter in bath).

Getting a river view room is worth it. The Deschutes river rushes by reminding you that you are someplace special.

Hotel also offers sauna, wt/fitness room (small but quite good), short trails along the river, hot breakfast usually included, indoor (seasonal) and outdoor pools and spas. Refrigerator with a separate, functional freezer plus a microwave make it easier for families. (We did not get a kitchenette room).

Our only issue with the facility was that the pool was too cold to fully enjoy and the "hot" tub was not hot. The chemicals in the pool bleached my daughter's suit also. Seems there is room for improvement in the pool management area in general as towels were in short supply and the auto lighting did not turn on smoothly with sunset.

The location is not really near the shops and restaurants we were interested in.

Room Tip: River view and specify away from the night club if you turn in early on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lookin4luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your visit and your review of The Riverhouse. I have provided our maintenance team with a copy of your review.
Yours,
Rocky Adrianson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    243
    97
    65
    41
See reviews for
201
307
21
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Nice rooms at a reasonable price. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Convenient location.

Room Tip: River view rooms have the best views of course,but all rooms are nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyDude5576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Riverhouse. We look forward to seeing you again.
Yours,
Rocky Adrianson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We've been to here many times and while nothing changes each time, we know just what we are getting. The staff has always been friendly and the rooms clean. There are no huge perks to this place, but you can count on them for making your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for placing a review in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Yours,
Rocky Adrianson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Absolutely no flexibility using gift certificates. I Received 2 gift certificates two months ago that have an expiration of 12-15-2011. Both general manager Rocky and Marketing Manager Kevin said there is nothing they can do to extend the date. Kevin’s excuse was that it is an “Accounting Issue” since they cannot have gift certificate past their year end. This was an unquestionably poor excuse. I know of many companies that have gift certificates on their books for years. If this is how there management chooses to do business, then I will choose not to patronize them.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Gift Certificate Holder,

The Riverhouse gladly honors all Gift Certificates and although dated for 1 year can be extended.

Regrettably, the certificate that you wished to redeem is a "trade Certificate" issued for one year through our advertising partners and unfortunately cannot be extended past its expiration date. If you had one of our own gift certificates, we would happily have redeemed it.

We are disappointed this was not explained to you by the company you purchased it from. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations, but with "Trade" we must be consistent with the agreements made with our partners.

We appreciate your feedback, and hope we get an opportunity to host you in the future.

Yours,
Rocky Adrianson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just returned from a conference held at The Riverhouse. When I checked in, I heard them say that they were sold out (due to the conference). The setting is beautiful. The hotel is on either side of a river and has a covered walking bridge to get from one side to the other. The conference center is newer and very nice. The hotel rooms and hallways are quite worn and outdated, but clean. There was a nice rock fireplace in the room, but it would have been more useful if it was gas. My room was very large, with a kitchenette, sofa, table and desk. The kitchenette was complete with refrigerator, microwave, diswasher and stove. Cupboards were stocked with dishes. The bed was a king size murphy bed, which you don't see very often. Nothing special, but I slept fine. There were not enough plug-ins in the room, especially around the desk area, common with older hotels. The free hot buffet breakfast was a step above what you'll find for most free breakfasts these days. Each day there was an egg dish, potatoes, a meat, fresh fruit, hot cereal, and pastries. Coffee, milk, and juices were also served. The one thing that was not acceptable was the "free wireless." The hotel bills itself as one of the only conference centers in bend. This would draw business type people who need to stay connected with work. The capacity of the wireless was dismal. In the rooms, I could only use my laptop sporadically for Internet access. Fortunatetely, the 3G access on my phone was good. In the conference center, the lack of wireless capacity actually ruined some of the presentations. Presenters could not get the signal they needed to access the Internet. This is not acceptable for a conference center in this day and age of wireless devices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFRTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Conference Goer,

Thank you for the time that you took to write such detailed comments and compliments.
About our location, we are glad that it was valuable for you as well as the full kitchenette.

Concerning WiFi, your comments are representative of what is happening to our system when we have a full house and many business people at the resort. As you can imagine, we do not this to continue as more of our guests use yet more bandwidth. We have therefore started analysis of our upgrade needs.

Thank, Rocky, your GM at Bends Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
7.8 km away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.9 km away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
2.6 km away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
5.1 km away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse on the Deschutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Property: Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Address: 3075 N. Business 97, Bend, OR 97703-7511 (Formerly The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
Price range (per night): $199 - $340
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverhouse on the Deschutes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property and has recently completed $10 million dollar renovation in 2016. Our spacious guest rooms and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge at Currents, our restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Riverhouse on the Deschutes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing