We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place ever !”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit. Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit.
Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
New LCD HD TV in Bedroom
Tile shower with double shower heads and grab bars
Shower with an assortment of soaps and hair care products. 4 sets of towels.
Ample counter top and mirrors. Blow dryer, curling iron and various lotions provided
Bedding and art rotated with seasons
Fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances including a diswasher
Washer and Dryer -Icemaker in freezer. Laundry and cleaning products provided
Queen size sofa bed with full 600 thread count linens.
LCD HD TV, Cable, BluRay DVD and surround sound systems in living room
Full sets of glass and stem ware
Table setting for 8
complete sets of pots, pans- toaster and blender
Coffee, French press, bean grinder and a large selection of teas
Generous assortment of seasonings
Coffee flavorings and  loaner growler
Cottage patio as seen from the 'Stairway to Heaven'
view looking up the 'Stairway to Heaven'
Bench at the top of the 'Stairway to Heaven'--listen to the river from here
Summer blossoms
Fall colors. New Level 2 EV charger inside Storage locker. Loaner ice chest and Beach Towels too.
Fall is a season for the plants to prepare for next Spring. It is also one of the greatest times to visit Bend and hike...
Winter peacefulness also signals ski and board season.
Vies of Bend from Pilot Butte in early winter. Seen are Broken Top and the Three Sisters
From Pilot Butte overlooking Bend. Middle and North Sisters, Black Crater, Mt Washington, Black Butte, Three Finger...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bend, Central Oregon, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GarethJ11...
2 reviews
“Best place ever !”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved every minute of our two weeks at Second Street Cottage. The house itself is absolutely beautiful - perfectly clean and fitted out to the highest standard, there was everything in it that we needed and more. Having our own bit of garden (complete with resident deer, Gladys and her 2 babies!) was fantastic and the location couldn't be better either - only 5 minutes walk from downtown Bend, but so peaceful and quiet.
We had said that this would be our fifth and final visit to Bend from the UK, but after discovering this gem we know we will be back! Don and Marline are the perfect hosts - so friendly and attentive, and nothing was too much trouble - they made it feel like a home from home and we feel lucky to have made such wonderful friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZZenner
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A peaceful modern home away from home”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Don and Marline's cottage is the perfect getaway spot. They thought of every thing you might need and then some. They had amenities for everything you might have forgotten ie: toiletries, kitchen items for packing a lunch for a hike, etc. A lot of thought and care was put into this cottage and we really appreciated this aspect.

The modern and tastefully decorated cottage was located within walking distance to downtown yet it was so quiet there you wouldn't know. The yard was really pretty and peaceful with two deer that came down to visit.

Don was a perfect host giving us great advice on goings on about town. We took his advice and ate dinner at "Drakes" which was wonderful. He also let us know about music in the park and a hot rod show which we attended. It really felt like we were staying with friends and I highly recommend this cottage for those looking to get away and relax but be close enough to walk to a nice dinner. Thank you Don & Marline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to write a review. There is so much to see and do in Bend. There seems to be a special event nearly every weekend and we are happy to clue our "Cottagers " into the local scene. The cottage is only a 5 minute walk to downtown where most of the events occur. With the cottage having its own private parking pad, guests need not waste time searching for a place to park or worry about driving after tasting and meals.
A word about our customer interaction. Marline and I respect our Cottagers privacy. We are cautious to only interact when invited. The guest sets the tone.
Do come visit again. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lathrop S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would give it six stars if we could”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We would give it 6 stars if we could. The place is immaculately clean and well kept. Don is very thoughtful to include incidental items such as soap, shampoo, yoga mat, to go coffee cups and even a state forest parking pass. Don also had great recommendations on places to eat and see. Beautiful garden and lawn to enjoy. Lovely spot. Can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
We would love to have a six star rating but alas, 5 will have to do. Thank you. Marline and I diligently work to ensure the Cottage is immaculate for each guest and provide the “little things” travelers would not expect. Our philosophy is that our customers’ time in Bend is finite. We try to make that limited time more efficient by providing the Northwest Forest and Oregon snow parking permits. The Cottage is stocked with a generous supply of condiments, spices, coffee and a selection of teas. Other “little things” include a day pack, small lunch size cooler and a larger ice chest. One will find beach towels and even make-up removal towelettes (saves the 4 sets of high quality wash clothes and towels  ). When a traveler makes a reservation, we a detailed list of amenities to assist them with trip planning and packing. Many Cottagers have commented that getting the list really helps reduce the number of items which they might have packed. We also hear many comment on the quality of the linens; all 600 thread count and above. Please do come back and spend much more time in our little piece of heaven.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethJ11...
2 reviews
“Best vacation ever at Second Street Cottage!”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved every minute of our two weeks at Second Street Cottage. The house itself is absolutely beautiful - perfectly clean and fitted out to the highest standard, there was everything in it that we needed and more. Having our own bit of garden (complete with resident deer, Gladys and her 2 babies!) was fantastic and the location couldn't be better either - only 5 minutes walk from downtown Bend, but so peaceful and quiet.
We had said that this would be our fifth and final visit to Bend, but after discovering this gem we know we will be back! Don and Marline are the perfect hosts - so friendly and attentive, and nothing was too much trouble - they made it feel like a home from home and we feel lucky to have made such wonderful friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete package!
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you Gareth and Sarah for your business and great review. You mentioned this was your 5th visit to Bend but did not say that you come from the UK. As seasoned international travelers, your testimonial is even more insightful. While we cannot promise that deer will be see during a visit, we do promise the Cottage will be exceptionally clean and appointed with quality furnishings. We are blessed with a convenient downtown location which is secluded and retreat like. Marline and I look forward to your next visit and friendship. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenC3111
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect vacation accomodations!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Don communicated thoroughly prior to our arrival and also gave us a personal guided tour of the accommodations. He had already prepared an extensive descriptive guidebook which detailed how to operate all the appliances and how to utilize them for maximum benefit. The accommodations were pristine, well kept and very nice. Don also provided a National Parks parking pass which we used numerous times during our stay as we visited many parks and forest lands in the area. His attention to detail was very evident and our stay was trouble free and very enjoyable. I recommend him and the accommodations very highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and helpfulness of the owner
Liked least: The wi-fi was pretty slow, but that wasnt a big problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you Ken for writing such a detailed review. Marline and I believe one's vacation begins with planning and to assist our guests, we send several documents like a detailed list of the amenities one can expect upon arrival. The more information and items we can provide, the less one needs to pack or have concern. While the Northwest Forest pass is handy, it is also a time saver for our Cottagers. Same with a large selection of spices and condiments. A guest need not waste limited "play time" chasing down a parking pass or coffee creamer.. The cottage even has two sizes of coolers for a picking lunch or big day trip. Come see us again soon. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing