We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
482
197
57
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
197
57
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family cottage oregon coast two double beds the managers gas fireplace easy access to the beach the cottages ocean view small kitchen great view upstairs room full kitchen great beach only stayed one night sliding door road trip love this place
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Yes, you can see in the pictures and other reviews this place is dated, but it is clean and you stay here for the location right on the coast which is fabulous! We loved the view, and sliding the door open to hear the waves. Bed was reasonably comfortable and we enjoyed how accessible the beach was down a path from the property. The only negative was that after a very cold drive through sleet and snow up the coast I had been greatly looking forward to enjoying the fireplace in the room. However when we tried to use it, it would set the fire alarm off. We tried different options but even with the door open the alarm went off again after a few minutes. This is a gas fireplace, so it was concerning since it was unclear what exactly was burning to trigger the alarm. I did knock a star off for this problem, but the location is so good, had I not expected a fireplace I would’ve easily rated it four stars. I wish I could just cut a half star off, but 4 stars seems too high given the frustration of the fireplace issue coupled with the aging interiors. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay, lovely views, and we also appreciated having a kitchen!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you Lauren for taking the time to review. We are glad you enjoyed the fabulous ocean views. The Windermere On The Beach has been here since the mid 30's and the owners have tried to retain the vintage charm while providing the up to date modern amenities such as the latest wifi and flat screen tv's. The property is always being thoughtfully upgraded and we are happy to hear you appreciated the housekeeping detailing.

We are sorry to hear you had difficulties with the fireplace, they have all now been replaced. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This was our first visit to Bandon. We originally were going to stay at the Best Western across the street. My husband spotted these charming units and as he said, "If you are going to stay at the beach, you need to be on the beach!".. So we scooted across the road . We were pleased at how reasonably priced these units were. We were even given a preview before renting. We had an ocean view in a clean room. The only downside was no breakfast of any kind, but then we were more than happy to trade a breakfast for this gem.

Room Tip: While this was not an ADA room, we managed fine with a walker on the ground level.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank buzzetta2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you Jewel for staying at the Windermere while exploring Bandon. We enjoy having new guests discover us and hope to become your go to place next time you are here. Have a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This is a cosy place right on the cliffs in Bandon. The views is wonderful, the sound of the ocean and the walk along the shore just what I need on a regular basis. The first trip offered the best room but usually it is gone by the time I decide to go, so may have to plan ahead.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank emjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful views the Windermere has to offer. Please give us a call directly if you have a favorite room in mind and we will be glad to accommodate your request if it is available. Again thanks for staying with us and hope to see you soon.


Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

This is a beautifully quaint lodging. It has breathtaking views right outside your door. Just a short walk to the beach for a wonderful sunset or sit right outside your door. With a fully stocked kitchen, you could easily cook your favorite meal and have a view to die for! We highly recommend Windermere on the Beach!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jodie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you Jodie for your wonderful review. Although the Windermere has been here since the early 30's we find new guests discovering us all the time. We appreciate your recommendation and becoming your place on the Oregon coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We had a King with fireplace room and it was great. Could use some updates like a ceiling fan but the view will make you forget about all of that. The location is very quiet and everyone was friendly. Michael and Valerie were great to work with at the front desk. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgraham151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

The king rooms with fireplaces are ideal for a relaxing and of course it is all about the views. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review. Enjoy the spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews