We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome golfing experience”

Bandon Dunes Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New classic golf course built high above the Pacific.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“awesome golfing experience”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a great place to stay and play golf. It is a community unto itself with several restaurants. We stayed in the "Inn" which is a short walk to the main lodge and the first tee of both the Bandon Dunes and Bandon Trails courses. We we ate in four of the several restaurants: McKee's Pub, the main restaurant in the Lodge (for breakfasts), the clubhouse at Pacific Dunes (fantastic hamburgers) and the clubhouse at Bandon Trails. The service in each restaurant was friendly and prompt. The only negative was (we believe) one of our group got food poisoning from undercooked chicken wings served at Bandon Trails and consequently missed his morning tee time the next day. The accommodations are very nice. The rooms are somewhat spartan but comfortable. Mattresses on the bed's are excellent and provide for a good night's sleep. The practice facility is first rate. You are, of course, able to hit off grass with unlimited range balls at your disposal as part of the overall package. There is also a short nine hole par three golf course adjacent to the practice facility called "Shorty's" which is free when it's open. Each golf course has its own character. We played all four and would rank Pacific Dunes and Bandon Dunes as the top 2; Old MacDonald is closely behind but we found the greens extremely fast and, in some respects "penal" (we had several 4 puts). Bandon Trails is the least interesting of the four but is still extremely good golf course in its own right.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5202dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    25
    9
    1
    0
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, WA.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bandon Dunes -- a consistently rewarding golf experience!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Since opening nearly 15 years ago, Bandon Dunes Golf Resort, on the southern Oregon coast, has received more than its share of plaudits from the golf travel press; for example, Golf Magazine's George Peper famously did a hole-by-hole comparison of the Pacific Dunes course with Pebble Beach, with Pacific emerging the winner. No praise I can offer will amount to more than a "pebble" on that sand dune of accolades. This is simply to report on my recent visit, and to affirm that Bandon Dunes Resort shines as brightly as ever.
During this, my sixth or seventh visit, I played both the original course, Bandon Dunes, and its equally scenic cousin, Pacific Dunes, both commonly rated among the top 10 or 20 courses in the nation. The late February weather was just fine, contrary to gloomy forecasts of wind and rain. Sure, we encountered breezes and two holes of rain the first day, but the second day the wind calmed and the skies were mostly clear and entirely dry. The golf here is sublime. Traipsing over the linksland dunes, it's no stretch at all to imagine yourself on the great seaside courses of Scotland and Ireland. (The other courses on the property, Bandon Trails and Old MacDonald, are wonderful in their own right, though they lie a bit farther inland.)
The Bandon Dunes Resort sports a variety of lodgings, from single rooms and suites in the original Lodge and newer Inn, to the townhouse-style cottages and duplexes dotted tastefully among trees and ponds a short distance away from the golf. These are not posh rooms, but they are modern, comfortable, and perfectly acceptable to the average Joe or Joanne there for the golf; if you require fawning attendants, pampering spas, and fancy shops at your resort, you're in the wrong place. Shuttle vans are at the visitor's beck and call for transport around the property, including to the vast practice ground.
Dining options include fine dining at the Lodge and at the clubhouses, simpler fare at McKee's Pub, and several snack shacks on the courses. The food is generally excellent, accompanied by an extensive (and expensive) wine list. Downstairs in the Lodge you'll find a hot tub, workout room, and the Bunker Bar, featuring Scotch whiskies, cigars, a pool table, and large tv.
I'll keep returning to Bandon Dunes. In my opinion and my experience (which includes Pebble Beach), the golf there has no equal outside of Scotland and Ireland.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mhada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, OR
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Bandon Dunes Golf Resort lives up to its reputation as the #1 destination golf resort in the world - in every way. Plan to spend 4-5 days if you can - you will not want to leave.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sattoolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, OR
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE VER BEST!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Has high ratings. People come from all over the world. Employs lots of our local people. Beautiful course and facilities.

Helpful?
Thank GoodKarmaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Single Best Golf Experience in the World”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

With four courses all offering a different, memorable, and world class experience, Bandon never fails to deliver. After 3 trips and nearly 40 founds, Old Mac is my personal favorite but the others are amazing (I think Trails offers the greatest challenge). The food is top notch but not fussy. The caddies are both necessary and amazing (if you get one you don't like, don't be afraid to ask for a replacement as you will probably be spending HOURS with him) and the lodging is fantastic (it is very nice to stay at the lodge as breakfast downstairs is very convenient).

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bandon Dunes Golf Resort also viewed

 

Been to Bandon Dunes Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing