We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fantastic ”

Ted's Cafe Escondido
Ranked #7 of 361 Restaurants in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit!
Restaurant details
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit!
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Ted’s continues to offer delicious Mexican food! Tasty sauces. Homemade tortillas. Wide variety of menu options. Free sopaipillas. Staff friendly and full of hard working motivated college students. We will be back!

Thank Justatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

We're so glad you're a fan of our made from scratch Mexican food! We love welcoming return guests, and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Hoping to see you again soon!

Until next time,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

I normally enjoy Ted’s in Tulsa when I am visiting customers. This trip took me to Norman OK and I was not disappointed to find a Ted’s there as well. Ted’s in Norman had a high bar to meet to equal my previous experiences in Tulsa.

They met and exceeded! The meat was perfectly marinated in the fajitas and the margaritas were out of this world. Ted’s in Norman is a staple now on my trips to Norman OK

Thank jvmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

We're happy everything exceeded your expectations! It's great to hear finding us was a pleasant surprise and that you enjoyed your meal as always. Hope to welcome you back for more fajitas and margaritas sometime soon!

Best,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Recently at here during a family visit to OKC. Michelle was our waitress and and was excellent. Helpful and kind and very outgoing. All employees seemed happy and were efficient. Lots of food choices and all really flavorful. Highly recommend!!!

Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for stopping in! We're happy to hear Michelle took great care of you and you were pleasantly surprised with your meal. We hope you'll be back our way for an even better experience if you're ever back in the area!

Best,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Most weeknights there is no waiting for a table, there is plenty of free parking. We used to eat here a couple of times a month, but haven’t had very good food there recently.

Complimentary chips, salsa, queso, tortillas & relish are offered when seated. The salsa is always fantastic. You can watch them make the tortillas there at the restaurant.

The Black Bean Salsa Salad with fajita chicken was average at best. The chicken was salty & tough, over iceberg lettuce and not enough black bean salsa to add any flavor.

The beef enchiladas were mushy and void of flavor.

The servers we have had are excellent & the food comes out fast, it’s just been disappointing when it shows up.

Thank tiffypics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. At Ted's, we take quality and service very seriously. All of our food is made from scratch every day, which allows us to customize almost any meal to your preference. Next time, we recommend adding spicy atomic salsa to your Best Mexican Tacos or switching up the sauce on your enchiladas to see if that is more in line with your personal taste preferences. Feel free to ask a manager for other suggestions on how we can improve your dining experience, and if you are ever dissatisfied with your meal, please let us know so we can fix it. We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to make a better impression in the future. -Ted's Management

Best,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Thin warm corn chips with queso and salsa comes quickly to your table free. Warm flour tortillas come next. I like these served with butter. It was missing for me but a good fresh tortilla. Next up chicken and veggie fajitas. An order for one fed two of us. It doesn’t come sizzling in a pan which is what I expect with fajitas. It had beautiful caramelization on the veggies and chicken in a cast iron pan. All the sides needed come with including corn tortillas if you ask. Iced tea is good. We somehow got simple syrup on our water refill. Watch your water. Service was quick and friendly.

Thank Funandfabover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry to hear that your visit didn't meet your expectations. Our fajitas are intentionally not served sizzling the way some other restaurants serve them. This is because the smoke can be a nuisance to some guests' eyes, and the liquid in the pan can pop and either burn someone or stain their clothing. We believe the taste of our fajitas speak for themselves without the extra sizzle. We hope to welcome you back for an even better experience in the future.

Best,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ted's Cafe Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing