We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hide out in Serenity” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lone Wolf
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hide out in Serenity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Escape theeveryday world in this secluded Oklahoma Resort, this hotel is perfectly situated just a few hour drive from Oklahoma City. The service is country stlye, a little slow but the people are nice, rooms comfortable, and the Resturant is world class. Worth the drive!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AxayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    71
    40
    31
    20
See reviews for
66
76
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I hope you will find this review helpful. If you do, please give it a "helpful" vote. I try to acknowledge those that help me. I try to give a fair, objective and accurate review of the accommodations.

If you want to get away, this is the place. It's a long way from town, and that town is a pretty small town! It's isolated, which is good and bad. The good part is, the area is quiet. It's a great place to hike and get back to nature. There's plenty of wildlife around, including quite a few deer. Eagles can be spotted along the shore of the lake in the winter. There's also trout fishing below the dam, which is very close to the Lodge, but we didn't try it. The bad part is, you're pretty much stuck with the one restaurant on the property, at least in winter when we went (February 2012), and the restaurant is pretty expensive for what you get. The food ranged from excellent to fairly good, but the prices were as high as some high-end restaurants in Oklahoma City. Your alternatives are to bring your own or drive to the Sonic in Hobart, some 20 miles away. The service in the restaurant also varied greatly, because part of the time they were short-staffed and didn't give us the attention we deserved for those prices!

We booked the room on a special deal, and so did a lot of other people! The Lodge was completely full on Saturday when we checked in. It was a two-night deal, and most people had booked Friday and Saturday night. Fortunately for us, we had booked Saturday and Sunday night, and it was much better on Sunday after most of the people cleared out. Sunday evening the place was only about half full and much quieter.

The problem of the noise level was exacerbated by the other main negative: For a property that is supposed to be somewhat high-end, the walls were paper thin and you could hear everything going on in the halls and the adjoining rooms! My ear plugs helped somewhat, but not enough. I awoke in the middle of the night to the sound of someone snoring in the next room! You could hear people coming and going well into the night, at least on the Saturday night, our first night. The second night was a big improvement. They moved us to a lakeview room on the 2nd (top) floor, and we slept much better. Of course, we didn't have as many neighbors either!

I anquished over whether to give it a three or a four on Trip Advisor's scale. They really need a 3.5, because that would be a better rating. If you don't mind a little noise from the next room, and if you don't mind splurging a little on the food, this could be a good choice for a short trip, such as a long weekend. The property was renovated a few years ago and still looks very nice, with a rustic, western motif. I wouldn't spend a week here, but I may be back if they have another special! I wouldn't pay full price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from one of the main entrances to the buildings. If not, you will hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missionman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Used the Travelzoo special. Really can't beat the price for just a relaxing weekend. Would have done more outside but it was cold and windy. Restaurant was OK not great but worth it. Service was sometimes slow but this is Western OK, the attitude is laid back. Enjoyed the drive from Altus to Lawton to see the mountains and wide open country. All in all a favorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasguyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choctaw,OK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The resort is a beautiful place! Buildings, setting, rooms...but the dining room is "challenged". Our party of 7 traveled to the remote location for a birthday celebration (2/18). Check in and the rooms were terrific. But at the dining room, everything changed...The room was very busy and our 7pm reservations (there was one other on the books for 7, one at 6:30, that was all) were of no use, only being seated at 7:30 when I pointed out a number of empty tables in the bar area that could be put together...others were eating at tables in there, as well. After finally getting waited on, at 8pm no appetizers or salads came out, but 3 meals did. Two went back because the meat and gravy were cold. Finally, a shrimp cocktail appeared, then two salads with oil but no vinegar...opps! they were out of soup, that wasn't coming. When the 6 meals arrived, the 3 meatloafs were all different - one with curly fried onions, one with a different veg, and one with hardly any meat but lots of gravy. The salmons were not really hot but were cooked. The earlier delivered chicken fried steak had been eaten and finished, by this time. Our waiter seemed to be trying, but very forgetful/unorganized, never getting items or drinks asked for, apologizing profusely. This was a disasterous dinner, some really peeved, others just incredulous. And unfortuately, breakfast wasn't much better. Six had the buffet (thinking this would be faster), and, sure enough, the unfortunate single that ordered off the menu didn't receive hers until the rest of us were finished. And her "whole wheat" toast was jalapeño bread! The waitress even tasted it and her eyes began to water! For Pete's sake...Some serious training needs to be done with the kitchen and wait staff and this is a managment problem. I understand that "people just don't make reservations" but when you have 120 rooms, plus cabins, plus any groups that may be there, with literally NO place else to go, wouldn't you expect them to be eating there? Better staffing and training are necessary but due to it's remote area, people probably aren't banging down the door to work there. I want to recommend this resort because of its unique setting and beautiful lodge building, but you'll need to be patient and bring your own snacks while you wait for service in the dining room...I sincerely hope you have a better experience!

Room Tip: We had "lake views" but the drought has caused a very low water point, thus lots of grass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onebzemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very nice accommodations and dining room served a great evening meal. Eggs on breakfast buffet were cold, but everything else was good. Restaurant service needs improvement.

Several short hikes available in the lodge area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Wolf
25.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Altus
26.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altus
29.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Fowler House Bed and Breakfast
26.5 km away
Days Inn Altus
Days Inn Altus
#2 of 7 in Altus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center

Property: Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center
Address: 22469 Lodge Rd, Lone Wolf, OK 73655-6007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Lone Wolf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lone Wolf
Price range (per night): $133 - $227
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quartz Mountain Resort, Arts and Conference Center is located on Lake Altus in the Wichita Mountains of Southwestern Oklahoma. The beauty of the Resort and landscape that surrounds it needs to be seen to be believed. Quartz Mountain Resort was re-built in 2001 and and its decor has a distinct "lodge" feeling. The property features 118 beautifully appointed guestrooms with lake or mountain views and 12 cabins. The Resort is ideal for meetings, retreats and conferences. Choose from the 5,000 square foot Grand Ballroom, one of five 2,000 square foot pavillions with lake views or the 697 seat, acoustically perfect Twin Peaks Performance Hall. Quartz Mountain Resort is home to one of the most famed dining experiences in Southwest Oklahoma, The Sundance Cafe. With breathtaking mountain and lake views, the Sundance Cafe features a menu that is distinctly Southwestern with a Continental flair. For recreation, the property has an 18-hole golf cource, in-door pool and hot tub and an on-site activities director. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quartz Mountain Resort Arts And Conference Center
Quartz Mountain Resort Arts Hotel Lone Wolf
Quartz Mountain Lodge
Quartz Mountain Hotel Arts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing