We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect mountain cottage hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bathroom
Lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint-Alban-des-Hurtieres, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
netcommz
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect mountain cottage hideaway”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had the pleasure of spending a week at 'Le Petit Nid' and I can wholeheartedly recommend the experience to anyone. The cottage is tardis-like in its ability to provide comfortable space, and the experience of sitting next to the little stream at the rear of the cottage, in the evening, with the mountain vista, is one you will remember. The rooms are well furnished and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The kitchen is fully supplied, and the living area provides a welcome escape from the sun when needed.

The location half way up the side of the valley provides fantastic views every day and the drive and views on the way up to the Col de la Madeleine have to be seen to be believed.

We sampled Sarah's excellent culinary skills twice during our week, and I wish we had done so more often. She is an outstanding chef and both she and Sebastien excellent hosts.

We will be returning to 'Le Petit Nid' next year for a longer stay, and personally, I can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet along with the spectacular views
Liked least: Having to leave ....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Alpine Autumn”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful week here in the late autumn. The weather and the scenery were superb. We walked every day without ever having to leave the valley.

The cottage was delightful and comfortable. We enjoyed the wood-burning stove, foraging for walnuts and exploring this peaceful and beautiful region.

Sarah was welcoming and gave us lots of useful information. She had even found out about Halloween activities in the area for our kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartC128
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing but good marks!”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Le Petit Nid is a delightful place to spend a week, even in autumn. The house is cosy, well equipped, clean. The wood stove is a bonus on a november evening, and in case you need a book to read in the sofa next to the stove, the book chest is overflowing with good reads. Sarah was ready to help with all our questions, and yes, we enjoyed a wonderful meal at her house!
There are lots of walks in the area, and you often see Mont Blanc towering in the distance. The villages and hamlets are quite authentic, ski tourism has not spoiled this valley. It is but a short drive to the bakery, the butcher, the supermarket.
Nothing but good marks for Le Petit Nid!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the meal at Sarah's place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is worth the journey”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As you can see from other reviews, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this little nest. Not so little though, and lovingly restored for visitor's comfort. And with a kitchen that I really enjoyed cooking in, a husband relaxing in comfort watching the rugby world cup, and a dog doing a continual hop, skip and jump when walking the area, we realised that this was a very special place to stay. Walk up the road and just stand enjoying the view of the valley below, or follow the road along to see a lovely old church. There is a little supermarket near by and drives through some lovely mountain passes. Plenty of reading material if you forget your book with comfy sofas, ( one each) to have a good read. Sarah will cook a delicious supper and Sebastian will courteously serve. If you have a dog and enjoy his company and loyalty, take him here. You will have nothing, absolutely nothing to worry about. How lovely it was to come home to wild mushrooms on the doorstep left by Sarah for us to eat for breakfast. I remember it was a breakfast to remember and smile about even now!!! We wish them well, they deserve every compliment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners really wanted us to enjoy the stay, especially the kitchen.
Liked least: No television, but do you really need it on holiday? Yes says my husband, when rugby world cup underway. But we had ipads anyway.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary798
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A tranquil location surrounded by spectacular mountains resulted in a most enjoyable holiday week!”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

All the reviews we had read were not an exaggeration. The burbling brook , afternoon teas on the sunny patio, forested mountains for energetic hikes, picturesque country lanes for more leisurely walks and Sarah Gill' s delicious Cordon Bleu dinners all contributed to a perfect week . Le Petit Nid was much larger than the images had suggested and beautifully furnished and equipped. Thank you to Sarah and Sebastion for our lovely sojourn .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite , the beautiful location and the excellent Cordon Bleu dinner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing