We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
474
114
26
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
114
26
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country hotel lovely hotel every respect tucked away four poster bed comfortable lounge first class duck dinner menu peaceful location food was fantastic great weekend relaxing break staff were lovely evening meal without exception cooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Friendly efficient check-in. Had booked a deluxe room and wasn't disappointed, the room and bathroom were spacious and bright, with a separate seating area to the bedroom with double aspect windows providing a lot of light. Was recommended to book a table at check-in which we did. Staff very attentive and friendly, food was excellent. Both had steak our first night, cooked just right. Good choice for breakfast, cold buffet with fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants etc, and then hot food served to your table. We left for our day out on the second day, and the hotel kindly phoned us to ask if we wanted to book a table for the evening. Good location about a mile outside Sherborne. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1111travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

This hotel was a real find. We were treating life long friends as it was our Golden Wedding weekend. Located in a very peaceful location, everything was as required. We had room 7 which was very comfortable, tea & coffee facilities, bathroom with good shower. Friends had room 11 which has access to garden & patio. All very clean. Dinner on both nights was outstanding in taste, presentation & content. Good wine also. Breakfast is made to order so no 2 hour old eggs on a buffet. Staff are very accommodating. The Owner, management & staff seem to have it just right.
We would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Room 7 has view of distant hillside, room 11 has patio & garden view
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hantscouple555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Like another recent visitor, part of me is loathe to leave a review for for fear of there being no vacancies the next time we wish to stay. The Grange really is a great place to stay; well appointed rooms, wonderful hotel team and a peaceful location to name but a few of the attributes.

The hotel itself looks most welcoming but just wait until you encounter members of the team! They treat you as individuals, not "numbers" passing through.... engaging and interested but not intrusive.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast service combines a cold buffet and hot items cooked to order. Despite being fairly busy, the breakfast service was prompt, efficient and friendly. (All the fayre is top-notch but do try the home-made granola!!)

We have only just discovered this gem but shall most certainly be returning... our daughter lives about 5 miles away.

The Grange is very handy for touring this part of the southwest. Sherborne itself is a pleasant town and the castles are well worth visiting. Stonehenge and the Jurassic Coast are both within easy reach as is the excellent London - Salisbury - Exeter train service via Sherborne Station.

We look forward to returning soon and staying for longer.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Another splendid stay at The Grange at Oborne, Dorset, for 3 nights (22nd to 25th May 2018). We had room 4, which is a deluxe double with a 6ft 4-poster bed and a fabulous en-suite bathroom with shower over bath. Room 4 has a balcony overlooking the well maintained gardens. A beautiful wisteria covered the railings around the balcony. The first 2 days were sunny and warm and the balcony was the perfect place to sit in the afternoon.

The room was lovely and clean.

As on the 2 previous occasions we have stayed at The Grange, all the staff are helpful, friendly and efficient. The food was excellent and of good quality, our compliments to the chef. The appetizers served with our drinks prior to dinner were delightful and of good quality.

So this message is to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent stay at The Grange.

We would like to thank Jennifer, Jonathan and all their staff for making our stay a delight.

I would recommend The Grange to family & friends if they were visiting that part of Dorset and wanted a quiet, friendly, with excellent food, hotel.

Anne & Mick Gage

Room tip: I can only comment on the rooms I have stayed in, which are number 1 & 4.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anne9999076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

A hotel where the owner quite clearly cares about the quality of your stay, as indeed do the staff. Very welcoming, without exception all staff friendly and pleasant. Our room was well equipped, a comfortable bed and a wet room. The village is very quiet, very little passing traffic, so overall very relaxing. An excellent selection of guides to local tourist attractions and maps for local walks.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews