We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Eastbury Hotel(Sherborne)
USD 198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(Yeovil)
USD 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Preston Bed & Breakfast(Yeovil)(Great Value!)
USD 84
USD 82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Crown Inn(Marnhull)(Great Value!)
USD 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
454
108
25
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
108
25
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hoteltucked awayfour poster bedfirst classduckroom was spaciousdinner menuwedding breakfastbirthday partybeautiful countrysideoff the beaten trackfood was fantasticgreat weekendwithout exceptionpeaceful locationrelaxing breakevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly efficient check-in. Had booked a deluxe room and wasn't disappointed, the room and bathroom were spacious and bright, with a separate seating area to the bedroom with double aspect windows providing a lot of light. Was recommended to book a table at check-in which we did. Staff very attentive and friendly, food was excellent. Both had steak our first night, cooked just right. Good choice for breakfast, cold buffet with fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants etc, and then hot food served to your table. We left for our day out on the second day, and the hotel kindly phoned us to ask if we wanted to book a table for the evening. Good location about a mile outside Sherborne. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1111travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was a real find. We were treating life long friends as it was our Golden Wedding weekend. Located in a very peaceful location, everything was as required. We had room 7 which was very comfortable, tea & coffee facilities, bathroom with good shower. Friends had room 11 which has access to garden & patio. All very clean. Dinner on both nights was outstanding in taste, presentation & content. Good wine also. Breakfast is made to order so no 2 hour old eggs on a buffet. Staff are very accommodating. The Owner, management & staff seem to have it just right.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 7 has view of distant hillside, room 11 has patio & garden view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hantscouple555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Like another recent visitor, part of me is loathe to leave a review for for fear of there being no vacancies the next time we wish to stay. The Grange really is a great place to stay; well appointed rooms, wonderful hotel team and a peaceful location to name but a few of the attributes.

The hotel itself looks most welcoming but just wait until you encounter members of the team! They treat you as individuals, not "numbers" passing through.... engaging and interested but not intrusive.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast service combines a cold buffet and hot items cooked to order. Despite being fairly busy, the breakfast service was prompt, efficient and friendly. (All the fayre is top-notch but do try the home-made granola!!)

We have only just discovered this gem but shall most certainly be returning... our daughter lives about 5 miles away.

The Grange is very handy for touring this part of the southwest. Sherborne itself is a pleasant town and the castles are well worth visiting. Stonehenge and the Jurassic Coast are both within easy reach as is the excellent London - Salisbury - Exeter train service via Sherborne Station.

We look forward to returning soon and staying for longer.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AlB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Another splendid stay at The Grange at Oborne, Dorset, for 3 nights (22nd to 25th May 2018). We had room 4, which is a deluxe double with a 6ft 4-poster bed and a fabulous en-suite bathroom with shower over bath. Room 4 has a balcony overlooking the well maintained gardens. A beautiful wisteria covered the railings around the balcony. The first 2 days were sunny and warm and the balcony was the perfect place to sit in the afternoon.

The room was lovely and clean.

As on the 2 previous occasions we have stayed at The Grange, all the staff are helpful, friendly and efficient. The food was excellent and of good quality, our compliments to the chef. The appetizers served with our drinks prior to dinner were delightful and of good quality.

So this message is to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent stay at The Grange.

We would like to thank Jennifer, Jonathan and all their staff for making our stay a delight.

I would recommend The Grange to family & friends if they were visiting that part of Dorset and wanted a quiet, friendly, with excellent food, hotel.

Anne & Mick Gage

Room Tip: I can only comment on the rooms I have stayed in, which are number 1 & 4.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anne9999076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

A hotel where the owner quite clearly cares about the quality of your stay, as indeed do the staff. Very welcoming, without exception all staff friendly and pleasant. Our room was well equipped, a comfortable bed and a wet room. The village is very quiet, very little passing traffic, so overall very relaxing. An excellent selection of guides to local tourist attractions and maps for local walks.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews