We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A place for family fun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place for family fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

I went with my husband and 4 children ages 14,12,4,2. Our room was smaller than expected but not bad for the amt of time we spent there. It was clean. The beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were awful. Our children loved the water park there was something there for everyone to do. The arcade was fun too. We ae our first night there at th grill the food was good the burgers were huge but we found it to be pricey. The breakfast the next morning was very good I would highly recommend it. We checked out the cub club my daughter got her face painted for free I did tip the girl though. We enjoyed our trip next time we will bring more of our own food like cereal and milk. Overall our family had agood time.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    616
    375
    181
    107
See reviews for
1,753
24
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our first visit to the Great Wolf Lodge after hearing many great things about it from family and friends. The setting was great for a younger family where the kids are older than toddlers but not teenagers. They were able to participate on everything and there was more than enough space to move around freely. We only stayed one night and waterparked for two days. The room definitely was unique and turned out to be one of the biggest deals for the kids. Watch the timing of your stay as anything around Spring Break and holidays is really busy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators for a bit more quiet. However, the resort does have quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Nice place rooms need a little updating kids will love it

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bltang1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The service here is very good. Check-in was quick. All requests were promptly addressed such as extra sheets and a crib. The room was very clean.

The water park is great and is geared for the 12 and under crowd. My two year old had a blast on just about everything including the big water slides. Lifeguards are fantastic, always ensuring safety but not "over doing it". Fort McKenzie tree house has nets that you climb to get to the top of the water slide - bring a pair of Crocs or water footwear as these can be hard on your feet if you are keeping up with your little ones. The Manitoba Hot tub will give you some relief afterwards, or a 32 oz draft at the kiosk that is on the water park campus:)

We had a fireplace hot tub suite on the first floor. Only complaint is that the building is of wood frame construction and you can hear the people above as the joists squeak when they walk or run.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5a25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here Friday, March 2nd through Sunday, March 4th. I have two boys ages 7 and 8 and we stayed in the Wolf Den room, they boys loved it! They have their own TV and the walls were decorated nicely with wolves. Me and my husband had a comfy bed and there was a couch that was a pull out that nobody slept in. We were on the first floor which I loved being close to everything, but if I had to change one thing it would be sound proof ceilings. I could here the kids above us jumping till around 11 PM which did not bother us until we went to bed at 10 my kids were able to go to sleep but I was not able to. I can't complain too much since it stopped at 11 but if it were to continue much later I would not have been able to get any sleep. This resort is geared mostly for around the 10 and under crowd in my opinion. My boys are not big on adventure so it suited us perfectly. They mostly played on the tree house with a couple of smaller slides and the logs that you jump across while holding onto the rope. There are only two bigger slides with tubes that go outside of the resort and back in, of course fully enclosed, but that is all for the bigger stuff. There is a section for little ones and a section for little ones that want to go on a few short slides. We went with another family and we were able to sit at our table next to the tree house and see the whole waterpark so we did not have to chase our kids around. This was our second trip and would recommend it especially for younger kids. I have heard the the Great Wolf in Mason, Ohio is much bigger and offers much more especially for older kids but have never gone there. It usually costs more per night and since this one works better for us anyhow for now we chose this one again. Sandusky has a nice restaurant and arcade also. I prefer this resort over Kalahari and Splash Lagoon because both of them sell day passes and makes it crowded. We have visited the G.W. the last week of Jan. 2011 and stayed in the kids suite, it looks like a log cabin and has a bunk bed and one extra twin in it, perfect for families with three kids and both times we stayed it was not crowded at all.

Room Tip: My kids loved the Wolf Den. We have also stayed in the kids suite last year and there is an extra b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesgetaways32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.0 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
1.4 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.8 km away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 4600 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price range (per night): $249 - $551
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing