We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Museum”
Review of MAPS Air Museum

MAPS Air Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: MAPS Air Museum is an internationally known museum of aviation and serves as a center of aviation history for Northeast Ohio. The museum features over 130 exciting educational displays in it's collection of acquired artifacts, interactive exhibits and historical archives in its own library. The museum currently has 48 aircraft in the inventory.
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

This is quite an interesting place. I love the old airplanes and memorabilia. The docents are amazing and filled with so much information.

Thank ester94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for your review. Have a great holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 17 reviews
"goodyear blimp"
in 7 reviews
"the akron canton airport"
in 6 reviews
"military history"
in 7 reviews
"pancake breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"cool planes"
in 3 reviews
"indoor displays"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"fallen heroes"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide"
in 8 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 7 reviews
"an interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"car show"
in 2 reviews
"football hall of fame"
in 4 reviews
"men and women"
in 2 reviews
"aviation enthusiast"
in 2 reviews
"vietnam war"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

We've meant to visit this museum for quite some time and finally did so this week when our teen grandson was in town visiting. We spent about 2 1/2 hrs with a tour guide who explained most of the aircraft and exhibits which we found extremely helpful. The guide took his time and lingered at exhibits when questions were asked, etc. We weren't rushed at all! We visited on a cold day and the elder guide didn't rush during the outside viewing of aircraft. He was quite the 'trooper'...no pun intended. This is a growing museum so a few of the aircraft on exhibit are being worked on. We imagine it will get better and bigger with time. Definitely worth the time.

Thank SteveNEOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

I had driven past the museum dozens of times while visiting family. Decided to check it out. Aircraft on static display were great, loved the detailed history of the life of each aircraft that the placards provided. The engine displays and cutaways were awesome! The Goodyear gondola was also a very interesting display. What blew me away was the WW1 section. Many detailed histories of local individuals that participated. Other displays demonstrated the same for locals that were involved in other conflicts. Extremely impressed!

Thank GaMtnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This place has some cool airplanes some of which you are able to actually go inside or sit in the cockpit. A display of an army MASH hospital and an Army museum. Lots of history here but we did not have enough time to look real close at things. There is an actual Blimp Cabin in the hanger and personal tours are available.

Thank S7600RUmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We were part of a group that used the museum as a venue for a dinner. Extremely interesting and glad we participated as we probably would not have see it on our own. Docents are dedicated and passionate about their mission. All ages can learn from this museum about our heroes.

Thank DrLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAPS Air Museum also viewed

 

Been to MAPS Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing