We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was so interesting. I would like to go back.”
Review of MAPS Air Museum

MAPS Air Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: MAPS Air Museum is an internationally known museum of aviation and serves as a center of aviation history for Northeast Ohio. The museum features over 130 exciting educational displays in it's collection of acquired artifacts, interactive exhibits and historical archives in its own library. The museum currently has 48 aircraft in the inventory.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The medical hospital was unique I'm so glad we went since my husband was in. Viet Nam! It was easy to find and didn't really cost that much if you were old like us!

Thank alcdrc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the akron canton airport"
in 9 reviews
"on display"
in 18 reviews
"goodyear blimp"
in 7 reviews
"military history"
in 8 reviews
"pearl harbor"
in 2 reviews
"pancake breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"cool planes"
in 3 reviews
"indoor displays"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 13 reviews
"dedicated volunteers"
in 5 reviews
"tour guide"
in 9 reviews
"aircraft engines"
in 3 reviews
"fallen heroes"
in 2 reviews
"korean war"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 7 reviews
"an interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"football hall of fame"
in 4 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Allow at LEAST two hours to visit this museum. We had to rush through because we arrived late and will definitely need a return trip to examine all of the exhibits. The planes [both inside and outside] are certainly interesting, and the displays of military artifacts and historical information honoring fallen heroes are unique and fascinating. Highly recommended. Nice little gift shop, too.

Note--you can't access this from the airport, although it's apparently on airport property, but it's easy to access from Massillon Road. My iPhone map directed us to the airport itself.

Thank RLane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My sister, father, and I visited this museum when we were in the area. We live in Ohio so we have been to Wright Pat's Air Force Museum numerous times and assumed this would be similar. This is actually a very small museum that appears to be in an old warehouse in a business compound. The staff there was marvelous, the gift shop had some really nice souvenirs to take home and there was a really neat MASH 4077 exhibit. There were planes and displays inside and out to look at and lot to read. What touched us the most was something we never thought we would see there. It was a beautiful hand carved display case with the most amazing eagle (along with paperwork explaining why the eagle was carved the way it was). Inside the display case was a hand carved feather for each of our Ohio fallen from Iraq and Afghanistan (all branches of service). My brother was killed in Iraq in 2003 and we found his feather in there. The staff was amazingly accommodating to us and took the feather out of the glass so that we could get better pictures of it (due to the glare of the glass on the front of the case) and they let our father hold the feather. It was such a touching moment that we will never forget. I strongly recommend everyone visits this museum when you are in town!

Thank spike9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank You for your review. We are located on airport grounds in an old military hangar with 48 aircraft and 130 museum displays.

We are very sorry for the loss of your brother, but glad we are able to honor his memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Had a great time there with my Dad at the Wings of Freedom Tour. It was great to see the WWII bombers that came in for the tour but it was also great to see the collection that is at the museum. They treated my Dad like royalty because he is a WWII vet which I think is great. All the WWII vets that were there were being treated like royalty. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. It's a great place to visit for a military aviation history lesson.

Thank Bowtiedei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are very glad your father was able to join us and you enjoyed the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This museum can be toured in 1-2 hours. There are many planes available to see inside and outside the building. Access to the museum is from State Route 241. The hanger is a part of the Akron Canton Airport, although you cannot access it via the airport. The museum has airplane engines and missiles on display. There is one blimp cabin available to look through. There is a section of veteran memorials from the local area. Most of the planes are outside. Veterans would enjoy the displays.

Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoJ7000GI, Marketing Manager at MAPS Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAPS Air Museum also viewed

 

Been to MAPS Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing