We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We are IHG platinum club members and recently enjoyed a wonderful stay in Cozumel at an IHG property.

Unfortunately this past weekend we had to stay in this hotel. It was not a good experience and we would never stay at this location again and will NOT recommend this hotel to any one we know.

First, upon check in we asked the front desk if the room they assigned to us was a king suite and the front desk said it was. We saw a room being cleaned and asked the cleaning lady if this was a king suite...because it was much bigger then our room and she replied yes.

Second, we were there for a wedding and the groom was going to come to our room and get ready the morning of his wedding. I called the front desk to get a late check out and they said they would not allow it. So I went down to the front desk and spoke with the Manager, Debra. She stated that she would not approve a late check out. After speaking with her hotel owner, she returned and still said no. I told her about the situation and she gave us an extra hour and a half...but it was still a pain.

Third, the day of the wedding the bride and groom were in the presidential suite and the fire place was switched on then off and there was a smell of gas in the room. So we called the front desk and again spoke to the manager, Debra who stated that it's not possible because the fire places dont get turned on until the 1st of November. I told her that it was running the night before she said I was wrong. I asked if she could send a maintenance person up. She did and it was leaking a bit...he said the switch was flipped too fast.

Seriously...save your self the head ache and stay some where else.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ARThomas15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for expressing your views on the events that transpired here over the weekend. I think it only fair that the Hotel share the events that actually happened during your stay. When we have multiple weddings scheduled on a Friday and a Saturday it is imperative to get guest rooms serviced in a timely manner. We can only service rooms if guest check out at the scheduled time. While you may be thinking that it is only one room, lets think again. One room turns in to two and two turns into three and so on. This now hinders the staff from servicing the guest rooms and preparing them for the next guest. According to your "Platinum" Rewards club it stated extended check out will be honored "When Available". As I recall, even after I was told that we could not offer you a late check out. I DID extend your check out to 12:30PM. You came to the desk at 11:00 AM to hand the keys back in to check out, then you stated "you had better hold on to them just in case you forgot something"
Someone did call down from the Penthouse and stated that they could smell gas. The caller stated that the children were flipping the switch. I was Informed that the fireplaces were serviced and turned on before our maintenance engineer had left last week. The "swishing sound" was from the AC diffuser in the ceiling. Our Maintenance engineer Robert confirmed this. He also stated that the switch was being flicked quickly which did not allow for the flame to ignite. There was never any gas leak as you have falsely stated.
Our maintenance engineer even mentioned to the guest in the Penthouse about having the fire place on with the AC unit running. The Penthouse was rented out four times the week of September 10th and it has been rented twice since the guest checked out of Penthouse 201 on September 17th all without incident. This room is also reserved through the week by the President of one of our local companies. I believe if this room was Not as it should be we would have received a call from the gentleman as well as his company.

We welcome guest to stay at our facility. We have a great hotel and staff that prides itself on the service and product we provide. Being a "Platinum Member" is a privilege, not a right of passive to diminish the character of people or a facility just because you do not always get your way.

Wishing you the best on your next travels.

Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This is my favorite place to stay while in the Mentor area on business. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is exceptionally good. The bacon is beyond expectations. Always cooked to perfection by friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend this Holiday Inn if staying over in this area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Freddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our readers. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and our hotel. We use feedback such as yours to continue to create great hotels guest love!


Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This was a very nice hotel and it is located in a great area.Our room was clean and the hotel is well maintained. There are many restaurants and shops in the area. Headlands beach is not far which is a huge beach on Lake Erie.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Mindy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our readers. We see you had the opportunity to visit our local beach on Lake Erie. Our area by the lake is just the right climate for vineyards and we have a wide variety to tour and sample. Perhaps on your next visit to the area you will have the opportunity to visit one of them.

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Fantastic place, best Holiday Inn Express we have stayed at. Clean, top notch staff, well managed, great pool, lovely grounds. If you're looking for a great place, this is it!! Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and the two women running breakfast were as nice as can be.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank t1961rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our readers. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the positive interactions with the staff and management. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We had 18 room for 7 nights for a teenage mission team. I physically went into EVERY hotel in area on a preview trip & this property was hands down the best around! Ms. Deborah Neath and her team are the best! Registration was a breeze - even with 18 rooms! She is one first class hotel operator with attention to detail and to the guest. We stayed in this property 3 years ago and everything was still just as nice. The property is well kept - fresh and inviting. Rooms are VERY spacious and well furnished. Plenty of parking and inviting common areas all around. Kitchen staff kept things well stocked even for our large group. The two ladies in the breakfast room are the best too! They even help you feed the squirrels that run all around the porch. Very friendly atmosphere. Food was excellent for a Holiday Inn Express. More restaurants around this hotel than most! Sams is next door as well as other little markets and stores all within walking distance. The pool is VERY large and indoors. I highly recommend this place!!! It is PERFECT for groups and families!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jayp685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our readers we greatly appreciate the comments. We are glad that your time with us was comfortable and enjoyable. This year will bring some changes that we think all guest will appreciate. It is our hope that you will visit with us again in the future and come check out what will be new and exciting in Mentor!

Best regards,
Debora N
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
6.1 km away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
8.5 km away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
443 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
0.6 km away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Address: 5785 Heisley Rd, Mentor, OH 44060-1883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range: $116 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites LaMalfa. This unique property provides the finest personal service and facilities throughout Northeast Ohio. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and the ambiance embraces the uniqueness of the European decor throughout the eighty-three all suite facility including Executive Suites, Penthouse and Presidential Suites. Wireless and Ethernet are available throughout the hotel as well as the 60,000 sq. ft. banquet and convention facility. Come enjoy a fireside, hot Continental breakfast in our expanded breakfast area complete with a view of our 25'x52' lap pool with under water lighting and fountains. Located in the corporate hub of Mentor, Ohioand the home of corporate headquarters to Steris, Avery Dennison, First Energy and Rollkraft makes this hotel the number one choice for business travelers. Located just minutes from downtown Cleveland guest can enjoy the excitement of big city entertainment with near by Cleveland Indians, Cavs and Browns, Rock Hall of Fame, House of Blues and Lake County Captains.Local attractions include Mentor Civic Arena, James A. Garfield's Home, Lake Farm Parks, and Kirtland Mormon Temple. Transportation is available upon advance request, contact the hotel directly for arrangements and pricing. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at LaMalfa is a completely smoke free facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Hotel Mentor
Holiday Inn Mentor
Mentor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing