We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
236
65
23
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
236
65
23
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomfront deskwedding receptionparty centergreat hotelhi expressrooms are largethe entire staffbeyond the call of dutylake eriesleeping areaexercise roomhousekeeping staffwould stay here againclean hotelshower headparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed for 4 nights as the parents of the groom and were treated better than we've ever been treated at any hotel. Deb, the manager, Mike, the owner, and Dan, our bartender, treated each other like family and they extended the same warmth to us as their guests. Mike was a very hands-on owner and wasn't below collecting trash or making basic repairs, It was obvious that he takes great price as an owner/operator of the hotel and is not above doing anything that needs to be done. When Mike and Deb discovered we were the parents of the groom they upgraded us to the penthouse suite when they discovered that we'd be entertaining many guests. Even so, they but didn't charge us an increased rate. A few of our guests had issues, through no fault of the hotel's, and Deb did everything she could to help them or correct the situation. Our son, the groom, had reserved a standard room for their wedding night and when Deb found out he was the groom she upgraded him to a very large bridal suite at about 1/2 the regular rate.
LaMalfa was or reception venue and an excellence operation. The ballroom was extremely large, included crystal chandeliers, and contained a very large parkay dance floor. The steak/chicken combination was delicious! Service during the reception was very good.
The breakfast was very good and 3 retired ladies who worked there were quite friendly. The pool was very large and clean. The exercise room contained an elliptical, stationary bike,and a treadmill. There was an available laundry adjacent to workout facility.

Room Tip: Make sure you request the second or third floor if you get cold easily. . The higher you go in the hotel the higher the temperature.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Molehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your detailed experience with our readers. We are absolutely delighted that we could make your stay a memorable one for your son's wedding. Our staff is more like family than coworkers and employees. We all work together to create an experience that will keep you coming back or at the very least choose one of the many IHG properties in our brand when traveling.
Our breakfast team is awesome, they make you feel like you are in grandma's kitchen. We are blessed to have them as part of our family.
Danny is one of LaMalfa Center's greatest asset, he makes every wedding and venue a positive and fun event, always upbeat, smiling and full of energy!
Michael, our owner, is a very hands on owner, he landscapes and helps out through the day where ever needed, and has been known to chef in the kitchen as well.(I don't think he sleeps) he is always moving.
We are glad that our staff went above and beyond making you and your guest feel comfortable and welcomed. It is our hope that you will continue to choose one of the many IHG brands when making your lodging accommodations for your next travels.

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This was our very first visit to this property. My Husband's company has their Holiday party there every year and normally we would leave and go to another hotel. This year, due to the other hotel's rapid decline in service and condition, we decided to stay here after the party. We had reserved a regular room but were surprised when Gary, at the front desk, told us we had been upgraded to a Jacuzzi suite for no extra charge. At first we were confused, thinking one had been reserved by mistake, but Gary was very patient and explained everything through our confusion. We went up to the room which was fantastic. Not only was it a Jacuzzi suite, but it had an extra queen size bed in a separate room. Unfortunately, there was a plumbing issue. Even though it was the maintenance guy's day off, they called him in to see if it could be fixed. It could, but we told him not to worry, we could live with it for the night. In the meantime, the General Manager had called to say that it was a safety hazard and we would have to be moved to another room. Gary came up to the room from the front desk to deliver the news himself. Since they didn't have another Jacuzzi suite available, we would have to be placed in another type of room...the Queen Jacuzzi with full kitchen Club Floor Room. WOW! This room was bigger than our house! Gary made what could have been a deplorable first visit into our new hotel home. Breakfast was like no other hotel breakfast we've ever had. The food was hot, the room was clean and Maria was all smiles and chipper. She seemed to know what I wanted and had it before I even asked. Usually we check out of a hotel well before the time to do so. Not here, in fact we were reluctant to leave. Even Tairi made us feel like we were the only guests there, when we did finally check out! We signed up for their rewards program and will definitely make sure we stay more than one time a year in the future, rather than just after the annual Holiday party!!!

Room Tip: The higher the number of the room, the farther away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Turtlewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Turtlewitch,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our readers. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you incurred with your first room. Even though the issue was not a major inconvenience to you, it was in our eyes and we wanted to insure that your experience was going to be a positive one. Thank you so much for recognizing our staff members. Reviews such as yours gives our staff assured confidence they are helping to create great Hotels Guest Love!
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest next year for the company's Christmas Party!

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding and have used Holiday Inn Express before especially for their breakfast!! This experience was great, we had access to the fitness equipment, pool and laundry. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and Linda who orchestrated the breakfast was fabulous! Thanks again!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Mjgrant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers. We appreciate the comments regarding your experience with breakfast and the interaction with our staff.
It is our hope that you will choose one of the many IHG brands when making accommodations for your next adventure!

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff. Hard working. Well knowledgeable. Family atmosphere. "Real" breakfast. The rooms were extremely clean & taken care of. The beds were very comfortable. Great place to relax away from home.

Gena V.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 599genas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Guest ,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and experience with our readers. Breakfast seems to be the favorite review of our guests and the ladies that oversee our breakfast Lisa, Linda Maria and Beverly are awesome! Our Executive housekeeper, Gloria is a true gem. She and her ladies keep our rooms fresh and clean!
We are happy that we could provide such an atmosphere in which you could relax.

We also know that you have a lodging choice when making accommodations and hope that you will choose one of the many IHG properties for your next travels.


Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I still can not say enough about the staff and the experience I have had at this hotel.
From the moment you arrive you are treated with hospitality and respect. You will never find a more cleaner and friendly hotel in this area. They will go out of there way to assist you in anyway they can. The rooms are large and clean, its easy to get around, and my family loves to swim. The pool and workout room is wonderful. All I can say is if you are coming to Cleveland and you need to get a hotel room, you must try and stay here. Plus you get a real breakfast not bread and muffin, but eggs, sausage, bacon, bagels, muffins, waffles, fruit, yogurt and more... This is our home away from home and I truly can't say enough about this hotel. 5 stars all day and 10 on Sunday.

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic trust me when I say you are getting the best for your money hands down.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Guest,

You could not possibly know how much we appreciate it when a guest takes the time to let our readers know about the service and product of our hotel. We want every guest to feel at home and our staff definitely puts their best foot forward when guest come calling.
While we understand that not all guest will share the same view point, we feel it is important to share guest experiences so that readers can make a cognittive decision when making lodging accommodations.

The Express breakfast is very filling and expansive with so much to choose from we often warn guest if they leave hungry it is their own fault.! lol

We know that You have a lodging choice and hope that you will continue to choose one of the many IHG properties for your next stay.


Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews