We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at this hotel as out of town guests for our niece's wedding. The hotel was very clean and the the hotel staff was outstanding. Lisa, who helped us in the breakfast room, was fantastic. They have a very nice pool and the location is walkable to a very good pizza restaurant.

Room Tip: You can ask for an upgrade and get a slightly larger room for a little more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our readers. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and the quality of our hotel. We see you had a chance to experience one of the many weddings that we have the opportunity to host at our conference center along with some local family owned and operated Pizzeria.

We know that you have a lodging choice when making accommodations and hope that you will continue to choose one of the many IHG properties for your next stay.

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed for 4 nights as the parents of the groom and were treated better than we've ever been treated at any hotel. Deb, the manager, Mike, the owner, and Dan, our bartender, treated each other like family and they extended the same warmth to us as their guests. Mike was a very hands-on owner and wasn't below collecting trash or making basic repairs, It was obvious that he takes great price as an owner/operator of the hotel and is not above doing anything that needs to be done. When Mike and Deb discovered we were the parents of the groom they upgraded us to the penthouse suite when they discovered that we'd be entertaining many guests. Even so, they but didn't charge us an increased rate. A few of our guests had issues, through no fault of the hotel's, and Deb did everything she could to help them or correct the situation. Our son, the groom, had reserved a standard room for their wedding night and when Deb found out he was the groom she upgraded him to a very large bridal suite at about 1/2 the regular rate.
LaMalfa was or reception venue and an excellence operation. The ballroom was extremely large, included crystal chandeliers, and contained a very large parkay dance floor. The steak/chicken combination was delicious! Service during the reception was very good.
The breakfast was very good and 3 retired ladies who worked there were quite friendly. The pool was very large and clean. The exercise room contained an elliptical, stationary bike,and a treadmill. There was an available laundry adjacent to workout facility.

Room Tip: Make sure you request the second or third floor if you get cold easily. . The higher you go in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Molehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your detailed experience with our readers. We are absolutely delighted that we could make your stay a memorable one for your son's wedding. Our staff is more like family than coworkers and employees. We all work together to create an experience that will keep you coming back or at the very least choose one of the many IHG properties in our brand when traveling.
Our breakfast team is awesome, they make you feel like you are in grandma's kitchen. We are blessed to have them as part of our family.
Danny is one of LaMalfa Center's greatest asset, he makes every wedding and venue a positive and fun event, always upbeat, smiling and full of energy!
Michael, our owner, is a very hands on owner, he landscapes and helps out through the day where ever needed, and has been known to chef in the kitchen as well.(I don't think he sleeps) he is always moving.
We are glad that our staff went above and beyond making you and your guest feel comfortable and welcomed. It is our hope that you will continue to choose one of the many IHG brands when making your lodging accommodations for your next travels.

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This was our very first visit to this property. My Husband's company has their Holiday party there every year and normally we would leave and go to another hotel. This year, due to the other hotel's rapid decline in service and condition, we decided to stay here after the party. We had reserved a regular room but were surprised when Gary, at the front desk, told us we had been upgraded to a Jacuzzi suite for no extra charge. At first we were confused, thinking one had been reserved by mistake, but Gary was very patient and explained everything through our confusion. We went up to the room which was fantastic. Not only was it a Jacuzzi suite, but it had an extra queen size bed in a separate room. Unfortunately, there was a plumbing issue. Even though it was the maintenance guy's day off, they called him in to see if it could be fixed. It could, but we told him not to worry, we could live with it for the night. In the meantime, the General Manager had called to say that it was a safety hazard and we would have to be moved to another room. Gary came up to the room from the front desk to deliver the news himself. Since they didn't have another Jacuzzi suite available, we would have to be placed in another type of room...the Queen Jacuzzi with full kitchen Club Floor Room. WOW! This room was bigger than our house! Gary made what could have been a deplorable first visit into our new hotel home. Breakfast was like no other hotel breakfast we've ever had. The food was hot, the room was clean and Maria was all smiles and chipper. She seemed to know what I wanted and had it before I even asked. Usually we check out of a hotel well before the time to do so. Not here, in fact we were reluctant to leave. Even Tairi made us feel like we were the only guests there, when we did finally check out! We signed up for their rewards program and will definitely make sure we stay more than one time a year in the future, rather than just after the annual Holiday party!!!

Room Tip: The higher the number of the room, the farther away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Turtlewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Turtlewitch,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our readers. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you incurred with your first room. Even though the issue was not a major inconvenience to you, it was in our eyes and we wanted to insure that your experience was going to be a positive one. Thank you so much for recognizing our staff members. Reviews such as yours gives our staff assured confidence they are helping to create great Hotels Guest Love!
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest next year for the company's Christmas Party!

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding and have used Holiday Inn Express before especially for their breakfast!! This experience was great, we had access to the fitness equipment, pool and laundry. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and Linda who orchestrated the breakfast was fabulous! Thanks again!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Mjgrant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers. We appreciate the comments regarding your experience with breakfast and the interaction with our staff.
It is our hope that you will choose one of the many IHG brands when making accommodations for your next adventure!

Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff. Hard working. Well knowledgeable. Family atmosphere. "Real" breakfast. The rooms were extremely clean & taken care of. The beds were very comfortable. Great place to relax away from home.

Gena V.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 599genas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Guest ,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and experience with our readers. Breakfast seems to be the favorite review of our guests and the ladies that oversee our breakfast Lisa, Linda Maria and Beverly are awesome! Our Executive housekeeper, Gloria is a true gem. She and her ladies keep our rooms fresh and clean!
We are happy that we could provide such an atmosphere in which you could relax.

We also know that you have a lodging choice when making accommodations and hope that you will choose one of the many IHG properties for your next travels.


Best Regards,
Debora N.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
8.5 km away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
6.1 km away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
441 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
0.6 km away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Address: 5785 Heisley Rd, Mentor, OH 44060-1883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range: $120 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites LaMalfa. This unique property provides the finest personal service and facilities throughout Northeast Ohio. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and the ambiance embraces the uniqueness of the European decor throughout the eighty-three all suite facility including Executive Suites, Penthouse and Presidential Suites. Wireless and Ethernet are available throughout the hotel as well as the 60,000 sq. ft. banquet and convention facility. Come enjoy a fireside, hot Continental breakfast in our expanded breakfast area complete with a view of our 25'x52' lap pool with under water lighting and fountains. Located in the corporate hub of Mentor, Ohioand the home of corporate headquarters to Steris, Avery Dennison, First Energy and Rollkraft makes this hotel the number one choice for business travelers. Located just minutes from downtown Cleveland guest can enjoy the excitement of big city entertainment with near by Cleveland Indians, Cavs and Browns, Rock Hall of Fame, House of Blues and Lake County Captains.Local attractions include Mentor Civic Arena, James A. Garfield's Home, Lake Farm Parks, and Kirtland Mormon Temple. Transportation is available upon advance request, contact the hotel directly for arrangements and pricing. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at LaMalfa is a completely smoke free facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Hotel Mentor
Holiday Inn Mentor
Mentor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing