We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for the price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Medina
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Medina
Dunkirk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I really have not experienced anything that the person below me was talking about. I've stayed there at least 3 times and it gets better each time because of the renovations. A new family has owned it and been slowly making new changes and is very friendly. It looks great, especially for being a Super 8. It is very family friendly and right around restaurants and only 10-15 mins from Akron. Great location! It's only 47.00$ a night with AAA so I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Use your AAA card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    121
    46
    14
    14
See reviews for
89
54
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We aren't particularly picky and have stayed at Super 8 hotels all over the country. We've stayed at this hotel in Medina once every few years since right after it opened and it was always just fine. However, when we stayed there this month, the place was just plain dirty. The tables, chairs and counters in the breakfast areas had not been cleaned and all the upholstery was worn through. The TV in our room was filthy and there was gum stuck to the nightstand. The grass needed mowing. Yuck.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis TN
Level Contributor
195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I must admit that I wasn't sure about a hotel that is less than $60 per night! However, we had a great 1 nite stay here. Very clean room, comfortable bed and room - nothing to complain about. We didn't have a reservation, and the front desk manager was very friendly and competent. We will return here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We needed a hotel to stay in while waiting for our apartment to be ready, to move into. We had a week left to wait and didn't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money while waiting. After booking through one of those sites where you don't know where you're staying until you've booked it, we found out it was a Super 8. I'll be honest in saying I was very disappointed to find out it was a Super 8 but because it was given a 2 star rating, and was cheap, we gave it a shot......really had no choice.

What can I say?.....The lobby is big and very clean. It also doubles up as the breakfast area. The man at reception, who is also the manager, was very welcoming and while the service was fast, it didn't feel like you were being rushed through because he didn't want to deal with you (something we dealt with at a previous 3 star hotel). We walked into our room and it was very clean. Only problem we had, was the internet connection. for some reason, I could connect but my husband couldn't. We were moved to another room and everything was fine. The rooms in the back of the building face a wooded area and despite being right by a busy road and highway, even with the windows open, you can't hear traffic. A small dislike is that you can hear the guests above, when they run acroos the floor. I'm guessing they have kids :) The beds are pretty comfortable and despite the sheets and towels being a little worn, they are very clean. Bathroom also very clean. The breakfast in the morning is actually pretty decent. You get a choice of cereals and breads but you can also make waffles. The coffee is good and juice and milk is offered too. Would be nice if they had some fruit added to the selection but still a good start to the day. The hotel has onsite guest laundry facilities which is great for us being here for a week. Oh, andshould you need it, they have a portable fridge to put in your room.

All in all, this hotel is by far the best Super 8 we've stayed in, and as an overall package in price, convenience and helpful staff, it's actually better than a lot of 3+ star hotels we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Prettier view with rooms in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akasoccermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
247 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

In town for the medina county fair (man they've got a lot of rabbits)...and decided to stay at the super 8 , having stayed at the roadway a few months earliers....I wasn't expecting much...and that's what I got....60bucks...worth of super 8... It looks like it might cater to FEMA guests.... it's a bit run down, not a great breakfast... the clerk was nice though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medina
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Medina - Akron West
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Medina
Hampton Inn Medina
#1 of 8 in Medina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland-Medina
12.9 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/Seville
12.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Medina

Property: Super 8 Medina
Address: 5161 Montville Dr, I-71 & Hwy 18, Medina, OH 44256-5995
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Medina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Medina
Price range (per night): $70 - $98
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Medina 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Medina
Medina Super Eight
Medina Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing