We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love this place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mohican Farmhouse

The Front of the Mohican Farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Mohican Farmhouse.
The Pond and Barn with the farmhouse hidden behind the trees. The Wrap-around Porch overlooking the pond.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The Front of the Mohican Farmhouse.
The Pond and Barn with the farmhouse hidden behind the trees.
The Wrap-around Porch overlooking the pond.
Rustic Farmhouse Sink in the first floor bath.
Antique claw-footed tub int he second floor bath.
Twin Trundle in the third second floor bedroom.
Pond is fully stocked and has many large bass and crappie
Optional Guest Cottage Available
Guest cottage has a sleeper sofa and Queen bed
In the spring we have lots of babies on the farm--chicks, ducklings, llamas and goats!
The farmhouse offers a true farm experience with many animals to see.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Loudonville, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kristy W
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place ”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My friends and I chose this place for our annual girls trip. The day we checked out all of us were already making plans to come back. One review I read was right, there's not a lot of privacy in the upstairs, where most of the beds are, but we didn't care. There were 6 of us and we've all shared hotel rooms before, so privacy isn't really a concern. There is a big bed downstairs and a smaller bed in an upstairs room if someone in your party needs privacy. The house is amazing and it's so spacious. There's a lot of character in the house and property in general. The animals were probably our favorite part. We loved feeding the goats, cats, and chickens. The llamas were a bit more standoffish, probably because they're llamas. The cats were super friendly. We really loved the cats. There's a charcoal grill and a nice fire pit to sit around at night. The owner, Shane, was very responsive with any questions we had before and during the trip. There were plenty of towels, the kitchen was stocked with dishes, cookware, microwave, and stove. It's a home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohiogeorg...
Avon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great getaway for peace and quiet”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Peaceful weekend for both the kids and adults. Kids enjoyed fishing, petting and feeding the animals, rowing a small boat on the pond, campfires, so-mores and just exploring the farm property. The adults and older kids disconnected from the electronics and just enjoyed all the discoveries and fun the kids were having. The farmhouse and detached cottage was plenty big for the 14 of us, 8 adults and 6 kids. So different from a hotel or motel, plenty of room inside and out. We had a cookout our first night and there was plenty of room at outside tables. The kids loved eating outside on a farm. The screened in back porch was perfect for morning coffee and breakfast. Watching the large array of chickens roam the farm grounds was very entertaining. All four families were very impressed with the facilities and thoroughly enjoyed the entire weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect House for a College Reunion”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Five long time college friends and I recently spent three nights at Mohican Farmhouse in Perrysville, OH. We could not have been more pleased with the farmhouse both inside and out! The house itself was immaculate, beds were comfortable, new bathroom large, dining area farm table just right for breakfast for the six of us, screened in porch perfect for early morning and later evening without any bugs. The property itself is beautiful...well cared for and maintained gardens surround the house, patio, porch, and guest house. We enjoyed feeding the kitties who came to our door, the goats and chickens, and getting up close to the llamas, alpaca and the brown sheep! Most of our time was spent in Loudonville, Millersburg, and Berlin checking out all the stores and antique shops. Had great food at the Hanover House Diner, the Olde World Bakery, Boyd and Wurthmann Restaurant. Be sure to stop at the Mohican Country Market and Guggisburg Cheese in Charm, OH. Thank you to Shane for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlK56
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Deserves various rating stars”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This review is difficult for me to write in that some aspects of the property were outstanding and others not so much. I will begin with the 1 ratings and work my way up.

1 star- the king bed on the first floor. Soft, saggy, and lumpy.

2 star- the tv remotes and DVDs. The rental had 4 tvs and I can only imagine the number of guests that mess up the settings. There were no instructions so we had to call the owner. Finally got the remotes to work but the next day, no DVD. After trying for several hours we called the owner again. No luck even after he provided what he thought was the fix. He offered to come out, but by that time, I was disgusted. When you pay over $175 per night, the electronics should be operational.

3 star- the upstairs bedrooms. Large parties, beware. There is no privacy in these bedrooms as you have to pass through them to reach the stairs to the ground floor or use the upstairs bath. If you have kids, it would be like a big slumber party, but not so good for adults. We had invited two couples to join us, and at the last minute they could not. Once I saw the upstairs I was glad they did not come.

4 star- there are enough towels for at least 12 people. Nice furniture.

5 star- the kitchen was fully equipped and had everything needed to make a meal.

So there you have it. A large farmhouse with some lovely furnishings and a really pretty property. Would we return, probably not.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. I wish it had not rained for so much of your stay so you could have better enjoyed the fishing pond, pedal boat, farm animals, and beautiful hiking trails. I am sorry you didn't find the king bed comfortable. I understand that guests have many different preferences to mattress types, and that is why we purchased different types of mattresses for all seven beds, so guests can find the bed that suits them best. I am sorry you had trouble with the TVs--I know how frustrating electronics can be. I only wish that you had allowed me to come right over and show you how they work instead of spending hours trying to figure it out yourself. I understand if you do not want to return, but if you change your mind, I'm sure you won't regret it. It is my goal to make sure you have the best stay possible, and with better communication, I am sure we can make that happen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycust...
Mount Vernon, Ohio
1 review
“Can't Say Enough Good Things About The Mohican Farmhouse”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Can't say enough good things about the Mohican Farmhouse. For starters, the drive to this deep in the country farm house is so scenic. Once there, you find yourself in an idyllic, secluded country setting. The house itself is stunningly decorated -- yet so comfy. Beds were all very comfortable. There are abundant linens in both bathrooms and the kitchen is very well equipped. The beautiful screened porch affords views of the quaint little barn and Mohican State Forest.

Now for the splendid out of doors. LOVED the animals. The llamas, Honey and Blessed, the little black sheep, Rascal, the five chickens, and Shadow, the very friendly gray and white cat made up a unique welcoming committee and provided hours of entertainment during our stay.

Grandchildren loved the swing in the big barn and fishing in the stocked pond. The row boat and paddle boat also got a workout. The short walk to Mohican State Forest was a huge plus. We enjoyed our hike there.

Don't think twice about renting this beautiful getaway. You will be so happy you did.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything but pressed to answer would say all the outside activities available.
Liked least: Liked it all very much.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing