We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful first anniversary stay!”

Review of Piccolo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Logan, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jon C
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gnat infested and unhelpful management...too bad”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I were looking forward to a relaxing getaway and have stayed in several cabins in the Hocking Hills area over the years and have always had a great time. When we arrived the cabin seemed like a nice place. We brought in the few bags we had for our short 2 night stay and since it was very hot and humid outside we decided to relax and read in the bed. It was then we noticed an irritating gnat flying around...no big deal - figured we'd smash it sooner or later and be done. Well, we killed it, then another, then more and they just kept coming.

After two hours of this I called the rental company to ask them to remedy the problem.

The responses I got were:
- the cleaning lady didn't notice any gnats (NOT HELPFUL)
- we haven't had a problem before (ALSO NOT HELPFUL)
- maybe you left food out (we didn't have a crumb of food or any drinks out)
- suggested we left the door open (90 degrees, 90% humidity...uh no)
- suggested we put some vinegar out to trap them (REALLY!?)

They were acting as though the problem did not exist, or that it was my problem to deal with. Finally convinced them to send somebody over to take a look. They promised they wouldn't be there by 8 p.m. and when 8 o'clock came and we had spent 5 hours swatting gnats and nobody had showed up we decided to leave. In the meantime I made sure to document the problem with photos and video, including the dirty wet mop in a bucket 3 feet from the bed.

We passed the maintenance guy on our way out. He was nice but the first night of our 2 night vacation was ruined.

I am reasonable and understand these things happen, but it is absolutely unacceptable for a business to treat their customers the way this place did. This was their problem to fix and they would not take responsibility or even act concerned.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCTaylor2...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful first anniversary stay!”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the cabin for our first anniversary and it was perfect. It is a beautiful, sparkling clean cabin and you can tell it is a new build. The indoor fireplace is great. The full kitchen is so nice to have, because there aren't too many good restaurants in the area. The hot tub was so nice to have, both for romance and for recovery after a long day of hiking. The bathroom was great with very good water pressure (one of my must-haves!).

My only negative is that the bed and pillows were VERY uncomfortable. Some new pillows and a mattress pad would go a long way!

We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S
Athens, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Getaway for Two”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Piccolo was a perfect, relaxing getaway for two. We loved the hot tub and the porches. The country club restaurant, within walking distance, was great for a nice meal out and was very reasonably priced.
We did discover that it is not walkable to the main trails (Old Man's Cave, etc) and that it is necessary to bring your own drinking water. But these things did not deter us and we had a fantastic vacation. We will DEFINITELY be back again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Water was undrinkable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
Gallipolis, Ohio
2 reviews
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Charming cabin...great getaway for our 10th anniversary. The hot tub was a welcomed treat after hiking all day. We will definitely be back in the fall.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havefunaw...
Crescent Springs, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“charming”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This cabin was perfect for our wintery get away. It is located conveniently off of St route 33. There is a rather steep, short hill getting to the cabin which made it rather concerning when we left in the snow. The furnishings are very comfortable and the kitchen is very nicely equipped with everything one will need. The deck is very nice but an open field with an oil derrick is in sight and makes a bit of noise on Fridays. The cabin next door is within sight also but set back so as not to be a problem. The water supply is fantastic, with no odor and very soft water.The fire pit is wonderful (take fire starters) and on the private side of the cabin. It was an easy walk to the river with the exception of a rather steep slope to the bank.
The rental agency was extremely nice to work with both in the phone reservations and quick to answer any question I had via email.
I will definitely work with this company again and look forward to enjoying some more of their cabins

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing