We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel with nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

nice pool and decent lounge with entertainment. Rooms are clean and service very friendly. Excellent shuttle services
Decent mid range hotel for business travel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetnThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was a business/Family Stay. I was very disappointed. The bathroom smelled like strong old Urine and though I complained and the staff came to clean the urine smell would not leave. I had them replace the curtain and that helped a little but it was the worst stay. They offered to move us but the other rooms had musty old smell. We decided to clean our own bathroom and stay since all rooms were the same. The staff was nice but the rooms need updating. The only thing updated was the flat screen TV and the bedspread. The curtains had wholes and closets were tiny with no doors. The only thing I enjoyed was the sauna and the pool but terrible rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyontheGo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

NO WAY this is a 3 star hotel as advertised on Priceline. It's an aged property, and while you can see some cosmetic updates have been attempted, it doesn't hold up due to staff. They seemed indifferent and somewhat clueless. The room had food wrappers on the floor from a previous guest, hair in the bathroom and even in the hair dryer, questionable hair in the linens...it all just added up to a poor quality stay. We had no towels when we arrived, but after about 20 minutes there was a knock at the door and a staffer handed me a wadded up ball of towels - not folded. Add to this an entryway that smelled like cat urine, and this is what you have in this hotel. MUCH better choices very closeby. Even my kids - who love to stay in hotels - couldn't wait to leave in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earl9371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have to agree with some of the previous reviews. This hotel was not worth the money. I checked in later at 945pm. The front desk was going to give me a room on the first floor close to where the band was playing in the bar. I asked politely if I could be put anywhere else, 2nd floor, 3rd floor, etc. I even said I did not care about the bed size either. I was given a room on the 2nd floor after waiting about 15 minutes. I walked in the room and it was so stuffy. I went to turn on the AC and it did not work. I called the front desk and I was told the maintenance man would come up and check it. I asked if I could just be moved to another room because it was close to 10pm and I wanted to go to bed. So, I came back down to the lobby. It took the front desk 10-15 minutes to find me another room. While I was waiting I heard the front desk clerk give breakfast vouchers to various people checking in. I asked if a breakfast voucher was included in my rate and I was told no. I thought for a rate of $140 a night that was a bit ridiculous. The room I was given was clean but there were no tissues, only two towels, and no hair conditioner. I went out of my room to get some snacks to learn that there is only ONE vending maching in the entire hotel and it was on the first floor by the pool. When I got back to my room, the room key would not work. I went to the front desk and asked for another key. The front desk clerk said it shows the key works fine but I will make you another one. Like I can't use a key properly. Finally, in the morning when I leave my room, there is no newspaper but every other room on the floor had one. And the bill they left underneath my door says I have a balance due of 138.00. I paid for the room in advance on hotels.com and the rate was 140.00 with taxes to come to a total of 162.00. The rate for the room on the bill was 119.00 a night plus taxes. I asked the front desk and they said the rate I was given was because of hotels.com fee. I looked at my receipt from hotels.com and it had their fee listed seperately outside of the hotel rate. Now I know they could not credit me the difference in rate because I already paid through hotels.com, but I explained to the fdesk clerk that it had not been the best stay and mentioned everything above. She didn't even blink. She didn't even offer me a breakfast voucher. This hotel was definitely NOT worth the money and I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jevin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to find very nice desk clerks, very clean rooms, a nice pool, great TV, etc. The after hours bar and live music were great, too. The hotel manager saw us in the hallway and asked us if there was ANYTHING else he could do to accommodate us--but there wasn't! It was a very nice experience and we will definitely plan on returning.

Room Tip: We had a non-smoking room. I think everyone needs to smoke outside regardless!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trips4Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.7 km away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
0.2 km away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Independence
Comfort Inn Independence
#11 of 14 in Independence
174 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence

Address: 6001 Rockside Rd, Independence, OH 44131-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $134 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strategic location of this Cleveland area hotel, the Holiday Inn Cleveland South Independence provides easy access to such downtown attractions as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Quicken Loans Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, and Playhouse Square.At the crossroads of Cleveland's primary arteries; I-77 and I-480, our hotel is just 12 miles from Cleveland Hopkins International Airport. The hotel offers complimentary airport shuttle service from 6 AM to 11 PM daily.Guests will enjoy our complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, sauna, and fitness center. Michael's Grille restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy dancing the night away in our high energy lounge with live entertainment Tuesday - Saturday in Impulse Lounge. With over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, our Cleveland area hotel is ideal for your next event be it a corporate meeting, convention, wedding, business dinner, or family reunion.For our Priority Club Members, ask about our newly renovated Priority Club Floor with key accessed lounge serving Continental breakfast, snacks and soft drinks. The lounge also offers a computer with Internet access. Whether travelling on business or pleasure, make the Holiday Inn Cleveland South Independence your home away from home!The hotel is currently undergoing renovations of the lobby, guest lobby, and conference rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing