We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nicole W

Lovely place to stay when visiting Werribee Zoo

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2024
Really quiet place, very comfy beds, huge bath in bathroom. Great place to stay if visiting the Werribee Zoo. Staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Kids loved the buffet breakfast, room service and grounds to wander around. Pool looked great.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mansion Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park, responded to this review
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Frances Te'o
Front Office Manager
Lancemore Mansion Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$171
  • Algotels
3.1 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
Free parking
Fitness centre
Entrance to Werribee Park Motor Inn
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$166
  • Algotels
2.7 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
AU$189
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$186
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Spa Room
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Example of a unit - this is Avalon a 1 bedroom unit
AU$171
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$171
  • Agoda.com
4.3 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
  • Agoda.com
3.4 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
Mo Erben Jú Mao Mínsù
    4.0 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
    RRR Homes
      4.4 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      5.0 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        AU$270
      • Algotels
      0.0 km from Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in Werribee
      Reviews (2,337)
      Filter reviews
      2,337 results
      Traveller rating
      1,452
      461
      233
      115
      76
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      1,452
      461
      233
      115
      76
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews joseph's restaurant shadowfax winery heritage room superior room rose garden indulgence package high tea spa treatments relaxing weekend wine tasting werribee park buffet breakfast beautiful grounds open range zoo indoor pool late check wedding
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 2,337 reviews
      Reviewed 23 March 2024

      To start - very hard to find the place, the road is very uneven, the hotel not signposted and minimal parking. The venue where the high tea was held - echoey and hard to hear each other, the service was minimal as no one refilled anything without us indicating we needed them, and no one asked if we were happy with the food. Speaking of the food.. the sandwiches were nice enough though the bread was tough and tomato with cheese is pretty uninspired, the middle platter of food was a disaster! all store bought and luke warm.. we have a mixed bag of random cuisines - dolmades with cold dumplings? The dolmades were nice enough but hard to get wrong and not appropriate for high tea, the dumplings were filled with generic ‘Asian flavoured’ filling and deep fried to maximum chewiness when they should have been steamed, and also not appropriate for high tea, the pastry slice thing was full of mashed veg overflavoured by nutmeg and clearly defrosted.
      The chia pudding had no flavour at all and the consistency was akin to concrete. the scones were an experience all their own - disgusting inedible frisbees of undercooked tasteless density served with sour jam and yoghurt instead of cream!
      Absolutely appalling - we had to go out for food afterwards to try and forget we ever ate there.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Sue F
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mansion Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

      Dear Sue F,

      Thank you for taking the time out to share your High Tea experience with us. As a team we strive to create as memorable an experience as possible for all our guests, and am disheartened and disappointed that we did not deliver on this during your High Tea session.

      I believe you've been contacted with Julie our Restaurant Manager and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back for a more positive and memorable experience soon!

      Kind regards,

      Frances Te'o
      Front Office Manager
      Lancemore Mansion Hotel

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

      Werribee Park and the Mansion Hotel are very dear to our heart and that of our family. During the 40+ years we lived in Melbourne we spent many enjoyable days at Werribee Park and also later on loved our mini breaks at the Mansion Hotel. On a couple of occasions we hosted our entire family at the Hotel, combining Christmas lunch with a couple of overnight stays. We also have celebrated landmark family birthdays there. It was therefore with some disappointment that I noted during a recent two night stay how far standards had slipped at the hotel.

      We were in a superior room on the third floor and our room was situated at the far end of the corridor. The floor in the second hallway was very dirty with bits of tissue and other sundry detritus scattered on the carpet. It obviously had not been vacuumed for some time. Our room was clean but the furnishings are tired, scratched and chipped, and definitely need to be replaced. Ditto the bathroom which had an obvious lingering sewage odour. The TV was old, something even a staff member admitted. And with regard to the ‘superior’ room, the electrical system is peculiar, as it is necessary to keep the bathroom light on in order for the bedside lamps to work. This would have been ok but my husband needs an oxygen mask at night to enable breathing so we were left unsuccessfully trying to sleep with a very bright light emanating from the bathroom.

      Our view overlooked part of the carpark, however the windows outside were filthy, the cobwebs prolific and longstanding. I noticed other windows in the hotel were in a similar state.

      Dinner at Joseph’s was a comedy of errors. We ordered drinks and the process went thus: I ordered a glass of Pinot Grigio. Waitress: “Ok, so you want a bottle of Pinot Gris?”. My husband ordered a beer and a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon. The waitress came back with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and a bottle of beer. After clarifying the wine she returned five minutes later with a glass for the beer. The bottle then disappeared. When my husband asked for the remaining beer it had apparently been “thrown out.” “Oh sorry guys”, said our waitress cheerfully. Our main courses arrived and they were fine but nothing special. I ordered ice cream and sorbet option for dessert. What arrived was 2 small servings of sorbet, a bunch of green grapes slung on the side, and 2 blueberries. No sign of ice cream. The coffee was utterly appalling. It had no taste whatsoever, of anything, much less coffee. Breakfast completed the comedy. We chose our table, ate our fruit, left our napkins, cutlery and empty bowls on the table, and went to get the hot options. On our return about 5-7 minutes later we found our table had been cleared and was now occupied by a party of three. Apparently they had been directed to our table by one of the wait staff.

      In a hotel which describes itself as 5 star upmarket accommodation and charges similarly, its current state and service isn’t acceptable. I remember the hotel in its heyday so it saddens me to see the way standards have slipped. The Lancemore company needs to invest more in upgrading this property, both in staff training and facilities, because at the moment it seems as if their only interest in the hotel is financial, so instead of charging $430+ for a so called ‘superior room’ the company needs to invest more in the guest experience, as given the shabby state of that misnamed room, this cost was daylight robbery.

      We came to the Mansion to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary which was, very disappointingly, largely spoiled by our experience with the hotel and with Joseph’s. It’s always sad to see what was once a glorious experience at a wonderful hotel reduced to very subpar. Never again.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Catherine1790
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 13 March 2024

      I have stayed here 3 times and I really want it to live up to expectations. I have stayed here mainly for my kids they love the pool and the conveinece of being so close to Werribee Zoo but...
      Each time I walk away going that could could have been better. Firstly the staff majority of them make you feel like an inconveience there is one or two good ones floating around but few and far between.
      The general tidyness of the property is bad, they leave glasses around food in the halls etc it just looks messy.
      There were weddings on this weekend when we stayed and the empty water bottles were just left in the library for ages along with empty glasses. The table in the library was not wiped once you can see the water marks from drinks etc.
      The rooms for the size are pricy and to be honest shabby, chipped bath, stains on furniture, chipped cupboards etc.
      Josephs restaurant is ordinary I would not go there instead walk down to shadowfax winery that is so much better. Buffet breakfast is pretty good but the same things every day.
      It really is such a shame because the grounds and the building is so beautiful but it is just let down.

      Room tip: Dont expect a 5 star hotel
      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank EkyT11
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mansion Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

      Dear EkyT11,
      I appreciate the time you have taken to detail your stay experience with us and am sorry to see that we fell short during your stay.
      As a team we strive to create as memorable a stay for our guests as possible and am saddened to see that we weren't able to deliver on this for you, especially as a return guest.
      Please know this is not what we intend for our guest's experience and will work on this with our department heads to better our guest services, hotel cleanliness, food quality and overall guest experience which we pride ourselves on.
      Please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to welcome you back for a memorable stay in the future!

      Kind regards,
      Frances Te'o
      Front Office Manager
      Lancemore Mansion Hotel

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 7 March 2024 via mobile

      Let me be very clear, the Hotel looks amazing, it is truly a beautiful hotel. I was blown away by its beauty.
      Upon arrival, I drove via hire car, I parked out the front of reception. I was not created, I was a little confused with where to go. I waited in the foyer for 10mins until receptionist got off the phone. No welcome drink, water nothing. I collected my own bags from my car, I checked in, and took my own bags to my room. Ok so …. Doesn’t sound first world issues. However a Hotel as grand as this, with a grand price tag, clients deserve a grand welcome.
      I booked a Heritage room. (fYI no bath tub) These rooms are small for the 4 nights I’m here. No robes, no slippers. Again these small touches are what one would expect from a hotel such as this.

      I look forward to dinner in Joesph’s restaurant tonight, the menu looks amazing.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      1  Thank JWandSQ
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mansion Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

      Dear JWandSQ,

      We appreciate the time you have taken to detail your stay experience with us. As a team we strive to create as memorable a stay for our guests as possible and are disappointed to see we failed to deliver on your arrival. Please know your comments we dearly reflect and look to progress forward.

      Kind regards,

      Frances Te'o
      Front Office Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 4 March 2024

      This place is very tired and worn. For the money you pay, the rooms are dated and tatty. Peeling furniture, exposed electrical wiring, empty bottles left by previous guests not cleared from the room.

      The hotel itself is also in a poor state of presentation. Furniture is very old and not well maintained. Dirty couches and arm chairs in the library and billiard rooms, and the dining hall is fitted out with the cheapest café tables and chairs. The pool and spa are is in an awful state and poorly maintained. Broken tiles on support columns exposing concrete and grout. Water stains everywhere and rust running from stainless steel rails/fittings.

      The breakfast buffet was adequate, however it was lacking compared to other 4 1/2 star venues such as Novatel.

      Staff working the function were friendly and helpful, however the drinks service was lacking. Beverages were placed on tables well before guests had been seated, guest were then met with warm beer and flat champagne.

      It's a shame, it is a beautiful old building and the grounds could be fantastic if maintained properly.

      I would not recommend this venue.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Bloop D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Mansion Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Lancemore Mansion Hotel Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

      Dear bloodpd,

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As a team we strive to create as memorable a stay for our guests as possible and am sorry to hear that we missed the mark in a few areas during your stay. This is not what we intend for our guest's experience. The hotel will be undergoing some new and exciting changes in the future, we will work on this with our department heads to better our guest services, hotel cleanliness, food quality and overall guest experience which we pride ourselves on.

      Kind regards,

      Frances Te'o
      Front Office Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews