We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,013)
Filter reviews
2,013 results
Traveller rating
1,292
413
179
80
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,292
413
179
80
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews joseph's restaurant shadowfax winery heritage room junior suite rose garden indulgence package course dinner great weekend pillow menu steam room wine tasting the guest relations manager werribee park buffet breakfast snooker room free entry beautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 2,013 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

My partner and I came for an anniversary stay on a Friday in August and left feeling very underwhelmed. It wasn’t the venue or the rooms but more the service, which felt very rushed and lacked the professional quality you might expect from such a resort. All in all, we just weren’t made to feel very special for what was an important occasion.

Problems started on check-in when we found out we had been charged twice for our stay and seemed to continue from there. For example, we had booked a massage in the Spa on the Friday afternoon and when we got to treatment waiting room, there wasn't even room to sit down - a less than relaxing way to start a massage! The massage itself was good but finished shorter of the supposed allotted time because of the obvious backlog, again it all felt a little rushed.

In the bar on the Friday night, the same member of staff who was running the bar seemed also to be handling room service requests and serving tables in the restaurant. Whilst the restaurant wasn’t particularly busy, this seemed a little excessive. It should be said the quality of the food in the restaurant was very good and when my partner’s main was a little overdone, they were quick to take it off the bill.

Another example is the following morning, we attended breakfast at 10:10 (we were informed the day before that breakfast finished at 10:30) but the staff were already packing away and setting up for lunch (!) this included setting up every table around us and removing the food labels from the hot plates so we weren’t sure what they contained. As you can imagine, this made us feel very uncomfortable, rushed and like the staff wanted us out of there as soon as possible.

There are other gripes but our main issue was that the hotel felt like a bit of a production line and at no point were we made to feel special as guests, if anything the hotel felt understaffed and service was lacklustre. On departure, no one enquired as to how our stay was and to add insult, my partner received a text from the Guest Relations Manager a little later saying “I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us……You would help us a lot by sharing your great experience on Trip Advisor and writing a quick review”!! As you can imagine, this irked us further so we took their advice and here we are, sharing our ‘great experience’ on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank mattdaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear mattdaford,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry that you left disappointed. Certainly not what we had ever wished.

The team and myself do hope that you will give us another chance and stay again sometime in the future.


Kind regards,

Cedric Lootvoet

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Despite being in historical buildings, the rooms, amenities, service and ambience are all modern and extremely comfortable. Even the rooms that used to be the monks' rooms have been tastefully and elegantly renovated to make for an extremely comfortable stay. I have stayed there before and would do so again. The service is genuinely friendly and hospitable, and the grounds are superb, enabling long walks after delicious meals. Highly recommended for a weekend retreat from the hubbub of the city...

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and seem to have equivalent amenities. The main difference is size. I was amazed how quiet the room I had was.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kelly7532016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear kelly7532016,

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was our pleasure having you back at the superb Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park.

Our venue is perfect for a weekend retreat from the hubbub of the city !


Warm regards,

Cedric Lootvoet

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

BEAUTIFUL ENVIRONMENT -
lovely peaceful expansive grounds and gardens, elegant rooms, excellent dining in Josephs restaurant, peaceful by the open fire in the library, History galore, tastings and dining at ShadowFax winery, walks and bike riding throughout the property, August 2016 = green rural peaceful and quiet surrounds

Room Tip: king size bed, Spa, balcony, beautifully flood lit pampering bathroom essentials,plush robes, extensive mini bar supplies
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayanneelizabeth64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear rayanneelizabeth64,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

Once again : Happy Birthday !

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards,

Cedric Lootvoet

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend
Staff are very welcoming and friendly the service was perfect for a full mansion experience
The food was excellent and the scenery was brilliant can easily spend a day walking around the grounds can't pick any faults

Looking forward to my next visit to try out the whole spa experience

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Chookygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Chookygoo,

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor.

The team and myself are very happy to read that our staff was welcoming and friendly and the service was perfect.

We are all looking forward to your next stay with us in the near future.


Warm regards,

Cedric Lootvoet

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the mansion for a weekend away with my mum and it was absolutely amazing!! The staff were lovely, room was beautiful and had everything we needed even a pillow menu which we loved!!! We had massages at the spa which I would highly recommend its an awesome way to finish your day. Breakfast was great wide range of choice and walks in the garden were beautiful. Highly recommend for a great little getaway!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank TravellerGeeWhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Dear TravellerGeeWhiz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to read that both you and your Mum enjoyed an absolutely amazing weekend away with us !

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Cedric Lootvoet

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews