We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
38
10
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
10
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table cape the main house tulip room continental breakfast north west tasmania light house a lovely place to stay pleasure of staying tulip farm town centre b and b one night room was clean easy access minute walk on arrival rachel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

This B&B is the ideal base for exploring the top end of Tasmania. Rachel is a wonderful hostess, friendly, knowledgable and easy to communicate with. I shared a room with a friend, we tossed for the Queen size bed, but the single was perfectly comfortable. Heater warmed the room instantly. Good pressure in the shower. Rachel brought breakfast to the room, and catered for GF. The room was serviced each day too. The setting is picturesque, a gorgeous garden and when we were there flowers were in bloom, lots birdlife, and right near the river. Loved the garden aspect. Five minutes drive into Wynyard, close to the amazing Table Cape tulip farm and lighthouse. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks Alison for your fantastic review. It was lovely having you both stay over the Tulip Festival weekend. We are in a great location to explore the local area as well as further West towards Stanley and Arthur River. Spring time is our favourite time in the gardens when all the bulbs are blooming and the trees come back to life. I look forward to seeing you again and I am enjoying seeing the photos you took of our region.
Kind Regards,
Rachel
Owner / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying in the Tulip Room and thoroughly enjoyed our time.
The room was sunny and bright, the grounds utterly gorgeous and the breakfast extremely generous. Our hostess Rachel was very welcoming and easy to talk with offering great advice about the local area.
We will be back in the future and will recommend to others.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank _trentsmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Hi Trent.
Thank you for the lovely review and comments about your stay. It was a pleasure having you both stay, albeit a quick visit. We are lucky to be in such a beautiful location, only minutes to the Tulip Farm, access to great dining places and not far to visit the fairy penguins - all of which you experienced during your stay. I thoroughly enjoyed our chats and I look forward to seeing you both again.
Kind Regards,
Rachel
Owner / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Very comfortable and clean accommodation with friendly hosts. The B@B is in a lovely setting near the river where there are some scenic walks. Breakfast was extremely good and generous - one of the best breakfasts we have had from a bed and breakfast accommodation.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank robyn047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Hi Robyn,
Thank you for your wonderful review! It was lovely to meet you both and hear that your trip was a return after many years. I enjoyed our chats and we are very lucky to be situated where we are - right on the river with access to many picturesque walks on our doorstep as well as not far from town. I'm so pleased you enjoyed our continental breakfasts, saying that it is one of the best means a lot, thank you.
I hope to see you both again next time you are up our way.
Kind Regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Rather than staying at Burnie we chose somewhere quieter and not too far from our destination, Launceston. Our host, Rachel, was warm, helpful and friendly. The room was clean and homely. It was perfect for our short break. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Ideal for my partner with a mobility problem.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We wanted to go somewhere other than the norm so we picked Wynyard not knowing anything about the place. We were not disappointed.
We stayed at Alexandria B & B and opted for the pool view room. This is one of 2 large rooms in a separate annex to the house but literally just off the house so you feel part of the main house.
It was a duel aspect room with beds for up to 3 people.
The building/house is historic for the area and boasts the first inground residential swimming pool in Tasmania.
This is a lovely place to stay. Very quiet and very comfy. Breakfast was huge and brought to your room at a time to suit you. You can pick and choose continental style. It was all very good.
You are very close to the Table Cape Light House. This is a 2 minute drive up the same road. Worth a visit just for the walk along the cliff top too and from the light house (or the other way around if you park at the light house).
If you are wanting to stay in the heart of Wynyard then dont stay here. It is a good 25 minute walk (a pleasant walk along the river bank) to town. There you will find pubs, restaurants and shops (plus great charity shops).
All in all I am very glad I chose this place as we nearly booked to stay in Devonport and after driving through there I was sooooooooooooo glad we didnt go there!

Room tip: All rooms looked in good locations. The one we had has the only pool view.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midgybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews