We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my...”

Windows On Westella
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Ulverstone
Description: Windows on Westella is a Cafe showcasing local Tasmanian produce located at Tasmanian Pickled Onions manufacturing facility adjacent to the Bass Highway in Ulverstone. Open 7 days serving coffee/tea, breakfast, lunch and all day dining options plus a wide range of Tasmanian beer, wine and soft drinks.
Restaurant details
Description: Windows on Westella is a Cafe showcasing local Tasmanian produce located at Tasmanian Pickled Onions manufacturing facility adjacent to the Bass Highway in Ulverstone. Open 7 days serving coffee/tea, breakfast, lunch and all day dining options plus a wide range of Tasmanian beer, wine and soft drinks.
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

This was our first time and it didn't disappoint.
The Roasted vegetable salad was nothing short of divine. A chef who can cook a delicious vegetarian meal is worth their weight in gold, and any travelling vego knows exactly what I mean.

Friends had the Just Landed Tasmanian fish and chips. Opinion: delicately light and not heavy and absolutely delicious. The smoked chicken and avocado toastie was a treat. The smokiness and tenderness of the chicken went down exceptionally well.

Windows on Westella's Broad Acres sauvignon blanc highly recommended.

The venue has a small providore stocking pickled onions, olives, dark chocolate treats, shortbread, wine and much, much more.

The restaurant is bright and airy, but a tad noisy, but only because of the openness of such a large room.

The venue and its surrounding gardens are fresh and lovely, and a few tables out on the lush green lawns during the warmer months would be a fabulous place to laze away the afternoon with a platter and a bottle of wine.

The staff were exceptional and answered my queries. Friendly and professional and an asset to the place.

The prices might not be for the budget conscious, but they're not out of reach either. If you want a quality meal then expect to pay for it.

There's something for everyone.

I would highly recommend Windows on Westella.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank GeraldKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

WOW thank you so much for this amazing, detailed review of your visit. We really appreciated the lovely comments and recommendations. We have passed your review onto our staff, they always strive to provide great customer service and our chefs take pride in preparing fresh local ingredients. Thank you for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2021

First visit and only one choice of sweet waffles, which did not appeal.
Over serviced by waitresses.
Most meals are summer type meals , and quite light meals with salads. Nothing really substantial for a winter type meal, which was really disappointing.
Quite noisy.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank daisyburnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you for visiting, we are sorry our menu didn't meet your expectations, Our menu serves breakfast and lunch all day, not heavy style meals that you might expect at night or at a hotel bistro. Our staff do offer full table service and sorry as a result you were asked twice within a short time if you wanted place an order for drinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021 via mobile

Had great service, friendly relaxed atmosphere enjoyable food all around on table of 3. Lovely fresh tastes and combinations.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank CindyB1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for your review and visit, we appreciate your comments and look forward welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021

Over-priced and a little self-important. Atmosphere more for busloads of tourists. Smart but devoid of intimacy. Staff clearly briefed to lay on greetings but lacked genuineness and the self-complimentary references to the business were irritating. Food OK but didn't match the excessive prices. Attractive surroundings but barn-ish and over-manicured. Disappointing.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MurrayDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Very unique location in a pickled onion factory, lovey relaxing breakfast with friends. Fantastic friendly service from all staff, nicely cooked food and reasonable coffee. A good place to return again.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank TasChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for visiting and taking the time for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windows On Westella also viewed

 
Ulverstone, Tasmania
 

Been to Windows On Westella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.