We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island
A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Big feather topped couches at Rocky Hills Retreat
A beautiful bathroom
Entry to the Art Studio Rocky Hills Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Swansea, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WoonYuYee
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Rocky Hills Retreat is the perfect place to be with you family and loved ones. Nestled into tranquility of the woods, it is the perfect get away for city dwellers seeking come quiet and precious moments with loved ones. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with my girlfriend and I have no reservations recommending it to anyone coming this way. It's everything you can hope for in a perfect retreat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
We are so pleased that you had a fabulous time here in our "love shack" do come back again and stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCODE
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous ....”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

An amazing place in so many ways. Architecturally it is stunning and sits so well in its remote setting, the long off road drive to the property adds to its mystique.

A very warm welcome from Ann and a quick run through of how things worked and we were left on our own to enjoy the tranquility.

This place is VERY special, the attention to detail to is second to none - "everything" a guest could possibly need has been thought of.

Tons if goodies in the fridge and larder as complimentary including chilled champagne - very thoughtful, together with a freezer full of extras should you wish to hole up for a few days and never leave. And why would you?

Stunning scenery to view through the floor to ceiling windows, squashy sofas to wallow in and a super sized super comfy bed.

You can't just pop out for dinner so the fully equipped kitchen is great to prepare meals and we loved the log burning stove as it was chilly at night.

There is a library of DVD's and a pre loaded iPhone with music to play on the Bose speaker.

The place promotes reflection and quiet moments and gives one the chance to flick through some of the gorgeous "coffee table" books which are at times rather risqué.

The nearby artist's studio is available should you wish to be creative, but we couldn't drag ourselves away from the house.

It's probably too far from home for us to ever visit again, but if you are lucky enough to be in Tasmania I would put it up there as a "must see" along with MONA and the beautiful Tasmanian landscape.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to know that our lovely retreat has been enjoyed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiliCino
Hobart
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nowhere else like it!”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The perfect escape for reflection, refuge, rejuvenation and creativity.
We have travelled to many places, but have never experienced a place that succeeds in aligning all elements to the level of thoughtfulness as this one. The result - the creation of a quality, nourishing and memorable experience. Everything has been thought about - the architecture, the consideration and immersion of place, the comfort, the well-being offerings and simple pleasures that are celebrated as decadence. Rocky Hills has become our sanity check. The only way we can leave is to know when we will next be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and thoughtfulness towards enhancing the guests' experience
Liked least: Not relevant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Many thanks for such a wonderful review. We are committed to ensuring our guests have a special experience at our beautiful retreat and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyley22
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place of total relaxation, romance and decadence”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Third visit to Rocky Hills for us and it just gets better. Great place to switch off from the world and switch on to each other !!
Highly recommended as a place to totally relax and enjoy the experience of just 2 people in beautiful hibernation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind words! We love having people come back to visit and are so pleased that you love us too!! Do come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leagamble
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“They have thought of everything”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We celebrated a special occasion at a very special place - Rocky Hills Retreat. The house is just amazing - the design and aesthetics are seriously impressive but most importantly it is very, very comfortable. They have thought of everything you could ever need to be pampered and relaxed. To have that view with full privacy is truly unique and after bathing in the outdoor tub, I never want to shower indoors again. I think you have spoiled us forever now - how can anywhere else compare?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Just come back and enjoy our shower and tub. Thank you for taking the time to provide such a lovely review.
Best wishes
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing