We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“'Perfect' seems inadequate”
other travellers have booked this property
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island
A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Big feather topped couches at Rocky Hills Retreat
A beautiful bathroom
Entry to the Art Studio Rocky Hills Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Swansea, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Belinda J
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“'Perfect' seems inadequate”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My hubby and I stayed for a couple of nights for our recent wedding anniversary. To say that everything (and I mean everything) was absolutely perfect seems somehow inadequate in describing our experience.

The breathtaking view is probably the first thing that grabs you, quickly followed by the decadence of the house itself. The attention to detail is second to none! I could go on and on in detail but my favourite things included the outdoor Huon pine bath (don't go thinking it's too cold to indulge yourself in the Tassie winter), the large, plush (and very comfortable) couches, the beautiful (and very snug) bed - complete with pillow menu and the gourmet pantry. We honestly could have locked ourselves up for 4 days and not wanted for anything else but what was provided, to eat and drink.

My husband and I are both big music lovers and were armed with our iPods (containing a couple of thousand songs each) but were pleasantly surprised by a fully loaded Ipod already playing on arrival. We both really enjoyed listening to a different selection of music during our stay. This was definitely one of those little things that just made our stay perfect.

We will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Dear Belinda, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely words about your stay at Rocky Hills Retreat! We're so glad the little details made it so much more special for you on your wedding anniversary. Yes, we love our music at Avalon Retreats too... so nice to know that the little addition of the ipod gave you a pleasant surprise and the gift of a different selection of songs. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. -Warm wishes, Amanda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant g
Roatan, Honduras
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It exceeded all our expectations, right from the beginning when our host Ann greeted us.
This is world class accommodation and world class scenery, a once in a lifetime experience.
Thank you so much.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Dear Grant, thank you so much for taking the time so write such lovely words about Rocky Hills Retreat. It's always lovely to hear when we exceed our guests expectations as this really is our main goal! Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back to Rocky Hills sometime in the near future. Very best wishes, -Amanda Avalon Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“A Glorious, relaxing place to stay with beautiful sights and sounds to never forget.”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We found it to be the most relaxing of surroundings, with beautiful sounds of the local wildlife, birds, frogs. Magical. The accommodation was superb with wonderful views. The service was exceptional, so pleasant and informative, certainly made you feel welcome right from the start. The Studio was a fantastic bonus to the stay,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A place away from everything to be able to really relax.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Dear Heather,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely words about your stay at Rocky Hills Retreat. It is so fabulous to hear that you enjoyed our service and had such a wonderful stay, particularly the bonus inspiration of the Rocky Hills Retreat Art Studio! We hope to welcome you back for more inspiration some time soon. Warmest wishes, -Amanda, Avalon Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise G
1 review
“Perfect even in stormy weather”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband and I were recommended Rocky Hills Retreat by friends and so booked it for our 10th wedding anniversary. We were thoroughly impressed by the photos and the mini bar and had heard about the huon pine bath! When we walked in we were blown away, between the layout, the couches, the bed and the view, it was all better than expected!
Rain was starting to set in so we started filling the tub and went exploring the art studio. Later, we enjoyed a soak in piping hot water with rain falling on our faces, don't let bad weather put you off!
The kitchen was well equipped, the bed very comfortable and we felt very safe and cozy while an electrical storm happened around us - it disrupted the power supply to the house but it didn't ruin our experience.
Ann the caretaker/manager (?) was lovely and looked after us tremendously!
We'll come again for sure!
*A word of warning if you feel the need to visit during flash flooding events on the East Coast: We did make it down the hill in our little Mazda 3 but only just! It's a good thing flash flooding is pretty rare. I think we experienced a third of Swansea's annual rainfall in one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Dear Eloise, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Rocky Hills Retreat and congratulations on your 10 year wedding anniversary! It is always to gratifying to hear that the efforts or our hosts are very much appreciated, especially during unusual weather conditions like the ones you experienced! It is so fabulous to hear that you really had a wonderful adventure while enjoying all the gourmet provisions and for the unusual experience of feeling safe and cosy while you soaked up the luxury of nature's show from the bath ! We very much appreciate you taking the time to write such kind words and we hope to welcome you back one day (perhaps during entirely different weather conditions?) : ) Warmest wishes -Amanda, Avalon Retreats.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe S
1 review
“Relaxing retreat in perfect setting”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and a real highlight! Great views in a surprisingly secluded location and a very enjoyable place to relax. The facilities were excellent and the pantry/larder was well stocked, allowing us to make the most of our stay. We wish we'd stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, the bath, breakfast, pillow selection, design of the building, art studio.
Liked least: The eye masks were necessary to block out light in the morning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Dear Joe, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Rocky Hills Retreat! We are so pleased to have been able to make the first chapter of your honeymoon such a wonderful delight! He hope you've had a wonderful time on the rest of your honeymoon journey and congratulations to you both! Best wishes, -Amanda, Avalon Retreats.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing